2023 Kansas Statutes

8-127. Registration of vehicles operated in this state; exceptions; temporary operation of
certain vehicles without registration, when. (a) Every owner of a motor vehicle, motorized
bicycle, trailer or semitrailer intended to be operated upon any highway in this state,
whether such owner is a resident of this state or another state, or such motor vehicle,
motorized bicycle, trailer or semitrailer is based in this state or another state, before
any such vehicle is operated in this state, shall apply for and obtain registration in
this state under the provisions of K.S.A. 8-126 to 8-149, inclusive, and amendments
thereto, except as otherwise provided by law or by any interstate contract,
agreement, arrangement or declaration made by the director of vehicles.

(b) Any truck or truck tractor bearing registration of a state other than Kansas
which is engaged in intrastate movements within this state shall have Kansas
registration, except such vehicles which are registered under the provisions of K.S.A.
8-1,101 to 8-1,123, inclusive, and amendments thereto, and except such vehicles as
are entitled to engage in intrastate movements within this state under any interstate
contract, agreement, consent, arrangement or declaration made by the director of
vehicles.

(c) Whenever any person has a current motorcycle, motorized bicycle, passenger
vehicle, truck or truck tractor registration and license plate for a vehicle which has
been sold, traded or otherwise disposed of not later than 60 days, inclusive of
weekends and holidays, after acquiring another motorcycle, motorized bicycle,
passenger vehicle, truck or truck tractor to which the registration and license plate
will be transferred and such person has complied with all of the conditions precedent
to the transfer of the registration except having the registration transferred in the
office of the county treasurer, such person may operate the motorcycle, motorized
bicycle, passenger vehicle, truck or truck tractor acquired for a period of not to
exceed 60 days, inclusive of weekends and holidays, after acquiring the same and
pending transferral of registration and license plate in the office of the county
treasurer by displaying the motorcycle license plate on the motorcycle acquired, the
motorized bicycle license plate on the motorized bicycle acquired, the passenger
vehicle license plate on the passenger vehicle acquired, or the truck or truck tractor
license plate on the truck or truck tractor acquired. If the acquired vehicle is a new
vehicle, such person also must carry and have in possession the assigned certificate
of title or bill of sale when operating the acquired vehicle during such sixty-day
period.

History: L. 1929, ch. 81, § 5; L. 1955, ch. 44, § 1; L. 1963, ch. 48, § 2; L. 1968, ch. 180,
§1;L.1971,ch. 16,8 1; L. 1971, ch. 17,8 1; L. 1978, ch. 30, § 1; L. 1980, ch. 29, § 1;
L. 1985, ch. 43, § 3; L. 2012, ch. 130, § 1; July 1.



