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Brief*

HB 2192 would combine various provisions regulating
traffic.

Vehicle identification number (VIN) inspection fees
(Section 1). The bill would increase the fee per hour and the
minimum fee paid for inspection of a VIN from $10 to $15 in
FY 2012 and to $20 beginning in FY 2013. It would allow the
Kansas Highway Patrol (KHP) to receive 10 percent
(changed from $1) of the fees for each inspection conducted
by a program designee or new vehicle dealer.

Signature at registration renewal (Section 2). The bill
would remove a requirement that an applicant for renewal of
a vehicle's registration sign a certification that the applicant
has and will maintain financial security (insurance) on the
vehicle. A signature on such a certification statement would
continue to be required at a vehicle's initial registration.

“Dead red” (Section 3). The bill would allow the driver
of a motorcycle or the rider of a bicycle to proceed through a
steady red signal, subject to other traffic rules governing right
of way, if the red light has failed to change to green within a
reasonable period of time because the signal has
malfunctioned or has failed to detect the vehicle. The driver or
rider must yield the right of way to any vehicle in the
intersection or approaching so as to constitute an immediate
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hazard, to any pedestrian lawfully within an adjacent
crosswalk, and to any other traffic lawfully using the
intersection.

Passing bicycles (Section 4). The bill would require
the driver of a vehicle overtaking a bicycle to pass that bicycle
on the left no less than three feet away from the bicycle. It
would allow the vehicle to pass a bicycle in a no-passing
zone only when it is safe to do so.

Speed limit to 75 miles per hour (mph) (Sections 5, 6,
7). The bill would increase the maximum lawful speed limit
from 70 miles per hour to 75 miles per hour on any separated
multilane highway, as designated by the Secretary of
Transportation. The bill would increase 70 mph to 75 mph in
two additional statutes: a violation of a speed limit of 55 mph
up to 75 mph (increased from 70 mph) by not more than 10
mph could not be construed as a moving violation, nor could
it be reported by the Division of Vehicles to an insurance
company or considered by any insurance company in
determining the rate to be charged for an automobile liability
insurance policy.

Seat belt law into the Uniform Act Regulating Traffic
(Sections 8, 9, 10). The bill would include the Safety Belt Use
Act in the Uniform Act Regulating Traffic. It would clarify that
no court costs are to be applied to seat belt violations and
would remove outdated language. It also would remove
language redundant to the Child Passenger Safety Act.

Conference Committee Action

The Conference Committee combined these provisions
into a single bill:

e VIN inspection fees. These provisions, originally in SB
218, had been added by the Senate Committee on
Transportation to HB 2172. The Senate Committee on
Transportation also had included a clarifying
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amendment regarding vehicles that dealers are
authorized to inspect, requested by a representative of
the Kansas Automobile Dealers Association.

e  Signature at registration renewal. These provisions were
the original contents of HB 2172.

. ‘Dead red.” These provisions, from HB 2058 as
amended regarding bicycles by the House Committee
on Transportation, were added to HB 2192 by the House
Committee on Transportation.

e Passing bicycles. These provisions, originally in HB
2174, were added to HB 2192 by the Senate Committee
on Transportation.

e  Speed limit to 75 mph. These provisions, from HB 2034,
as amended by the House Committee of the Whole, had
been placed into House Sub. for SB 213.

e  Seat belt law into the Uniform Act Regulating Traffic.
These are the original provisions of HB 2192.

Background

VIN inspection fees. At the hearing on SB 218,
representatives of the KHP; the Kansas Association of Chiefs
of Police, the Kansas Sheriffs Association, and the Kansas
Peace Officers Association; the Kansas Automobile Dealers
Association; and the Kansas Association of Counties
provided proponent testimony. No other testimony was
received. According to testimony, 55 city police departments
and 76 county law sheriff departments also perform these
inspections. VIN inspections are performed on assembled or
reconstructed vehicles, so that such a vehicle's owner can
obtain a regular certificate of title and not have a nonhighway
or rebuilt salvage title, and when a vehicle's owner applies for
an original Kansas title. According to testimony, these
inspections prevent stolen vehicles from becoming titled in
Kansas. The $10 VIN inspection fee has not been increased
since the statute including the fee was enacted in 1984.
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Signature at registration renewal. The Miami County
Treasurer, representing the Kansas County Treasurers
Association, testified in support of HB 2172, regarding a
signature at registration renewal, to both the House and
Senate Transportation Committees. There was no other
testimony.

