SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1813

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the Kansas recipient of the 2010 Milken Family Foundation Educator Award.

WHEREAS, Jeanie Weve, a fourth grade teacher at Maize Central Elementary School, Maize USD 266, has been selected as the Kansas recipient of the 2010 Milken Family Foundation Educator Award. She will receive an unrestricted award of \$25,000 plus recognition by her community, school and peers; and

WHEREAS, The Milken Educator Awards program was established by the Milken Family Foundation in 1985 and the first awards were presented in 1987; and

WHEREAS, The Milken Family Foundation Educator Awards program provides public recognition and financial awards to elementary and secondary school teachers, principals and other educational professionals who are furthering excellence in education. By honoring outstanding educators, the program strives to attract, retain and motivate talented people to the challenge and adventure of teaching; and

WHEREAS, The Milken Educator Awards are announced each fall at surprise notifications held in all-school assemblies. Foundation representatives and the chief state school officer make the announcements. This year 48 states and the District of Columbia participated in the program. By publicizing these awards our communities are reminded of the crucial, positive impact of educators. Furthermore, it is hoped these awards will attract the attention of those who might consider teaching as a rewarding career choice: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend Jeanie Weve upon her selection as the Kansas recipient of the 2010 Milken Family Foundation Educator Award; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate provide an enrolled copy of this resolution to the Commissioner of Education for forwarding to the 2010 Milken Educator.

Senate Resolution No. 1813 was sponsored by Senator Jean Schodorf.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that body

	•	
		President of the Senate.
		Secretary of the Senate.