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CONFERENCE COMMITTEE REPORT

MR. PRESIDENT and MR. SPEAKER: Your committee on conference on Senate amendments to
HB 2192 submits the following report:

The House accedes to all Senate amendments to the bill, and your committee on conference
further agrees to amend the bill, as printed with Senate Committee amendments as follows:

On page 1, after line 7, by inserting:

"Section 1. K.S.A. 2010 Supp. 8-116a is hereby amended to read as follows: 8-116a. (a) Except
as provided in K.S.A. 8-170, and amendments thereto, when an application is made for a vehicle which
has been assembled, reconstructed, reconstituted or restored from one or more vehicles, or the proper
identification number of a vehicle is in doubt, the procedure in this section shall be followed. The
owner of the vehicle shall request the Kansas highway patrol to check the vehicle and the highway
patrol shall within a reasonable period of time perform such vehicle check. At the time of such check
the owner shall supply the highway patrol with information concerning the history of the various parts
of the vehicle. Such information shall be supplied by affidavit of the owner, if so requested by the
highway patrol. If the highway patrol is satisfied that the vehicle contains no stolen parts, it shall assign
an existing or new identification number to the vehicle and direct the places and manner in which the

identification number is to be located and affixed or implanted. A charge of $46 $15 per hour or part

thereof, with a minimum charge of $40 $15, and on and after July 1, 2012, a charge of $20 per hour or
part thereof, with a minimum charge of $20, shall be made to the owner of a vehicle requesting check
under this subsection, and such charge shall be paid prior to the check under this section. When a check
has been made under subsection (b), not more than 60 days prior to a check of the same vehicle
identification number, requested by the owner of the vehicle to obtain a regular certificate of title in

lieu of a nonhighway certificate of title or to obtain a rebuilt salvage title in lieu of a salvage title, no
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charge shall be made for such second check.

(b) Any person making application for any original Kansas title for a used vehicle which, at the
time of making application, is titled in another jurisdiction, as a condition precedent to obtaining any
Kansas title, shall have such vehicle checked by the Kansas highway patrol for verification that the
vehicle identification number shown on the foreign title is genuine and agrees with the identification
number on the vehicle. Checks under this section may include inspection for possible violation of
K.S.A. 21-3757, and amendments thereto, or other evidence of possible fraud. The verification shall be
made upon forms prescribed by the division of vehicles which shall contain such information as the
secretary of revenue shall require by rules and regulations. A charge of $38 $15 per hour or part

thereof, with a minimum charge of $36 _$15, and on and after July 1. 2012, a charge of $20 per hour or

part thereof, with a minimum charge of $20, shall be made for checks under this subsection. When a

vehicle is registered in another state, but is financed by a Kansas financial institution and is repossessed
in another state and such vehicle will not be returned to Kansas, the check required by this subsection
B)-shall not be required to obtain a valid Kansas title or registration.

(c) As used in this act, "identification number" or "vehicle identification number" means an
identifying number, serial number, engine number, transmission number or other distinguishing number
or mark, placed on a vehicle, engine, transmission or other essential part by its manufacturer or by
authority of the division of vehicles or the Kansas highway patrol or in accordance with the laws of
another state or country.

(d) The checks made under subsection (b) may be made by:

(1) A designee of the superintendent of the Kansas highway patrol; or

(2) an employee of a new vehicle dealer, as defined in subsection (b) of K.S.A. 8-2401, and

amendments thereto, for the purposes provided for in subsection (f). For checks made by a designee or

new vehicle dealer, $+ 10% of each charge shall be remitted to the Kansas highway patrol and the



-3- cer 2011 _hb2192 s 2514

balance of such charges shall be retained by such designee_or new vehicle dealer. If the designee is a

city or county law enforcement agency, then the balance shall be paid to the law enforcement agency

that conducted the inspection. When a check is made under either subsection (a) or (b) by personnel of

the Kansas highway patrol

vehtele-dealer, the entire amount of the charge therefor shall be paid to the highway patrol.

(e) There is hereby created the vehicle identification number fee fund. The Kansas highway
patrol shall remit all moneys received by the Kansas highway patrol from fees collected under
subsection (d) to the state treasurer in accordance with the provisions of K.S.A. 75-4215, and
amendments thereto. Upon receipt of each such remittance, the state treasurer shall deposit the entire
amount in the state treasury to the credit of the vehicle identification number fee fund. All expenditures
from the vehicle identification number fee fund shall be made in accordance with appropriations acts
upon warrants of the director of accounts and reports issued pursuant to vouchers approved by the
superintendent of the Kansas highway patrol or by a person or persons designated by the
superintendent.

