MINUTES OF THE HOUSE AGRICULTURE & NATURAL RESOURCES COMMITTEE

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Larry Powell at 9:00 a.m. on January 18, 2011, in Room 783 in the Docking State Office Building.

All members were present except:

Representative Michael Peterson - Excused

Committee staff present:

Jill Wolters, Office of the Revisor of Statutes Sean Ostrow, Office of the Revisor of Statutes Raney Gilliland, Kansas Legislative Research Department Michael Wales, Kansas Legislative Research Department Kay Scarlett, Committee Assistant

Conferees appearing before the Committee:

Mike Hoeme, Director of Transportation, Kansas Corporation Commission

Others attending:

See attached list.

Chairman Powell reported on the Legislative Agricultural Chairmen's Summitt January 14-16, 2011, in Fort McDowell, Arizona. A copy of the Speakers' Presentations and Resource Material on CD is available from Raney Gilliland, Kansas Legislative Research Department.

There were no bill introduction requests.

Mike Hoeme, Director of Transportation, Kansas Corporation Commission, appeared before the committee to discuss Kansas's newest exemption for farmers operating in interstate commerce. The State of Kansas recently signed reciprocity agreements with Nebraska, Missouri, and Oklahoma which permit farmers to operate CDL classified farm vehicles across state lines without requiring commercial driver's licenses.

Prior to signing of the reciprocity agreements, Kansas statutes only permitted Kansas farmers a CDL exemption radius of 150 miles from the farmer's farm as long as the transportation remained within the state's borders. The new agreements extend the CDL exemption to cover those commercial vehicle operations up to 150 miles from the farmer's farm in both intrastate and interstate commerce. Under the terms of the agreements, any driver entering or exiting Kansas from Nebraska, Missouri, or Oklahoma and who possesses a valid non-commercial driver's license, may operate a farm vehicle within the reciprocal state, if:

- The vehicle is a properly operated and registered farm vehicle under the laws of the home state;
- The vehicle is controlled and operated by a farmer—which includes the operation by his or her employees or family members—so long as the operator holds a valid driver's license and is 18 years of age or older;
- The vehicle is used exclusively to transport either agricultural products, farm machinery, or farm supplies to or from the farmer's farm;
- The vehicle is not used in the commercial operations of a common or contract carrier;
- The vehicle is not a combination of a truck-tractor and semi-trailer (Nebraska only); and
- The vehicle is only used within 150 miles of the farmer's farm.

These agreements still require the farm vehicle drivers to comply with the applicable safety and hazardous material regulations. He reported that they are collaborating with Colorado, Iowa, Texas, and Arkansas to arrive at similar agreements. (Attachment 1)

The meeting adjourned at 9:35 a.m. The next meeting of the House Agriculture & Natural Resources Committee is scheduled for January 19, 2011.