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Good morning, Chairman Taddiken and members of the committee. I am Erik Wisner,
Regulatory and Policy Special Assistant of the Kansas Department of Agriculture. Thank you for
the opportunity for the department to appear here in support of HB 2730, which will make
several important changes to statutes related to our food safety and lodging programs.

In 2008, the Legislature transferred all food safety inspection functions from the Kansas
Department of Health and Environment to the Kansas Department of Agriculture. Since that
time, KDA has been working on efforts to update the laws relating to food and lodging
inspections in order to make them more user-friendly for the regulated industry. In addition,
KDA wanted to update the license structure to assess fees based on our regulatory work and to
clarify businesses exempt from licensure.

HB 2730 makes many changes that update and clarify the Kansas Food Drug and Cosmetic
Act. These include:

« Consolidating all definitions into one section.

» Consolidating all statutes related to penalties into a single statute. Previously, eight statutes
referenced penalties. It also sets the cap on civil penalties at $1,000 per violation.

» Clarifies that small lodging establishments that are exempt from licensing are still subJect to
inspection when a complaint is received. This is the guest house definition.

» Clarifies that administration and enforcement of the act is consistent with procedures in the
KS Administrative Procedures Act.

* Repeals statutes that are archaic, redundant or incorporated into existing or new statutes.

The bill also makes some changes to the license structure:

» Consolidates the food service establishment license and retail food store license into one
license now known as the “food establishment” license.

» Sets fee caps for “food establishment” licenses between $250 and $750 depending on size.
While some of the larger high-risk facilities will see an increase in fees, most will see
very little change. In many instances smaller, lower-risk facilities will see a decrease in -
fees. The cumulative effect of these changes in fees will be revenue neutral.

« Increases the late fee for license renewal from $10 to $25.

* Changes the license renewal date from January 1 to April 1.



» At the request of the Kansas Department of Education, a provision has been added in statute
to allow the secretary to set in regulation, separate from other food establishment fees, the
license and application fee for all facilities that have school lunch programs that receive
federal school lunch funding

» Clarifies in statute the businesses exempted from licensing and inspection.

The amendments KDA proposes in HB 2730 will update food safety and lodging statutes to
provide more transparency in regulatory authority and more equity in licensing cost by directing
relating the fees paid to regulatory costs of the program.

Thank you for your consideration, and I am happy to respond to questions at the appropriate
time.



