
Batterer Intervention Program Certification Unit; SB 304

SB 304 creates a Batterer Intervention Program Certification Unit (Unit) in the Attorney 
General's Office for the purpose of certifying and inspecting batterer intervention programs in 
Kansas.  The Unit  is  given  access  to  records,  investigation  documents,  and  written  reports 
related to domestic  violence cases received or  generated by the Department  of  Social  and 
Rehabilitation  Services,  Department  on  Aging,  Department  of  Health  and  Environment,  or 
Kansas Bureau of Investigation.

The Attorney General  is required to develop tools,  methodologies, requirements, and 
forms for the domestic violence offender assessment (DVOA) in consultation with the certified 
state  domestic  violence  coalition  and  with  local  domestic  violence  victims'  services 
organizations.

The  Attorney  General  is  permitted  to  appoint  an  advisory  panel  to  assist  in  the 
development  of  the  certification  program  and  rules  and  regulations,  as  well  as  advisory 
committees  to carry out  the purposes of  the Batterer  Intervention Program Certification  Act 
(Act).

The  Act prohibits  operation  of  a  batterer  intervention  program  without  certification 
pursuant  to  the  Act.  Programs seeking certification are required to complete an application 
containing the information required by the  Act and submit it  to the Attorney General with an 
application fee of $100 and any additional information required by the Attorney General. The 
Attorney General is allowed to require an applicant to fulfill remedial requirements if there is a 
deficiency in the application.

Certification expires after two years and may be renewed by submission of a renewal 
application  by  the  expiration  date,  payment  of  a  renewal  fee  of  $100,  and  verification  of 
continuing  compliance  with  the  Act and  applicable  rules  and  regulations.  A procedure  for 
reinstatement of a lapsed certification is provided. Certification is not assignable or transferable. 

The Attorney General is permitted to issue a temporary permit for a period of 180 days 
or less to an applicant requesting initial certification if the applicant met all conditions except for 
agency structure, personnel qualifications, education requirements, or training requirements, if 
such deficiencies can be remedied within that time period. The application fee for a temporary 
permit is $50.

The Attorney General is given rules and regulations authority to raise the fee for any of 
the application processes to an amount not more than $250.

A grandfather clause exempts programs certified prior to the effective date of the  Act 
from the initial application for certification.

The  Act requires  the  program  director,  supervisor,  or  coordinator  of  a  batterer 
intervention program to be licensed to practice in Kansas as a licensed psychologist, licensed 
baccalaureate social  worker,  licensed master social worker,  licensed specialist  clinical social 
worker, licensed marriage and family therapist, licensed clinical marriage and family therapist, 
licensed professional counselor, licensed clinical professional counselor, licensed master level 
psychologist, licensed clinical psychotherapist, licensed addiction counselor, or licensed clinical 
addiction  counselor.  This  requirement  is  waived  for  a  person  who  is  a  program  director, 
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supervisor, or coordinator prior to January 1, 2013, as long as the person remains employed or 
contracted by the same certified batterer intervention program.

An  applicant,  certified  batterer  intervention  program,  or  temporary  permit  holder  is 
required to notify the Attorney General in writing of name and address changes and certain 
criminal convictions or diversions.

The  Attorney  General  is  required  to  establish  the  requirements  for  the  certification 
program, which may include certain elements and considerations listed in the  Act, and must 
include a requirement that  the DVOA be completed by an individual  licensed to practice in 
Kansas as a licensed psychologist, licensed baccalaureate social worker, licensed master social 
worker, licensed specialist clinical social worker, licensed marriage and family therapist, licensed 
clinical  marriage  and  family  therapist,  licensed  professional  counselor,  licensed  clinical 
professional  counselor,  licensed master  level  psychologist,  licensed clinical  psychotherapist, 
licensed addiction counselor, or licensed clinical addiction counselor. This requirement is waived 
for  a  person  who  is  completing  a  DVOA as  an  employee  of  or  volunteer  for  a  batterer 
intervention program prior to January 1, 2013, as long as the person remains employed by or a 
volunteer for the same certified batterer intervention program. The Attorney General is given 
authority to adopt, amend, and revoke rules and regulations governing the administration and 
enforcement of the Act.

The use of a DVOA by anyone other than a certified batterer intervention program or 
temporary permit holder is prohibited. Certified batterer intervention programs and temporary 
permit  holders are required to maintain records related to their  services for a period of two 
years, to be inspected at least once every certification period by the Attorney General.

The Attorney General  is  allowed to suspend, limit,  condition, deny,  revoke, or  refuse 
renewal or reinstatement of a certification or permit if the holder makes a false statement in the 
application  process;  fails  to  comply  with  program  requirements;  is  found  guilty  of  fraud, 
negligence, deceit, or wrongful actions in connection with services rendered; allows the use of 
the DVOA by an unauthorized person; commits unprofessional conduct; fails to allow inspection 
of records as provided in the Act; or is convicted of any offense as specified in the Act. Further, 
any applicant,  any person who  operates a  batterer  intervention  program,  or  any temporary 
permit holder who violates the Act or rules and regulations adopted under it is subject to a civil 
penalty imposed by the Attorney General of  an amount between $100 and $5,000 for each 
violation,  subject  to appeal  under  the Kansas Judicial  Review  Act.  The Attorney General  is 
authorized  to  bring  a  restraining  action  for  violations  of  the  Act or  applicable  rules  and 
regulations.

The  Act establishes,  in  the  State  Treasury,  the  Kansas  Attorney  General  Batterer 
Intervention  Program Certification  Fund for  the  deposit  of  amounts received under  the  Act, 
which may be expended only for the administration of the Act.

The Act defines certain words and phrases used therein.

Statutes related to municipal  courts and domestic violence offenses are amended to 
require municipal  judges,  on and after July 1,  2013,  to determine whether defendants have 
committed a domestic violence offense and to sentence such defendants accordingly, including 
requiring the completion of a DVOA by a certified batterer intervention program. The statute 
governing  domestic  battery  is  amended  to  clarify  that  an  offender  must  undergo  a  DVOA 
conducted by a certified batterer intervention program and follow all recommendations made by 
the program.
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The statute  governing domestic  battery is  amended to  clarify  that  an  offender  must 
undergo  a  DVOA  conducted  by  a  certified  batterer  intervention  program  and  follow  all 
recommendations made by the program, unless otherwise ordered by the court or the Kansas 
Department of Corrections.

The bill  adds requirements  regarding appointed case managers  for  child  custody or 
parenting time issues under the revised Kansas Family Law Code. As of September 1, 2012, 
any case manager appointed prior to, on, or after July 1, 2012, will be required to currently hold 
one of  several  licenses specified in the statute,  be licensed to practice law with five years' 
experience in domestic relations or family law, or be a court services officer and have training in 
domestic relations cases as prescribed by the district court in which the case is filed. The case 
manager also will be required to have experience as a mediator; have attended one or more 
workshops on case management,  as approved and ordered by the district  court;  and have 
completed  a  minimum  number  of  continuing  education  hours  regarding  case  management 
issues or abuse and control dynamics issues, as established and approved by the Supreme 
Court.

Finally,  the  bill  fixes  non-substantive  errors  and  omissions  in  2011  SB  24,  which 
recodified several domestic relations statutes.
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