SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1836

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the 2011 Kansas Master Teachers.

WHEREAS, Seven of the state's best teachers have been selected as Kansas Master Teachers for 2011. These seven outstanding educators will be honored on Wednesday, March 30, with a day of receptions, seminars and tours at sponsoring institution Emporia State University; and

WHEREAS, The 2011 Kansas Master Teachers are Sonda Copeland, an art teacher for grades nine through 12 at Manhattan High School in Manhattan-Ogden USD 383; Teresa Disberger, a math teacher for grades seven and eight at Council Grove Middle School in Morris County USD 417; Martha Hadsall, a third grade teacher at Harper Elementary School in Anthony-Harper USD 361; Rick Hildebrand, an art teacher for kindergarten through grade 12 at Linn Public School in Barnes-Hanover-Linn USD 223; Nancy Pence, a social studies teacher at Blue Valley North High School in Blue Valley USD 229; Janice Romeiser, a special education instructional coach at Flint Hills Special Education Cooperative, Mary Herbert Educational Center in Emporia USD 253, and a resource director at the Teachers College at Emporia State University; Marcia Troutfetter, a physical education teacher for grades six and seven at Salina South Middle School in Salina USD 305; and

WHEREAS, Emporia State University established the Kansas Master Teacher Awards in 1954. The awards are presented annually to teachers who have served the profession long and well and who also exemplify the outstanding qualities of earnest and conscientious teachers; and

WHEREAS, Since 1980, Bank of America has pledged more than \$100,000 to permanently endow the Kansas Master Teacher awards. In 1984, the Black family of Broken Bow, Oklahoma, established an endowed chair for Kansas Master Teachers. The fund provides a stipend to bring two Master Teachers to Emporia State University for part of a semester. During this time, the teachers present to classes of education students; and

WHEREAS, The members of the Kansas Senate recognize the invaluable contribution of great teachers such as those being honored here today. These 2011 Kansas Master Teachers serve as mentors and role models and lay the groundwork for the best educators of tomorrow. They go above and beyond what is expected and offer inspiration along with instruction. They teach with heart and soul. By giving the best of themselves, they encourage students to give their best in return; and

WHEREAS, Local teacher associations, educational organizations and school faculties nominate candidates for the awards. A committee representing educational organizations from across Kansas selected the 2011 winners: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we offer our heartfelt thanks to these extraordinary educators—these men and women who face so many challenges in the classroom each day, yet persevere, choosing the satisfaction of doing their best and overcoming the frustrations inherent in their jobs; that we congratulate and commend the seven 2011 Kansas Master Teachers for demonstrated excellence in their profession and devotion to the children of Kansas and extend our best wishes for their continued success and happiness; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate be directed to send seven enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Longbine for presentation to the 2011 Master Teachers who are present in the Senate Chamber today.

Senate Resolution No. 1836 was sponsored by Senators Longbine, Brungardt, Pyle, Taddiken, Teichman and Vratil. I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.