SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1821

A Resolution congratulating and commending the Field Kindley Memorial High School Debate Team, Coffeyville, Kansas on winning the 2011 class 4A four-speaker state debate tournament.

WHEREAS, On January 14 and 15, 2011, the Kansas State High School Activities Association held the class 4A state debate tournament at Overland Park-Blue Valley Northwest High School; and

WHEREAS, In compiling a tournament record of 12 wins and only 2 losses, the Field Kindley High School Debate Team won the 2011 Kansas High School class 4A four-speaker state debate tournament; and

WHEREAS, The success of the team is a result of many long hours of hard, concentrated research and practice on the part of the entire Field Kindley debate team and their coaches; and

WHEREAS, This is the fourth four-speaker state debate championship team, and the sixth state debate championship team in the school's history; and

WHEREAS, Each debate team member, their families, the coaches, the school administrators and faculty, and every citizen of this proud community who supported and encouraged the debate team's success, should be recognized and acclaimed for this honor: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the Field Kindley High School debate team members, especially those who competed in the class 4A state debate tournament: Tiffany Lin, Eric Mueller, Jordan Mecom, Ben Wright, Grant Hendrix and Taylor Stringer; and Coaches Darrel Harbaugh, Kris Crane and Keith Wilson; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send 10 enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Umbarger.

Senate Resolution No. 1821 was sponsored by Senators Dwayne Umbarger and Jeff King.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.