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58-3066. Recovery	revolving	fund;	assessment	of	fees	to	maintain	balance;	payments;	interest.
(a)	The	real	estate	recovery	revolving	fund	established	within	the	state	treasury	by
K.S.A.	58-3023,	and	amendments	thereto,	is	hereby	continued	in	existence.	Such	fund
shall	be	used	in	the	manner	and	for	the	purpose	provided	by	this	act.
(b) At	any	time	that	the	balance	remaining	in	the	real	estate	recovery	revolving	fund
is	less	than	$100,000	the	commission,	without	delay,	shall	assess	each	licensed
broker	a	fee	of	$10	and	each	licensed	salesperson	a	fee	of	$5.	Such	fees	shall	be
deposited	in	the	state	treasury	and	credited	to	the	real	estate	recovery	revolving
fund.	If	a	licensee	does	not	pay	the	assessment	within	30	days	from	the	date	notice	of
assessment	is	mailed	to	the	last	residence	address	reported	to	the	commission	by	the
licensee,	the	licensee's	license	may	be	suspended	in	accordance	with	the	Kansas
administrative	procedure	act	until	the	assessment	is	paid.	A	fee	of	$15	shall	be	paid
by	the	licensee	to	reinstate	the	suspended	license.	Fees	paid	to	reinstate	licenses
suspended	under	this	section	shall	be	remitted	to	the	state	treasurer	in	accordance
with	the	provisions	of	K.S.A.	75-4215,	and	amendments	thereto.	Upon	receipt	of	each
such	remittance,	the	state	treasurer	shall	deposit	the	entire	amount	in	the	state
treasury	to	the	credit	of	the	state	general	fund	and	the	real	estate	fee	fund	as
provided	by	subsection	(a)	of	K.S.A.	58-3074,	and	amendments	thereto.
(c) All	payments	and	disbursements	from	the	real	estate	recovery	revolving	fund
shall	be	made	upon	warrants	of	the	director	of	accounts	and	reports	issued	pursuant
to	vouchers	approved	by	the	director	of	the	commission	or	by	any	person	or	persons
designated	by	the	commission.	Amounts	credited	to	the	real	estate	recovery	revolving
fund	under	this	section	shall	not	be	subject	to	any	limitation	imposed	by	any
appropriation	act	of	the	legislature.	All	payments	and	disbursements	from	the	real
estate	recovery	revolving	fund	shall	be	subject	to	post	audit	in	accordance	with	article
11	of	chapter	46	of	the	Kansas	Statutes	Annotated	and	any	amendments	thereto.
(d) On	or	before	the	10th	of	each	month,	the	director	of	accounts	and	reports	shall
transfer	from	the	state	general	fund	to	the	real	estate	recovery	revolving	fund	interest
earnings	based	on:
(1) The	average	daily	balance	of	moneys	in	the	real	estate	recovery	revolving	fund
for	the	preceding	month;	and
(2) the	net	earnings	rate	of	the	pooled	money	investment	portfolio	for	the	preceding
month.
History: L.	1980,	ch.	164,	§	33;	L.	1981,	ch.	304,	§	2;	L.	1986,	ch.	210,	§	1;	L.	1987,
ch.	295,	§	5;	L.	1989,	ch.	48,	§	86;	L.	1992,	ch.	272,	§	5;	L.	1996,	ch.	253,	§	9;	L.	2001,
ch.	5,	§	202;	July	1.


