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40-22a04. Same; standards; rules and regulations; certificate; conditions; annual fee; suspension

or revocation of certificate. (a) The commissioner shall adopt rules and regulations, with the advice of the
advisory committee created by K.S.A. 40-22a05, establishing standards governing the conduct of utilization review
activities performed in this state or affecting residents of this state by utilization review organizations. Unless
granted an exemption under K.S.A. 40-22a06, no utilization review organization may conduct utilization review
services in this state or affecting residents of this state on or after May 1, 1995, without first obtaining a certificate
from the commissioner.

(b) The commissioner shall not issue a certificate to a utilization review organization until the applicant:
(1) Files a formal application for certification in such form and detail as required by the commissioner and

such application has been executed under oath by the chief executive officer of the applicant;
(2) files with the commissioner a certified copy of its charter or articles of incorporation and bylaws, if any;
(3) states the location of the office or offices of the utilization review organization where utilization review

affecting residents or health care providers of this state will be principally performed;
(4) provides a summary of the qualifications and experience of persons performing utilization review affecting

the persons and at the locations identified pursuant to paragraph (3);
(5) makes payment of a certification fee of $100 to the commission; and
(6) provides such other information or documentation as the commissioner requires.
(c)  Certificates issued by the commissioner pursuant to this act shall remain effective until suspended,

surrendered or revoked subject to payment of an annual continuation fee of $50.
(d) The commissioner with the advice of the advisory committee may suspend or revoke the certificate or any

exemption from certification requirements upon determination that the interests of Kansas insureds are not being
properly served under such certificate or exemption. Any such action shall be taken only after a hearing conducted
in accordance with the provisions of the Kansas administrative procedure act.

History: L. 1994, ch. 238, § 4; July 1.


