SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1857

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending Sheriff David Zoellner.

WHEREAS, After 45 years in law enforcement, Sheriff David Zoellner will be retiring from the Leavenworth County Sheriff's office; and

WHEREAS, Sheriff Zoellner's interest in law enforcement began after he graduated from high school, but he had to wait until he was 21 years old to pursue that dream; and

WHEREAS, Sheriff Zoellner began his career in 1968 when he was hired by the Leavenworth police department as a patrolman. Ten months later he was hired by the Leavenworth county sheriff's office; and

WHEREAS, He graduated from basic training in May 1969 and began his career in the Leavenworth county sheriff's office as a road deputy; and

WHEREAS, Before becoming sheriff in Leavenworth county, Sheriff Zoellner worked his way up the ranks serving as a sergeant, lieutenant, captain and major. He was elected sheriff in 2004 and reelected in 2008; and

WHEREAS, Throughout his career, Sheriff Zoellner has been recognized for his outstanding work in law enforcement. Among his accolades are the 1972 merit award for arrest from the American federation of police, commendation for professional performance of duty in 1976 and Leavenworth county officer of the year in 2001; and

WHEREAS, Sheriff Zoellner looks forward to his retirement and spending more time with his family, including Janice, his wife of 41 years, their two children, their grandson and their grandchild on the way: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend Sheriff David Zoellner on his many years of service to Leavenworth county and the state of Kansas. We extend our best wishes for continued success and happiness; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send two enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Kultala.

Senate Resolution No. 1857 was sponsored by Senators Kelly Kultala and Tom Holland.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body

	-	
		President of the Senate.
		Secretary of the Senate.