# MINUTES

## HOUSE REDISTRICTING COMMITTEE

June 1, 2011 Room 346-S—Statehouse

#### **Members Present**

Representative Michael O'Neal, Chairperson Representative Steve Brunk Representative Richard Carlson Representative Paul Davis Representative Bob Grant Representative Lance Kinzer Representative Annie Kuether Representative Brenda Landwehr Representative Peggy Mast Representative Joe Patton Representative Jan Pauls Representative Michael Peterson Representative Larry Powell Representative Don Schroeder Representative Sharon Schwartz Representative Gene Suellentrop Representative Caryn Tyson **Representative Jim Ward** Representative Brian Weber

### **Members Absent**

Representative Clay Aurand, Vice-chairperson Representative Anthony Brown Representative Forrest Knox Representative Scott Schwab

#### Staff Present

Corey Carnahan, Kansas Legislative Research Department Reed Holwegner, Kansas Legislative Research Department Cindy O'Neal, Committee Assistant The meeting was called to order by Chairman Michael O'Neal at 9:00 a.m. Chairman O'Neal welcomed the committee members and staff. He recognized Corey Carnahan, Kansas Legislative Research Department, to give the Committee an overview of the redistricting process in Kansas.

Mr. Carnahan explained that the redistricting process is done every ten years. It is based on population and the goal is to achieve one person, one vote. Kansas is one of two states that does not use census data to redraw its legislative districts. It uses "adjusted population data," basically adjusted census data, to draw lines. The adjusted census data excludes military and non-resident college students and includes resident students and military personnel at the place of their permanent residence. Based on the 2010 Census unadjusted data, the ideal House district size would be 22,825. The Secretary of State will provide the adjusted census sometime in July.

There will be five places in the Statehouse where individuals (legislators or public) can go to redraw maps: each of the leadership offices and the Kansas Legislative Research Department will have equipment and software to provide these services. At the end of July the Kansas Legislative Research Department will be launching a website that will allow individuals to go online to look at plans that have been made public. Also, members of the public can attend town hall meetings to voice any concerns they have about the redistricting process or how they believe their district should be drawn (<u>Attachment 1</u>).

Committee discussion followed with regards as to where to hold the town hall meetings. *Representative Davis made the motion to have them located in the following cities of the state:* 

- Garden City/Dodge City;
- Hays/Colby;
- Hutchinson/Wichita;
- Independence/Pittsburg;
- Kansas City/Leavenworth;
- Lawrence/Overland Park; and
- Manhattan/Salina.

#### Representative Mast seconded the motion. <u>The motion carried</u>.

Chairperson O'Neal informed the members that the Chairperson, Vice-chairperson, and Ranking Minority Member would be allowed to attend as many meetings as they would like but that there needed to be discussion on how many meetings the members would be allowed to attend and receive pay. If members would like to attend more meetings than approved by the Redistricting Advisory Committee, they could reimburse themselves out of their campaign accounts.

Representative Landwehr made the motion that members be allowed to attend two meetings with pay and that the Chairperson, Vice-chairperson, and Ranking Minority Member each be allowed to send a designee if he could not attend. Representative Grant seconded the motion. <u>The motion carried</u>.

Kansas Legislative Research Department provided a handout of guidelines and criteria for the 2012 Kansas Congressional and legislative redistricting process (<u>Attachment 2</u>). Representative Ward requested that staff provide copies of the cases with regards to one person, one vote; diluting minority voting; and protecting of interest.

The Committee meeting adjourned at 10:15 a.m.

Prepared by Cindy O'Neal Edited by Corey Carnahan

Approved by Committee on:

<u>August 19, 2011</u> (date)