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46-137a. Compensation	and	expenses	of	legislators;	increases.	In	addition	to	the
compensation	provided	for	by	K.S.A.	46-137b,	46-137e	and	75-3212,	and	amendments
thereto,	each	member	of	the	legislature	shall	receive	the	following	amounts:
(a) The	sum	of	$88.66	per	calendar	day	for	service	at	any	regular	or	special	session,
except	as	otherwise	provided	in	subsection	(e);
(b) the	sum	of	$109	per	calendar	day	for	subsistence	allowance	for	any	regular	or
special	session	of	the	legislature,	except	that	if	the	amounts	allowable	for	the	capital
city	of	Kansas	under	applicable	federal	law	and	regulations	to	employees	of	the
executive	branch	of	the	federal	government	for	per	diem	expenses,	while	away	from
home	but	serving	in	the	United	States,	are	amounts	which	total	greater	than	$109,
then	each	member	of	the	legislature	shall	receive	such	greater	total	amount	per
calendar	day	for	subsistence	allowance	for	any	regular	or	special	session	of	the
legislature;
(c) an	allowance	of	$354.15	for	the	two-week	period	which	coincides	with	the
biweekly	payroll	period	which	includes	April	1st	and	for	each	of	the	19	ensuing	two-
week	periods	thereafter,	to	defray	expenses	incurred	between	sessions	of	the
legislature	for	postage,	telephone,	office	and	other	incidental	expenses,	except	as
otherwise	provided	in	subsection	(f);
(d) an	allowance	for	mileage	in	an	amount	equal	to	the	rate	per	mile	prescribed
under	the	provisions	of	K.S.A.	75-3203a,	and	amendments	thereto,	multiplied	by	the
number	of	miles	traveled	by	the	usual	route	in	going	to	and	returning	from	the
member's	place	of	residence	for	any	regular	or	special	session	of	the	legislature.	Such
mileage	allowances	shall	be	paid	for	not	to	exceed	the	equivalent	of	one	trip	for	each
full	week	occurring	between	convening	and	adjournment	sine	die	in	any	regular	or
special	session.	The	mileage	allowance	provided	under	the	provisions	of	this
subsection	shall	not	be	subject	to	the	restrictions	relating	to	the	use	of	vehicles
prescribed	by	K.S.A.	75-3203	and	75-3203a,	and	amendments	thereto,	but	shall	only
be	allowed	for	trips	actually	made.	Compensation	and	subsistence	allowance	shall	not
be	allowed	under	the	provisions	of	subsections	(a)	and	(b)	of	this	section	during	any
period	in	which	the	legislature	is	adjourned	for	more	than	two	days,	Sundays
excepted;	and
(e) whenever	the	rates	of	compensation	of	the	pay	plan	for	persons	in	the	classified
service	under	the	Kansas	civil	service	act	are	increased	for	payroll	periods	chargeable
to	fiscal	years	commencing	after	June	30,	2009,	the	rate	of	compensation	per
calendar	day	for	members	of	the	legislature	for	service	at	any	regular	or	special
session	of	the	legislature	shall	be	increased	on	the	effective	date	of	any	such	pay	plan
increase	by	an	amount	computed	by	multiplying	the	average	of	the	percentage
increases	in	all	steps	of	such	pay	plan	by	the	rate	of	compensation	per	calendar	day
which	is	authorized	by	this	section	for	service	at	any	regular	or	special	session	of	the
legislature	for	the	day	upon	which	such	increase	is	computed.
(f) Whenever	the	rates	of	compensation	of	the	pay	plan	for	persons	in	the	classified
service	under	the	Kansas	civil	service	act	are	increased	for	payroll	periods	chargeable
to	fiscal	years	commencing	after	June	30,	2009,	the	allowance	provided	for	each
member	of	the	legislature	by	subsection	(c)	to	defray	expenses	incurred	between
sessions	of	the	legislature	for	postage,	telephone,	office	and	other	incidental	expenses
for	each	of	the	two-week	periods	specified	by	subsection	(c)	shall	be	increased	on	the
effective	date	of	any	such	pay	plan	increase	by	an	amount	computed	by	multiplying
the	average	of	the	percentage	increases	in	all	steps	of	such	pay	plan	by	the	allowance
provided	to	defray	such	expenses	for	each	such	two-week	period	as	provided	by	this
section.
History: L.	1972,	ch.	153,	§	51;	L.	1974,	ch.	384,	§	3;	L.	1974,	ch.	361,	§	61;	L.	1975,
ch.	269,	§	2;	L.	1978,	ch.	350,	§	2;	L.	1979,	ch.	285,	§	5;	L.	1985,	ch.	278,	§	13;	L.
1987,	ch.	197,	§	1;	L.	1992,	ch.	296,	§	11;	L.	1995,	ch.	256,	§	11;	L.	1998,	ch.	196,	§	3;
L.	2008,	ch.	159,	§	13;	June	15.


