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Sub. for HB 2689 contains the following provisions dealing with alcoholic beverages:

Railway Cars 

The bill allows railway cars to be licensed as drinking establishments under the Club and 
Drinking  Establishment  Act.  The  bill  defines  a  railway  car  to  include  a  locomotive-drawn 
conveyance used for the transportation of people that is confined to a fixed route, deriving at 
least 30.0 percent of its gross receipts from all sales of food and alcoholic beverages on the 
railway car in a 12-month period.

Taxation on alcoholic liquor for consumption on licensed railroad cars conforms to those 
taxes  applied  to other  drinking  establishments.  Under  the bill,  70.0  percent  of  the revenue 
collected from sale of liquor in railway cars is divided equally among counties through which the 
railway car passes if the counties have approved the sale of liquor-by-the-drink.

Tasting Samples 

The bill allows any person or entity who is licensed to sell alcoholic liquor in the original 
package at retail to conduct wine, beer, and distilled spirits tasting on a licensed premise or 
adjacent  premises. Such  activity  is  monitored  and  regulated  by  the  Director  of  Alcoholic 
Beverage  Control  and  subject  to  the  provisions  in  the  Kansas  Liquor  Control  Act.  The bill 
prohibits any charge for sample servings, and a person could be served more than one sample. 
The bill  also prohibits any samples from being removed from the premises.  Finally,  the bill 
exempts an entity providing samples from the requirement of holding a Kansas food service 
dealer license.

Special Event Permit

The bill allows a temporary permit for a special event for selling and serving alcoholic 
liquor for consumption at an unlicensed premise. The temporary permit is valid at the Director of 
Alcoholic  Beverage  Control's  discretion  for  the  entire  period  of  the  special  event,  but  not 
exceeding 30 days. 

The bill  also allows a  temporary permit  holder  to  resell  unused alcoholic  beverages 
within three days after the end of the event to the licensee from whom the alcoholic beverages 
were purchased.

Repeal Salesperson's Permit

The bill repeals KSA 41-333 through -341 that authorizes issuance of a salesperson's 
permit for the sale of, or the taking or soliciting of orders for the sale of, alcoholic liquor or cereal 
malt beverages in Kansas. 
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New Microdistilleries

The bill creates a microdistillery license which allows a licensee to manufacture and 
store not more than 50,000 gallons of spirits per year. A microdistillery is defined as a facility 
which  produces  spirits  from any source or  substance  licensed  by the  Director  of  Alcoholic 
Beverage Control. The licensee is allowed to sell spirits manufactured by the microdistillery and 
serve free samples of spirits on the licensed premises and at special events monitored and 
regulated by the Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control. In addition, the licensee is allowed to 
sell  spirits  and  other  alcoholic  liquor  for  consumption  on  the  licensed  premises  if  the 
microdistillery also is licensed as a club and drinking establishment.

The bill  also creates a microdistillery packaging and warehouse facility license which 
allows  the  microdistillery  licensee  to  transfer  manufactured  spirits  from  the  microdistillery's 
licensed  premise  to  the  licensed  packing  and  warehouse  facility,  transfer  spirits  from  the 
licensed packing and warehouse facility to the licensed microdistillery, and remove spirits from 
the licensed packing and warehouse facility for delivery to a licensed spirits wholesaler.

The microdistillery license fee is $500 and the microdistillery packaging and warehouse 
facility license fee is $200. Each licensee has to post a bond of $2,000. 

The Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control is allowed to issue to the Kansas State Fair 
or any bona fide group of distillers a permit to import small quantities of spirits to be used for 
educational and scientific tasting programs.

A microdistillery is prohibited from hiring persons under 21 years old for certain duties 
and persons under 18 years old for the manufacture, sale, or serving of any alcoholic liquor. The 
licensee is prohibited from hiring any person who had been convicted of a felony.

The bill conforms the provisions that apply to a microdistillery license to provisions that 
apply to a microbrewery license.

