2023 Kansas Statutes

75-2929d. State civil service board; hearing of appeals; witnesses; production of papers. (a)
The state civil service board shall hear appeals taken to it pursuant to: (1) K.S.A. 75-
2940, 75-2949 and 75-3747, and amendments thereto, concerning demotion,
dismissal or suspension of a permanent employee in the classified service, or
concerning refusal to examine an applicant or to certify a person as eligible for a job
class, and (2) K.S.A. 75-2973, and amendments thereto, concerning disciplinary action
in violation of that statute.

(b) When an appeal is taken to the board, the board shall establish a time and a
place for the hearing which shall be held within 45 days after receipt of request for
the appeal. The board shall notify the person bringing the appeal and the appointing
authority or other person whose action is being reviewed of the time and the place of
the hearing at least 14 days prior to such hearing. Each party at the hearing shall
have the right to be represented by a person of the party's own choice. Hearings shall
be conducted in accordance with the provisions of the Kansas administrative
procedure act. For purposes of the administrative procedure act, the state civil
service board shall be deemed the agency head. The board may affirm, modify or
reverse an agency action and order any other action it deems appropriate.

(c) The board, or the director of personnel services when authorized by majority vote
of the board, may depose witnesses. Either party to a hearing may depose witnesses
in accordance with the Kansas administrative procedure act. If books and papers are
required to be produced in advance of a hearing date, the person or agency producing
the books and papers shall be entitled to receive reasonable compensation to recover
all costs of such production from the person or agency for which they are produced.
The board, any presiding officer or the director may examine such public records as
may be required in relation to any matter which the board has authority to
investigate.

(d) Each person not in the classified or unclassified service who appears before the
board or the director by order shall receive for such person's attendance the fees and
mileage provided for witnesses in civil actions in the district court. Such fees and
mileage shall be audited and paid by the state upon presentation of proper vouchers.
Each witness subpoenaed at the request of parties other than the board or the
director shall be entitled to compensation from the state for attendance or travel only
if the board certifies that the testimony of such witness was relevant and material to
the matter investigated or, if such witness is not called to testify, the board
determines and certifies that such compensation should be paid.
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