“Dead red.” The House Committee on Transportation
amended HB 2192 to insert contents of HB 2058, as
introduced, but amended to include bicycles. HB 2058 was
proposed by ABATE of Kansas, and proponent testimony on
that original bill was provided by six ABATE representatives to
the House Committee on Transportation. A representative of
the United Transportation Union provided neutral testimony. A
representative of the Kansas Association of Chiefs of Police
and the Kansas Peace Officers Association provided
opposition testimony. The Senate Committee on
Transportation received proponent testimony from several
ABATE representatives and no other testimony.

Passing bicycles. At its hearing on HB 2192, the
Senate Committee on Transportation heard proponent
testimony on the original contents of HB 2174 from Senator
Marci Francisco and from representatives of the Kaw Valley
Bicycle Club. There was no other testimony.

Speed limit to 75 mph. Representative Marvin Kleeb
testified in favor of HB 2034 before the House Committee on
Transportation. No other testimony was offered. The House
Committee of the Whole amended the bill to increase from 70
mph to 75 mph the speed limits noted in statutes related to
violations excluded from being construed as moving
violations or reported to or considered by an insurance
company in determining rates. In sections of law not
amended by the bill, the Secretary has the authority to
establish a lower speed limit for a specific route (KSA 8-
1559), and the Kansas Turnpike Authority has the authority to
set maximum and minimum speed limits for the Turnpike (8-
1560Db).
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Seat belt law into the Uniform Act Regulating Traffic.
Before the House Committee on Transportation,
Representatives Tom Burroughs, Rich Proehl, and Vince
Wetta testified in support of the bill, and Representative Gary
Hayzlett submitted written testimony as a proponent. A
representative of AAA Kansas presented neutral testimony. A
representative of the League of Kansas Municipalities
submitted testimony opposing the bill. Before the Senate
Committee on Transportation, a representative of the League
of Kansas Municipalities testified in opposition to the bill, and
written opposition testimony was received from the a
representative of the City of Lenexa.

Fiscal Effects

VIN inspection fees. According to the fiscal note
prepared by the Division of the Budget on SB 218, the KHP
indicates there are 36.0 FTE positions for the VIN Inspection
Program but VIN inspection fees fund only 27 of those. The
agency estimated the increase in fees would bring in
additional revenue of $542,276 in FY 2012 and $705,875 in
FY 2013. (The fiscal note says a higher estimate for FY 2012
for similar legislation, HB 2093, was incorrect.) Passage of
SB 218 was expected to result in increased revenues of
$281,930 in FY 2012 for local governments. Any fiscal effect
of the bill is not reflected in The FY 2012 Governor's Budget
Report.

Signature at registration renewal. The fiscal note
prepared by the Division of the Budget on the original HB
2172 states the bill would have no effect on state revenues or
expenditures.

Speed limit to 75 mph. The fiscal note prepared on the
original bill (HB 2034) states the Kansas Department of
Transportation said passage would require modification to
highway signs, at a cost of $16,500 to $24,750.
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Seat belt law into the Uniform Act Regulating Traffic.
The fiscal note prepared by the Division of the Budget states
that court cost charges for seat belt violations would decrease
but, because a seat belt violation often is accompanied by
another violation, the effect would be negligible. The League
of Kansas Municipalities reported there would be a fiscal
effect to cities that had adopted other fines and collected
court costs for these violations, but it could not determine a
precise fiscal effect on the cities.

Signature at registration renewal, “dead red,” and

passing bicycles were expected to have no fiscal effect on
state revenues or expenditures.

VIN Inspection Fees; Signature at Registration Renewal; Dead Red; Passing Bicycles; 75 mph
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