Addictions Counselor Licensure Act—Amended Licensure Requirements; SB 290

SB 290 amends the Addictions Counselor Licensure Act to clarify the licensure requirements for licensed addiction counselors (LACs) and licensed clinical addiction counselors (LCACs) and to address reciprocal licensure for addiction counselors and clinical addiction counselors.

The bill requires that both an LAC and a LCAC be at least age 21, pass an examination approved by the Behavioral Sciences Regulatory Board, satisfy the Board that the individual merits the public trust, and pay the established application fee. In addition, educational requirements are established for each.

An addiction counselor is required to meet one of the the following educational requirements:

- Complete a baccalaureate degree in addiction counseling;
- Complete a baccalaureate degree in a related field with a minimum number of semester hours on substance use disorders;
- Complete a baccalaureate degree in a related field and additional coursework in addiction counseling including a minimum number of semester hours on substance use disorders;
- Be currently licensed as a social worker and have completed a minimum number of semester hours on substance use disorders; or
- Be currently licensed as a master social worker, professional counselor, marriage and family therapist, or master's level psychologist.

A licensed clinical addiction counselor (LCAC) needs to meet the following educational requirements:

- Complete a master's degree in addiction counseling, and
 - Have two or more years of postgraduate supervised professional experience of not less than 4,000 hours, or
 - Have a doctoral degree in addiction counseling or related field and two years or more of postgraduate supervised professional experience of not less than 2,000 hours; or
- Complete a master's degree in a related field including a minimum number of semester hours on diagnosis and treatment of substance use disorder, and
 - Have two years or more of postgraduate supervised professional experience of not less than 4,000 hours; or

- Have a doctoral degree in addiction counseling or related field and at least two years of postgraduate supervised professional experience of not less than 2,000 hours; or
- Complete a master's degree in a related field with additional coursework in addiction counseling with a minimum number of semester hours on diagnosis and treatment of substance use disorders; and
 - Have at least two years of postgraduate supervised professional experience of not less than 4,000 hours; and
 - Have a doctoral degree in addiction counseling or related field and at least two years of postgraduate supervised professional experience of not less than 2,000 hours; or
- Complete a master's degree in a related field and be licensed as an addiction counselor, and
 - Have at least two years of postgraduate supervised professional experience of not less than 4,000 hours, or
 - Have completed two years of postgraduate supervised professional experience of not less than 2,000 hours and have a doctoral degree; or
- Be currently licensed in Kansas as a psychologist, special clinical social worker, clinical professional counselor, clinical psychotherapist, or clinical marriage and family therapist, and provide attestation from a professional.

Addiction counselors and clinical addiction counselors currently registered, certified, or licensed in another jurisdiction are allowed to be licensed in Kansas if the standards to practice in that jurisdiction are substantially equivalent to Kansas'; or they demonstrate compliance, have five years of continuous practice, no disciplinary actions, pay the established fee, and meet the requisite educational requirements. The educational requirements for an addiction counselor are the completion of a baccalaureate or master's degree in addiction counseling or related field. The educational requirements for a clinical addiction counselor are:

- Complete a master's degree in clinical addiction counseling or a master's degree in a related field including a minimum number of semester hours on diagnosis and treatment of substance use disorders, or a master's degree in a related field with additional coursework in addiction counseling with a minimum number of semester hours on diagnosis and treatment of substance use disorders; and
- Have at least two of the following:
 - Coursework or passing a national exam;
 - Three years of clinical practice; or
 - Attestation from a professional.