
2023	Kansas	Statutes

79-1127. Estimated	tax;	manner	of	payment;	penalties.	(a)	Every	national	banking
association,	bank,	trust	company,	and	savings	and	loan	association	subject	to	taxation
under	article	11	of	chapter	79	of	the	Kansas	Statutes	Annotated	whose	tax	liability
can	reasonably	be	expected	to	exceed	$500	shall	pay	estimated	tax	in	the	same
manner	as	a	corporation	subject	to	the	provisions	of	K.S.A.	79-32,101	et	seq.	Such
payment	shall	be	made	in	the	manner	provided	in	K.S.A.	79-32,103	and	shall	be
allowed	as	a	credit	against	the	tax	imposed	by	this	act.
(b) A	penalty	at	the	same	rate	per	annum	prescribed	by	subsection	(b)	of	K.S.A.	79-
2968,	and	amendments	thereto,	for	interest	upon	delinquent	or	unpaid	taxes	shall	be
applied	and	added	to	a	taxpayer's	amount	of	underpayment	of	estimated	tax	due	from
the	date	the	estimated	tax	payment	was	due	until	the	same	is	paid	or	until	the	15th
day	of	the	fourth	month	following	the	close	of	the	taxable	year	for	which	such
estimated	tax	is	a	credit,	whichever	date	is	earlier,	but	such	penalty	shall	not	be
added	if	the	total	amount	thereof	does	not	exceed	$5.	For	purposes	of	this	subsection,
the	amount	of	underpayment	of	estimated	tax	shall	be	the	excess	of	the	amount	of	the
installment	which	would	be	required	to	be	paid	if	the	estimated	tax	were	equal	to	90%
of	the	tax	shown	on	the	return	for	the	taxable	year	or,	if	no	return	was	filed,	90%	of
the	tax	for	such	year,	over	the	amount,	if	any,	of	the	installment	paid	on	or	before	the
last	date	prescribed	for	payment.
(c) No	penalty	shall	be	imposed	upon	any	taxpayer	subject	to	the	provisions	hereof	if
the	total	amount	of	all	payments	of	estimated	tax	made	on	or	before	the	last	date
prescribed	for	payment	of	such	installment	equals	or	exceeds	the	amount	which
would	have	been	required	to	be	paid	on	or	before	such	date	if	the	estimated	tax	were
whichever	of	the	following	is	the	least:
(1) The	tax	shown	on	the	return	of	the	taxpayer	for	the	preceding	taxable	year,	if	a
return	was	filed	by	the	taxpayer	for	the	preceding	taxable	year	and	such	preceding
year	was	a	taxable	year	of	12	months;	or
(2)(A) an	amount	equal	to	90%	of	the	tax	for	the	taxable	year	computed	by	placing
on	an	annualized	basis	the	taxable	income:	(i)	For	the	first	three	months	of	the
taxable	year,	in	the	case	of	the	installment	required	to	be	paid	in	the	fourth	month;
(ii)	for	the	first	three	months	or	for	the	first	five	months	of	the	taxable	year,	in	the
case	of	the	installment	required	to	be	paid	in	the	sixth	month;	(iii)	for	the	first	six
months	or	for	the	first	eight	months	of	the	taxable	year	in	the	case	of	the	installment
required	to	be	paid	in	the	ninth	month;	and	(iv)	for	the	first	nine	months	or	for	the
first	11	months	of	the	taxable	year,	in	the	case	of	the	installment	required	to	be	paid
in	the	12th	month	of	the	taxable	year.
(B) For	purposes	of	this	subsection	(2),	the	taxable	income	shall	be	placed	on	an
annualized	basis	by	(i)	multiplying	by	12	the	taxable	income	referred	to	in	subsection
(2)(A),	and	(ii)	dividing	the	resulting	amount	by	the	number	of	months	in	the	taxable
year	(three,	five,	six,	eight,	nine,	or	11,	as	the	case	may	be)	referred	to	in	subsection
(2)(A).
(d) The	provisions	of	this	section	shall	be	applicable	to	all	taxable	years	commencing
after	December	31,	1992.
History: L.	1992,	ch.	295,	§	4;	May	28.