(f) An employee of a new vehicle dealer, who has received initial training and certification from
the highway patrol, and has met continuing certification requirements, in accordance with rules and
regulations adopted by the superintendent of the highway patrol, may provide the checks under
subsection (b), in accordance with rules and regulations adopted by the superintendent of the highway

patrol, on motor vehicles that a new vehicle dealer purchases through a manufacturer's sponsored

auction or on motor vehicles repurchased or reacquired by a manufacturer, distributor or financing

subsidiary of such manufacturer and which are purchased by the new vehicle dealer. At any time, after
a hearing in accordance with the provisions of the Kansas administrative procedure act, the
superintendent of the highway patrol may revoke, suspend, decline to renew or decline to issue

certification for failure to comply with the provisions of this subsection, including any rules and
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regulations.

Sec. 2. K.S.A. 2010 Supp. 8-173 is hereby amended to read as follows: 8-173. (a) An application
for registration of a vehicle as provided in article 1 of chapter 8 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and
amendments thereto, shall not be accepted unless the person making such application shall exhibit:

(1) A receipt showing that such person has paid all personal property taxes levied against such
person for the preceding year, including taxes upon such vehicle, except that if such application is
made before May 11, such receipt need show payment of only one-half the preceding year's tax; or

(2) evidence that such vehicle was assessed for taxation purposes by a state agency, or was
assessed as stock in trade of a merchant or manufacturer or was exempt from taxation under the laws of
this state.

(b) An application for registration of a vehicle as provided in article 1 of chapter 8 of the Kansas
Statutes Annotated shall not be accepted if the records of the county treasurer show that the applicant is
delinquent and owes personal property taxes levied against the applicant for any preceding year.

(c) An original application for registration errenewal-efregistration of a motor vehicle shall not
be accepted until the applicant signs a certification, provided by the director of motor vehicles,
certifying that the applicant has and will maintain, during the period of registration, the required
insurance, self-insurance or other financial security required pursuant to K.S.A. 40-3104, and
amendments thereto.

(d) An application for registration or renewal of registration of a vehicle shall not be accepted if
the applicant is unable to provide proof of the insurance, self-insurance or other financial security
required by article 31 of chapter 40 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated. Proof of insurance shall be
verified by examination of the insurance card or other documentation issued by an insurance company,
a certificate of self-insurance issued by the commissioner, a binder of insurance, a certificate of

insurance, a motor carrier identification number issued by the state corporation commission, proof of
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insurance for vehicles covered under a fleet policy, a commercial policy covering more than one
vehicle or a policy of insurance required by K.S.A. 40-3104, and amendments thereto, and for vehicles
used as part of a drivers education program, a dealership contract and a copy of a motor vehicle
liability insurance policy issued to a school district or accredited nonpublic school. Examination of a
photocopy or facsimile of any of these documents shall suffice for verification of registration or
renewal. Proof of insurance may also be verified on-line or electronically and the commissioner of
insurance may require, by duly adopted rules and regulations, any motor vehicle liability insurance
company authorized to do business in this state to provide verification of insurance in that manner. Any
motor vehicle liability insurance company which is providing verification of insurance on-line or
electronically on the day preceding the effective date of this act may continue to do so in the same
manner and shall be deemed to be in compliance with this section.";

On page 5, after line 21, by inserting:

"Sec. 5. K.S.A. 2010 Supp. 8-1558 is hereby amended to read as follows: 8-1558. (a) Except as
provided in subsection (b) and except when a special hazard exists that requires lower speed for
compliance with K.S.A. 8-1557, and amendments thereto, the limits specified in this subsection or
established as authorized by law shall be maximum lawful speeds, and no person shall operate a
vehicle at a speed in excess of such maximum limits:

(1) In any urban district, 30 miles per hour;

(2) on any separated multilane highway, as designated and posted by the secretary of
transportation, 70 75 miles per hour;

(3) on any county or township highway, 55 miles per hour; and]

(4) on all other highways, 65 miles per hour.

(b) No person shall drive a school bus to or from school, or interschool or intraschool

functions or activities, at a speed in excess of the maximum speed limits provided in subsection (a),
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except that the board of education of any school district may establish by board policy lower maximum
speed limits for the operation of such district's school buses. The provisions of this subsection relating
to school buses shall apply to buses used for the transportation of students enrolled in community
colleges or area vocational schools, when such buses are transporting students to or from school, or
functions or activities.

(c) The maximum speed limits in this section may be altered as authorized in K.S.A. 8-1559
and 8-1560, and amendments thereto.

Sec. 6. K.S.A. 2010 Supp. 8-1560c is hereby amended to read as follows: 8-1560c. (a) Any
conviction or forfeiture of bail or bond for violating a maximum posted or authorized speed limit of 30
miles per hour or more but not exceeding 54 miles per hour on any highway, by not more than six miles
per hour, shall not be construed as a moving traffic violation for the purpose of K.S.A. 8-255, and
amendments thereto.

(b) Any conviction or forfeiture of bail or bond for violating the maximum posted or
authorized speed limit of 55 miles per hour or more but not exceeding 76 75 miles per hour on any
highway, by not more than 10 miles per hour, shall not be construed as a moving traffic violation for
the purpose of K.S.A. 8-255, and amendments thereto.

