## **SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1720**

A Resolution congratulating and commending the 2024-2025 Washburn University men's basketball team for an outstanding season and qualification for the Final Four of the NCAA Division II Men's Basketball Championship.

WHEREAS, On March 27, 2025, the 5<sup>th</sup> ranked Washburn University men's basketball team completed an outstanding season by playing in the Final Four of the NCAA Division II Men's Basketball Championship, ending their historic season with a 30-4 record; and

WHEREAS, The victory over 10<sup>th</sup> ranked Lenoir-Rhyne University on March 25, 2025, in the Elite Eight earned the Ichabods a spot in the semi-final and gave Ichabod Head Coach Brett Ballard his 200<sup>th</sup> career win as a coach; and

WHEREAS, The Ichabods won the NCAA Division II Central Regional, defeating 17<sup>th</sup> ranked Minnesota State University Moorhead 93-65; and

WHEREAS, The Ichabods won the MIAA regular season title, becoming the second team in program history to reach the 30-win mark; and

WHEREAS, Senior guard Jacob Hanna earned NABC All-District first team honors and NCAA Central Region Tournament Most Outstanding Player, sophomore guard Jack Bachelor earned NABC All-District second team honors and NCAA Central Region All-Tournament team, and Coach Ballard was named region coach of the year as well as MIAA Coach of the Year; and

WHEREAS, Five Ichabods earned all-MIAA honors, Jacob Hanna and Jack Bachelor were selected for the first team, sophomore Brayden Shorter was selected for the second team, senior Andrew Orr was selected for the third team; and

WHEREAS, Senior Michael Keegan was selected for the all-MIAA Defensive team; and WHEREAS, The players and coaches of the 2024-2025 team will be remembered in the long and storied history of the Washburn University men's basketball program: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the 2024-2025 Washburn University men's basketball team for an outstanding season and qualification for the Final Four of the NCAA Division II Men's Basketball Championship; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send 19 enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Dietrich.

Senate Resolution No. 1720 was sponsored by Senators Dietrich, Kloos, Schmidt and Titus.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution origin	nated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body
	_
<del>-</del>	President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.