# Funds Related to University Student Housing; Johnson County Education Research Triangle Sales Tax; Fees for Private and Out-of-State Postsecondary Education Institutions; and Veterinary Students at Kansas State University

**HB 2020** allows revenues from rents, boarding fees, and other charges related to university student housing at State universities to go to either the Housing System Suspense Fund or directly to the Housing System Operations Fund, at the discretion of the university. In addition, the bill allows interest earned from the Housing System Operations Fund and Housing System Repairs Fund to be transferred into those funds. (Prior law allowed interest earned from the Housing System Suspense Fund to be transferred into that Fund.)

The bill requires that the interest earnings from the Johnson County Education Research Triangle sales tax be transferred from the State General Fund to the Johnson County Education Triangle Fund of the University of Kansas, the University of Kansas Medical Center, and Kansas State University. The bill requires that the interest earnings be transferred by the tenth day of each month and be determined by the average daily balance in each of the respective funds in the preceding month and the net earnings rate for the Pooled Money Investment Board portfolio for the preceding month.

The bill continues the new categories and fee levels established for FY 2011 that the State Board of Regents may charge private and out-of-state postsecondary educational institutions in order to carry out the Board's statutory and regulatory responsibilities through July 1, 2012. The fees listed in the bill are the maximum allowable amounts and are shown below.

For institutions domiciled or having their principal place of business within Kansas: Initial application fees:

•	Non-degree granting institution	\$2,000
_	Degree execution institution	ተ2 000

Degree granting institution .......\$3,000

Initial evaluation fee (in addition to initial application fees):

•	Non-degree level	\$750
•	Associate degree level	\$1,000
•	Baccalaureate degree level	\$2,000
•	Master's degree level	\$3,000
•	Professional or doctoral degree level	\$4,000

#### Renewal application fees:

- Non-degree granting institution....... 2 percent of gross tuition, but not less than \$800, nor more than \$25,000
- Degree granting institution ....... 2 percent of gross tuition, but not less than \$1,600, nor more than \$25,000

N.I.				
New program	SUDMISSION	tees tor	each new	nrogram:
Tion program	Cabillicololl	1000, 101	Cacililow	program.

•	Non-degree program	\$250
	Associate degree program	
	Baccalaureate degree program	
	Master's degree program	
•	Professional or doctoral degree program	\$2,000
	Program modification fee, for each program	

### Branch campus site fees, for each branch campus site:

•	Initial non-degree granting institution	\$1,500
•	Initial degree granting institution	\$2.500

## Renewal branch campus site fees, for each branch campus site:

- Non-degree granting institution....... 2 percent of gross tuition, but not less than \$800, nor more than \$25,000
- Degree granting institution ....... 2 percent of gross tuition, but not less than \$1,600, nor more than \$25,000
- Onsite branch campus review fee, for each site ......\$250

# Representative fees:

•	Initial registration	\$200
	Renewal of registration	
	Late submission of renewal of application fee	
	Student transcript copy fee	
	Returned check fee	

#### Changes in institution profile fees:

•	Change of institution name	\$100
	Change of institution location	
•	Change of ownership only	\$100

For institutions domiciled or having their principal place of business outside of Kansas:

#### Initial application fees:

•	Non-degree granting institution	\$4,000
•	Degree granting institution	\$5,500

Initial evaluation fee	(in addition to initial	application fees).
ii ii dai o valaadoi i loo	(iii aaaitioii to iiiitai	application loco.

•	Non-degree level	\$1,500
•	Associate degree level	\$2,000
•	Baccalaureate degree level	\$3,000
•	Master's degree level	\$4,000
	Professional or doctoral degree level	

### Renewal application fees:

•	Non-degree granting institution	3 percent of gross tuition, but not
		less than \$2,400, nor more than \$25,000
_	Dograp granting institution	2 percent of gross tuition, but not

 Degree granting institution ..................3 percent of gross tuition, but not less than \$3,000, nor more than \$25,000

# New program submission fees, for each new program:

•	Non-degree program	\$500
•	Associate degree program	\$750
•	Baccalaureate degree program	\$1,000
•	Master's degree program	\$1,500
•	Professional or doctoral degree program	\$2,500
•	Program modification fee, for each program	\$100
•	Branch campus site fees, for each branch campus site:	
	Initial non-degree granting institution	\$4,000
	Initial degree granting institution	\$5,500

# Renewal branch campus site fees, for each branch campus site:

•	Non-degree granting institution.	
		less than \$2,400, nor more than \$25,000

- Degree granting institution................3 percent of gross tuition, but not less than \$3,000, nor more than \$25,000
- Onsite branch campus review fee, for each site ...... \$500

# Representative fees:

•	Initial registration	\$350
•	Renewal of registration	\$250
	Late submission of renewal of application fee	
	Student transcript copy fee	
	Returned check fee	

# Changes in institution profile fees:

•	Change of institution name	\$100
•	Change of institution location	\$100
•	Change of ownership only	\$100

Finally, the bill removes the requirement in existing law that second year Kansas State University veterinary medical students who perform spay or neuter surgeries at animal shelters be supervised by a faculty member of Kansas State University's Veterinary Medical Center. The bill requires that such students performing spay or neuter surgeries will do so as part of a spay or neuter program as part of curriculum under the direct supervision of a licensed veterinarian. In addition, the bill limits students to performing spay or neuter surgeries on dogs or cats belonging to a pound or animal shelter, and not dogs or cats belonging to a member of the public. This portion of the bill became effective May 19, 2011, upon publication in the *Kansas Register*.