## SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1835

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the 2012 Kansas Master Teachers.

WHEREAS, Seven of the state's best teachers have been selected as Kansas Master Teachers for 2012. These seven outstanding educators will be honored on Wednesday, April 4, with a day of receptions, seminars and tours at sponsoring institution Emporia State University; and

WHEREAS, The 2012 Kansas Master Teachers are Shelley Aistrup, a principal at both Northview Elementary School and College Hill Preschool in Manhattan-Ogden USD 383; Cindy Ehrstein, an eighth grade language arts teacher at Andover Central Middle School in Andover USD 385; Sandra Gonsher, a second grade teacher at Sunrise Point Elementary in Blue Valley USD 229; Kendra Metz, a seventh grade reading and language arts teacher at Southwest Middle School in Lawrence USD 497; Katrina Paradis, an English teacher at Salina Central High School in Salina USD 305; Jodi Testa, a third grade teacher at Lincoln Elementary School in Geary County USD 475; and Marc Woofter, a principal at Comanche Intermediate Center in Dodge City USD 443; and

WHEREAS, Emporia State University established the Kansas Master Teacher Awards in 1954. The awards are presented annually to teachers who have served the profession long and well and who also exemplify the outstanding qualities of earnest and conscientious teachers; and

WHEREAS, Since 1980, Bank of America has pledged more than \$100,000 to permanently endow the Kansas Master Teacher awards. In 1984, the Black family of Broken Bow, Oklahoma, established an endowed chair for Kansas Master Teachers. The fund provides a stipend to bring two Master Teachers to Emporia State University for part of a semester. During this time, the teachers present to classes of education students; and

WHEREAS, The members of the Kansas Senate recognize the invaluable contribution of great teachers such as those being honored here today. These 2012 Kansas Master Teachers serve as mentors and role models and lay the groundwork for the best educators of tomorrow. They go above and beyond what is expected and offer inspiration along with instruction. They teach with heart and soul. By giving the best of themselves, they encourage students to give their best in return; and

WHEREAS, Local teacher associations, educational organizations and school faculties nominate candidates for the awards. A committee representing educational organizations from across Kansas selected the 2012 winners; Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we offer our heartfelt thanks to these extraordinary educators – these men and women who face so many challenges in the classroom each day, yet persevere, choosing the satisfaction of doing their best and overcoming the frustrations inherent in their jobs; that we congratulate and commend the seven 2012 Kansas Master Teachers for demonstrating excellence in their profession and devotion to the children of Kansas and extend our best wishes for their continued success and happiness; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send seven enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Longbine for presentation to the 2012 Kansas Master Teachers who are present in the Senate Chamber today.

Senate Resolution No. 1835 was sponsored by Senators Longbine, Brungardt, Francisco, Love, Masterson, Merrick and Reitz.

| hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body |                          |
|-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|--------------------------|
|                                                                                                 |                          |
|                                                                                                 |                          |
|                                                                                                 | President of the Senate. |
|                                                                                                 |                          |
|                                                                                                 | Secretary of the Senate  |