## SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1834

A RESOLUTION recognizing March as National Women's History Month.

WHEREAS, Women of every race, class and ethnic background have made historic contributions to the growth and strength of Kansas and the United States in countless recorded and unrecorded ways; and

WHEREAS, Before the 1970's, women's history was largely missing from the public consciousness. To counter that trend, the education task force of the Sonoma County, California commission on the status of women initiated a women's history week celebration in 1978; and

WHEREAS, In 1987, the national women's history project petitioned congress to expand the celebration to the entire month of March. Since then, the national women's history month resolution has been approved every year with bipartisan support in both the United States house and senate; and

WHEREAS, Kansas has a unique and proud history of women who have led the way for the continued progress and strength of Kansas and the United States. Among these great Kansans are Mabel Chase, the first woman sheriff in the United States; Amelia Earhart, the first woman pilot to fly solo across the Atlantic Ocean; Georgia Neese Clark Gray, the first woman treasurer of the United States; Peggy Hull, the first woman to become an official war reporter; Hattie McDaniel, the first African American to receive an academy award; Carry Nation, the famed prohibitionist; Susanna Madora Salter, the first woman mayor in the United States; Lucy Hobbs Taylor, the first female dentist in the United States: Now, therefore,

*Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas:* That we honor the significant contributions women have made to the history, strength and future of Kansas and the United States by recognizing March as National Women's History Month; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send an enrolled copy of this resolution to Senator Kultala.

Senate Resolution No. 1834 was sponsored by Senators Kultala, Faust-Goudeau, Francisco, Huntington, Kelly, Lynn, McGinn, Pilcher-Cook, V. Schmidt, Schodorf, Teichman and Wagle.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.