Seat Belt Law; 75 mph Speed Limit; VIN Inspection Fees; Motorcycle Through a "Dead Red" Light; Passing Bicycles; Signature at Registration Renewal

HB 2192 combines various provisions regulating traffic.

Seat belt law into the Uniform Act Regulating Traffic. The bill expands the Uniform Act Regulating Traffic to include the Safety Belt Use Act, thus making penalty provisions for seat belt violations uniform throughout Kansas. The bill clarifies that no court costs are to be applied to seat belt violations and removes outdated language. The bill also removes language redundant to the Child Passenger Safety Act.

Speed limit to 75 miles per hour (mph). The bill increases the maximum lawful speed limit from 70 miles per hour to 75 miles per hour on any separated multilane highway, as designated by the Secretary of Transportation. The bill increases 70 mph to 75 mph in two additional statutes: a violation of a speed limit of 55 mph up to 75 mph (increased from 70 mph) by not more than 10 mph cannot be construed as a moving violation, nor could it be reported by the Division of Vehicles to an insurance company or considered by any insurance company in determining the rate to be charged for an automobile liability insurance policy.

Vehicle identification number (VIN) inspection fees. The bill increases the fee per hour and the minimum fee paid for inspection of a VIN from \$10 to \$15 in FY 2012 and to \$20 beginning in FY 2013. It allows the Kansas Highway Patrol to receive 10 percent (changed from \$1) of the fees for each inspection conducted by a program designee (a city or county law enforcement agency) or new vehicle dealer.

"Dead red." The bill allows the driver of a motorcycle or the rider of a bicycle to proceed through a steady red signal, subject to other traffic rules governing right of way, if the red light has failed to change to green within a reasonable period of time because the signal has malfunctioned or has failed to detect the vehicle. The driver or rider must yield the right of way to any vehicle in the intersection or approaching so as to constitute an immediate hazard, to any pedestrian lawfully within an adjacent crosswalk, and to any other traffic lawfully using the intersection.

Passing bicycles. The bill requires the driver of a vehicle overtaking a bicycle to pass that bicycle on the left no less than three feet away from the bicycle. It allows the vehicle to pass a bicycle in a no-passing zone when it is safe to do so.

Signature at registration renewal. The bill removes a requirement that an applicant for renewal of a vehicle's registration sign a certification that the applicant has and will maintain financial security (insurance) on the vehicle. A signature on such a certification statement continues to be required at a vehicle's initial registration.