Individual Drinks, "Happy Hour" 

The bill allows clubs, drinking establishments, caterers, or temporary permit holders to 
sell or serve beer or cereal malt beverage in a pitcher containing not more than 64 fluid ounces. 

The bill clarifies that an  individual drink is defined as a beverage containing alcoholic 
liquor or cereal malt beverage served to a single individual, but which is not intended to be 
consumed by two or more people. An individual drink is defined as a beverage containing not 
more than eight ounces of wine, 32 ounces of beer or cereal malt beverage, or four ounces of a 
single spirit. 

The bill also allows the sale of individual drinks at different prices throughout the day. 
The bill deletes the proportionate pricing requirement as applied to an alcoholic drink or a cereal 
malt beverage.

Public Venue License

The bill amends the Liquor Control Act and the Club and Drinking Establishment Act by 
creating a new class of  license for  a public  venue. A public  venue is defined as an arena, 
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stadium, hall, or theater, used primarily for athletic or sporting events, live theater productions, 
and live concerts, containing not less than 4,000 permanent seats and not less than two private 
suites. The public venue licensee is subject to taxes in the same manner as other licensees 
selling liquor by the drink under the Club and Drinking Establishment Act.

The licensee is allowed to sell and serve alcoholic beverages in designated areas by 
individual drinks, unlimited drinks for a fixed price, unlimited drinks in inclusive packages, and 
liquor in the original container for consumption in private suites. A "designated area" is defined 
as  an area identified  in  the  license application,  that  may include private suites,  that  has  a 
controlled access,  and that  is  separated from the general  admission area by a barrier.  The 
licensee also is allowed to store alcohol in private suites. The fee for a public venue license is 
set at $5,000 for facilities with a maximum capacity of not more than 10,000 people; $7,500 with 
a maximum capacity of not more than 25,000; and $10,000 with a maximum capacity exceeding 
25,000 people.

The bill also allows a city or county to levy a biennial occupation or license tax of not 
more than $1,000 on the public venue licensee. The bill adds restrictions for the offering and 
serving of alcoholic liquor or cereal malt  beverages at a public venue in general  admission 
areas.

Consumption in Certain Recreation Areas

Additional  provisions  of  the  bill allow a  person  to  consume  alcoholic  liquor  on  the 
premises of any land or water owned or managed by the Kansas Department of Wildlife, Parks 
and Tourism (Department), except where prohibited by rules and regulations of the Department. 
The effective date of this portion of the bill is January 1, 2013.

Manufacturer Samples

The bill allows the holder of a manufacturer's license to offer free samples of alcoholic 
liquor manufactured by the licensee on the licensed premise. No samples are allowed be served 
to a minor and samples could not be removed from the licensed premise. The licensee is not 
permitted to sell any alcoholic liquor for consumption on the premise.

Farm Wineries

The bill allows a farm winery licensee to sell  wine manufactured by the licensee for 
consumption on the licensed premise, provided the licensed premise is located in a county 
where the sale of alcoholic liquor is permitted in licensed drinking establishments. The wine sold 
for consumption is not to be considered liquor-by-the-drink and therefore is exempt from the 
liquor-by-the-drink tax. The bill also allows the sale of wine from a farm winery in the original, 
unopened container  at  special  events monitored and regulated by the Division  of  Alcoholic 
Beverage Control. 

This section of the bill is effective upon publication in the Kansas Register.
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Percentage of Products Grown

The bill requires not less than 30.0 percent of the products utilized in the manufacture of 
Kansas wine by a farm winery to be grown in Kansas. The production requirement is based on 
the annual production of wine by a farm winery and the availability of Kansas-grown products in 
sufficient quantity to meet the 30.0 percent standard. The Director of Alcoholic Beverage Control 
may waive the 30.0 percent requirement in years when insufficient Kansas-grown product is 
available for a farm winery.
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