Sec. 7. K.S.A. 2010 Supp. 8-1560d is hereby amended to read as follows: 8-1560d.
Convictions for violating a maximum posted speed limit of 55 miles per hour or more but not
exceeding 70 75 miles per hour, by not more than 10 miles per hour in excess of such maximum speed
limit, or a maximum posted speed limit of 30 miles per hour or more but not exceeding 54 miles per
hour, by not more than six miles per hour in excess of such maximum speed limit, shall not be reported
by the division and shall not be considered by any insurance company in determining the rate charged
for any automobile liability insurance policy or whether to cancel any such policy under the provisions

of subsection (4)(c)(7) of K.S.A. 40-277, and amendments thereto.
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Sec. 8. K.S.A. 8-2204 is hereby amended to read as follows: 8-2204. This act shall be known

and may be cited as the uniform act regulating traffic on highways. The uniform act regulating traffic

on highways includes K.S.A. 8-1560a through 8-1560d; all sections located in articles 10, and 14

through 22_and 25 of chapter 8 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated; K.S.A. 8-1,129, 8-1,130a, 8-1428a,
8-1742a, 8-2118 and K.S.A. 8-1599, and amendments thereto.

Sec. 9. K.S.A. 2010 Supp. 8-2503 is hereby amended to read as follows: 8-2503. (a) Except as

provided in ejsubsection

(b):;

(1) Each occupant of a passenger car manufactured with safety belts in compliance with federal
motor vehicle safety standard no. 208, who is 18 years of age or older, shall have a safety belt properly
fastened about such person's body at all times when the passenger car is in motion —; and

#)(2) each occupant of a passenger car manufactured with safety belts in compliance with
federal motor vehicle safety standard no. 208, who is at least 14 years of age but less than 18 years of
age, shall have a safety belt properly fastened about such person's body at all times when the passenger
car is in motion.

tey(b) This section does not apply to:

(1) An occupant of a passenger car who possesses a written statement from a licensed physician
that such person is unable for medical reasons to wear a safety belt system;

(2) carriers of United States mail while actually engaged in delivery and collection of mail along
their specified routes; or

(3) newspaper delivery persons while actually engaged in delivery of newspapers along their

specified routes=er.
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t(c) The secretary of transportation shall initiate an educational program designed to
encourage compliance with the safety belt usage provisions of this act.

te)(d) The secretary shall evaluate the effectiveness of this act and shall include a report of its
findings in the annual evaluation report on its highway safety plan that it submits under 23 U.S.C. §
402.

H(e) Law enforcement officers shall not stop drivers for violations of subsection (a)(1) by a
back seat occupant in the absence of another violation of law. A citation for violation of subsection (a)
(1) by a back seat occupant shall not be issued without citing the violation that initially caused the
officer to effect the enforcement stop.

Sec. 10. K.S.A. 2010 Supp. 8-2504 is hereby amended to read as follows: 8-2504. (a) (1)

E 1 afiorthe-effoetived b o ] 30-26+0—a] ; 5 hatl

—from—and-after June 30,2040, antiJuly—1,2064; Persons violating subsection (a)(1) of

K.S.A. 8-2503, and amendments thereto, shall be fined $5 ineluding-and no court costs;

) and, from and after July 1, 2011, persons violating subsection (a)(1) of K.S.A. 8-2503, and
amendments thereto, shall be fined $10 #elading-and no court costs; and

(2) persons violating subsection {b)(a)(2) of K.S.A. 8-2503, and amendments thereto, shall be
fined $60-nekading-and no court costs.

(b) No court shall report violation of this act to the department of revenue.

(c) Evidence of failure of any person to use a safety belt shall not be admissible in any action for
the purpose of determining any aspect of comparative negligence or mitigation of damages.

(d) _The provisions of this section shall be applicable and uniform throughout the state and no

city, county, subdivision or local authority shall enact or enforce any law, ordinance, rule, regulation or

resolution in conflict with, in addition to, or supplemental to, the provisions of this section. ";
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And by renumbering the remaining sections accordingly;

Also on page 5, in line 23, after "8-1516" by inserting "and K.S.A. 2010 Supp. 8-116a, 8-173, 8-
1558, 8-1560c, 8-1560d, 8-2204, 8-2503 and 8-2504";

On page 1, in the title, in line 1, by striking all after "ACT"; by striking all in line 2; in line 3, by
striking all before "amending" and inserting "concerning vehicles; relating to the regulation and
registration thereof;"; in line 4, after "8-1516" by inserting" and K.S.A. 2010 Supp. 8-116a, 8-173, 8-
1558, 8-1560c, 8-1560d, 8-2204, 8-2503 and 8-2504";

And your committee on conference recommends the adoption of this report.

Conferees on part of Senate

Conferees on part of House
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