Approved: March 1, 2012

(Date)

### MINUTES OF THE HOUSE ENERGY AND UTILITIES COMMITTEE

The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Carl Holmes at 9:00 a.m. on Tuesday, January 17, 2012 in 785 of the DSOB.

## All members were present except:

Representative Mike Burgess-excused Representative Phil Hermanson-excused Representative Annie Kuether-excused Representative Mike Slattery-excused

### Committee staff present:

Cindy Lash, Kansas Legislative Research Brian Turnbull, Kansas Legislative Research Mike Sterling, Kansas Revisor of Statutes Tamara Lawrence, Kansas Revisor of Statutes Renae Hansen, Committee Administrative Assistant

# Conferees appearing before the Committee:

Mark Sievers, Chairman, KCC

### Others in attendance:

Twenty-nine including the attached list

## Presentation on KCC overview and update by:

Mark Sievers, Chairman, KCC, (<u>Attachment 1</u>), spoke to the committee about the Kansas Corporation Commission and their role in the setting of rates for both energy and telecommunications. He spoke about the amount of time and money spent on their duties with a specific dollar and time amount for the rate portion of the commission's mission. Included in his testimony was a spreadsheet with a Kansas Corporation Commission snapshot and another with the top KCC issues for 2012. Additionally, he included a chart outlining who holds the statutory positions and where they fit in the hierarchy of the corporation. Finally, his testimony included the commission activities on the Cross State Air Pollution Rule (CSAPR) and a map outlining projections of reliability issues in the region that would be affected if the rule is fully operational as currently ordered.

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not been transcribed verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not been submitted to the individuals appearing before the committee for editing or corrections.

### **CONTINUATION SHEET**

Minutes of the HOUSE ENERGY AND UTILITIES Committee at {\*Time} on Tuesday, January 17, in of the Capitol.

Questions were asked and comments made by Representatives: Gail Finney, Stan Frownfelter, Carl Holmes, Forrest Knox, Don Hineman, Reynaldo Mesa, Nile Dillmore, Tom Sloan, Vern Swanson, Joe Seiwert, and Don Schroeder.

The next meeting is scheduled for January 18, 2012 9:00 a.m.

The meeting was adjourned at 10:46 a.m.