Tiffany Gillespie, President Trego County 216 North Main Wakeeney, KS 67672 785-743-2148



Cecil Aska, President-Elect Geary County 138 East 8th Street Junction City, KS 66441 785-762-5221 x 1435

SENATE BILL 366 Non-Wage Garnishment Procedure

House Judiciary Thursday, March 8, 2012

TESTIMONY By: Sandy McCurdy, Clerk of the District Court Johnson County - 10th Judicial District

Mr. Chairman and Members of the Committee:

Thank you for the opportunity to appear before you today to speak on behalf of the Kansas Association of District Court Clerks and Administrators in regard to amending the statutes regarding non-wage garnishment procedure.

The change in non-wage garnishment procedure would create parallel procedures between wage and non-wage garnishments. Presently, non-wage garnishment answers are returned to the courts for further processing, which may delay payment of funds on the judgment to the judgment creditor by fourteen to forty-five days, while wage garnishment answers are sent directly to the judgment creditor. We have worked with the Kansas Bankers Association to include language that would alleviate the bank's liability concerns. The Senate Committee amended the bill to retain court involvement in issuing the order to pay; however, the answer and the payment process would no longer go through the Court, resulting in time and money savings for those involved.

The requested amendments would save the clerks the time now spent on filing the completed answers and mailing a copy to the judgment creditor and judgment debtor as well as steps involved with the garnishee paying directly into court. These amendments would also save the counties the cost of postage and paper. It is important to look for ideas such as this in difficult economic times.

The Senate passed this bill on a 40 to 0 vote. Thank you for allowing me the opportunity to appear before you today on these issues. We will be glad to answer any questions you may have.

Teresa Lueth, Secretary Saline County 300 W. Ash, PO Box 1760 Salina, KS 67402-1760 785-309-5831 Mary Gatton, Treasurer Barton County 1400 Maín, Room 306 Great Bend, KS 67530-4098 620-793-1856 Kathleen Collins, Past President Wyandotte County 710 N 7th St., Mezzaníne Kansas Cíty, KS 66101 913-573-2946