



House Health and Human Services To:

Deborah S. Clements, MD, FAAFP, President From:

Date: Jan. 23, 2012

Subject: HB 2159; concerning physical therapists

Chairman Landwehr and members of the committee,

Thank you for this opportunity to appear. My name is Deborah Clements, and I am the president of the Kansas Academy of Family Physicians (KAFP). Our organization has over 1,580 members across the state, of which more than 980 are practicing physicians, 155 are residentphysician members, and the others are medical students and retired members. The roots of family medicine go back to the historical generalist tradition. The specialty is three dimensional, combining knowledge and skill with a unique process. The patient-physician relationship in the context of the family is central to this process and distinguishes family medicine from other specialties.

I am here today to explain our opposition to HB 2159, which amends the licensing statute for physical therapists. The bill allows Physical Therapists to initiate treatment on individuals without a physician referral. Under current law, PTs may only initiate treatment under certain limited conditions, by a physician or certain other health care providers.

One of our major initiatives and that of the state of Kansas as well, is the Patient Centered Medical Home (PCMH) which involves primary care-based redesign of a practice to emphasize team-based care and coordination of patient-centered care across the health care spectrum. It has been shown to provide higher quality care at lower cost and we have a pilot in operation in eight practices at this time.

While direct access to physical therapy may sound like it would increase patient access, our concern is that it would lead to fragmentation of care and lack of coordination. For these reasons we oppose HB 2159 and urge you to oppose its passage. Thank you for your consideration. I would be happy to answer questions.

Deborah S Clements MD FAAFP KS City

President-Elect Christian Cupp MD Scott City

Vice President Mary Beth Miller MD St Francis Douglas J Gruenbacher MD Quinter

Carol A Johnson MD Bel Aire

Todd A Miller MD Wichita

**Board Chair** Jennifer L Brull MD Plainville Michael L Munger MD Overland Park

Alternate Delegates Ine D Davison MD Wichita Michael L Kennedy MD Kansas City

Jennifer Bacani McKenney MD Fredonia Shervl Beard MD Wichita Michael Engelken MD Topeka John Feehan MD Olathe I vnn Fisher Plainville Wakon Fowler MD Pratt

Cayle Goertzen MD Belleville Elizabeth Hineman MD Scott City Hannah Maxfield MD Kansas City Diane Steere MD Wichita

Sebouh & Clements MD, FARP

Resident Voting Representative Executive Director Nathan Krug MD Wichita

Student Voting Representative Colleen Loo-Gross Wichita

Foundation President Carol A Johnson MD Bel Aire

Carolyn N Gaughan CAE Wichita