Approved: March 16, 2012

(Date)

### MINUTES OF THE HOUSE REDISTRICTING COMMITTEE

The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Michael O'Neal at 12:41 p.m. on Wednesday, March 14, 2012, in Room 346-S of the Capitol.

All members were present except Representative Kinzer, who was excused. Representative Kleeb was appointed by Speaker O'Neal to attend in Representative Kinzer's absence.

Committee staff present:

Corey Carnahan, Kansas Legislative Research Department Reed Holwegner, Kansas Legislative Research Department Dorothy Noblit, Kansas Legislative Research Department Jason Long, Office of the Revisor of Statutes Gary Deeter, Committee Secretary

Conferees appearing before the Committee: None

Others in attendance:

See attached list.

The Chair recognized Vice-Chair Aurand, who distributed Deep Purple, another proposed redistricting map (<u>Attachment 1</u>). The Vice-Chair commented that the map keeps Wyandotte and Johnson counties together as well as Manhattan and Lawrence, but separates part of Manhattan from the rest of Riley County.

#### <u>A motion was made by Representative Brown, seconded by Representative Tyson, to amend SB</u> 344 by replacing the Senate map with the 34<sup>th</sup> Great State map.

Representative Brown explained that the map keeps Wyandotte, Johnson, and Miami counties together and keeps all of Douglas County in the  $2^{nd}$  District. Various members opposed the motion because of the map divides other counties. <u>*The motion failed*</u>. Representative Landwehr was recorded as voting no.

<u>Representative Mast made a motion, seconded by Representative Tyson, to amend SB 344,</u> <u>replacing the Senate map with the Capital One map.</u>

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not been transcribed verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not been submitted to the individuals appearing before the committee for editing or corrections.

# CONTINUATION SHEET

Minutes of the HOUSE REDISTRICTING Committee at 12:00 p.m. on Wednesday, March 14, in 346-S of the Capitol.

Responding to a question, the Chair noted that the map divides Nemaha, Miami, and Butler counties. Members commented that the map needlessly changes the configuration of the 4<sup>th</sup> District, that the map excludes the extended Wichita region, and that, though the map divides Miami County, it leaves the city of Spring Hill whole. <u>*The motion failed.*</u> Representative Landwehr was recorded as voting no.

#### <u>Representative Weber moved to amend SB 344 by replacing the Senate map with Tallgrass</u> <u>Congress 1. The motion was seconded by Representative Tyson.</u>

In support of the motion, Representative Weber noted that Riley County is included in the  $2^{nd}$  District, Johnson and Wyandotte counties are in the  $3^{rd}$  District, the Wichita metro area is maintained, and Shawnee County is split. Members objected to dividing Shawnee County. <u>*The motion failed.*</u> Representative Landwehr was recorded as voting no.

## <u>A motion was made and seconded to amend SB 344 by inserting Antelope 1 as the redistricting</u> <u>map.</u> (Motion by Representative Carlson; seconded by Representative Schwartz)

Representative Carlson stated that the map meets the intention of the committee to keep communities of interest together by maintaining the Manhattan area and the University of Kansas and Kansas State University in the  $2^{nd}$  District. A member commented that the  $4^{th}$  District is changed needlessly. <u>*The motion failed.*</u> Representative Landwehr was recorded as voting no.

# <u>Representative Aurand moved and Representative Powell seconded to amend SB 344 by</u> <u>inserting Eisenhower B as the redistricting map.</u>

A member commented that the public hearings clearly preferred to keep Wyandotte County intact, whereas Eisenhower B puts the most urban district in Kansas into the mostly rural district in the state. Another member said that putting Wyandotte County into the 1<sup>st</sup> District violates the rule of maintaining communities of interest. Another member stated that Wyandotte County is a part of the urban synergy of Johnson County; to separate Wyandotte County does disservice to the policy of preserving core districts.

Another member noted that the map permits the 1<sup>st</sup> District to touch both the 2<sup>nd</sup> and the 3<sup>rd</sup> Districts, a fact that will simplify the next decennial redistricting effort, since the 1<sup>st</sup> District will likely lose even more population. The Chair made the same point, adding that the Committee must expand the districts either by increasing land mass or by adjusting areas of population

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not been transcribed verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not been submitted to the individuals appearing before the committee for editing or corrections.

## CONTINUATION SHEET

Minutes of the HOUSE REDISTRICTING Committee at 12:00 p.m. on Wednesday, March 14, in 346-S of the Capitol.

density. He noted that 10 years ago splitting Geary County and Douglas County gave each area two congressional representatives rather than one, a decision which benefitted both areas. He also noted the importance of keeping the National Bio- and Agro-Defense Facility and the two universities in the 2<sup>nd</sup> District. <u>*The motion passed*</u>, 12-11</u>. The following members were recorded as voting no: Representatives Schwab, Peterson, Grant, Tyson, and Landwehr.

Representative Brown requested that the Committee consider the I-70 B map. The Chairman announced that the Committee would meet the following day (Thursday, March 15) at noon or following adjournment of the House. The meeting was adjourned at 1:45 p.m.

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not been transcribed verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not been submitted to the individuals appearing before the committee for editing or corrections.