
Disposition of Unclaimed Cremated Remains; Provisions for Veterans' Cremated 
Remains; SB 303

SB 303 amends law governing the disposition of unclaimed cremated remains to clarify 
when notice is required to be given prior to disposal of cremated remains and to create specific 
requirements related to the disposition of the unclaimed cremated remains of veterans. 

Clarifying When Notice is Required. A funeral establishment, branch establishment, or 
crematory had been allowed to dispose of unclaimed cremated remains after a period of 90 
days  from the time of  cremation,  with  required notice  of  the intent  to  dispose of  cremated 
remains to be given at least 30 days prior to the end of the 90-day period.  Instead, the bill 
requires the funeral establishment, branch establishment, or crematory give notice at least 30 
days prior to disposal of the remains, but does not require the notice be 30 days prior to the end 
of the 90-day period.

Establishing Specific Requirements for the Disposition of the Cremated Remains 
of Veterans. If the cremated remains have been unclaimed for more than 90 days from the date 
of cremation, notice requirements have been met, and the remains still have not been claimed, 
a funeral establishment, branch establishment, or crematory is allowed to share information with 
the U.S. Department of Veterans' Affairs or the Kansas Commission on Veterans' Affairs for the 
purpose of determining if  the unclaimed cremated remains are those of a veteran. A funeral 
establishment, branch establishment, crematory, funeral director, assistant funeral director, or 
crematory operator is discharged from any legal obligations or liability for such disclosures to 
the U.S. Department of Veterans' Affairs or the Kansas Commission on Veterans' Affairs. If it is 
determined the unclaimed cremated remains are those of a veteran, possession of the remains 
could be relinquished to the Kansas Commission on Veterans' Affairs or a national cemetery. 
The bill requires disposition of the unclaimed cremated remains of veterans be by placement of 
the cremated remains in a tomb, mausoleum, crypt, or niche in a columbarium, or by burial in a 
cemetery; scattering of the cremated remains is prohibited.

A funeral establishment, branch establishment, or crematory is not required to determine 
whether the unclaimed cremated remains are those of a veteran if  informed by a person in 
control of the disposition of the unclaimed remains that the individual was not a veteran or did 
not desire any funeral or burial-related services or ceremonies recognizing service as a veteran. 

When  disposition  of  unclaimed  cremated  remains  occurs  in  accordance  with  the 
language of the bill, a funeral establishment, branch establishment, crematory, funeral director, 
assistant funeral director,  or crematory operator is held harmless for any costs or damages, 
except for gross negligence or willful misconduct, and is discharged from any legal obligation or 
liability concerning the cremated remains. 
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