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59-104.  Docket fee; authorized only by legislative enactment; poverty affidavit; additional court
costs. (a) Docket fee. (1) Except as otherwise provided by law, no case shall be filed or docketed in the district
court under the provisions of chapter 59 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and amendments thereto, or of articles
40 and 52 of chapter 65 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and amendments thereto, without payment of an
appropriate docket fee as follows:
(A) On and after July 1, 2009 through June 30, 2013:
Treatment of mentally ill     $59.00
Treatment of alcoholism or drug abuse     36.50
Determination of descent of property     51.50
Termination of life estate     50.50
Termination of joint tenancy     50.50
Refusal to grant letters of administration     50.50
Adoption     50.50
Filing a will and affidavit under K.S.A. 59-618a     50.50
Guardianship     71.50
Conservatorship     71.50
Trusteeship     71.50
Combined guardianship and conservatorship     71.50
Certified probate proceedings under K.S.A. 59-213,and amendments thereto     25.50
Decrees in probate from another state     110.50
Probate of an estate or of a will     111.50
Civil commitment under K.S.A. 59-29a01 et seq.     35.50
(B) On and after July 1, 2013:
Treatment of mentally ill     34.50
Treatment of alcoholism or drug abuse     34.50
Determination of descent of property     49.50
Termination of life estate     48.50
Termination of joint tenancy     48.50
Refusal to grant letters of administration     48.50
Adoption     48.50
Filing a will and affidavit under K.S.A. 59-618a     48.50
Guardianship     69.50
Conservatorship     69.50
Trusteeship     69.50
Combined guardianship and conservatorship     69.50
Certified probate proceedings under K.S.A. 59-213,and amendments thereto     23.50
Decrees in probate from another state     108.50
Probate of an estate or of a will     109.50
Civil commitment under K.S.A. 59-29a01 et seq.     33.50
(2) Except as provided further, the docket fee established in this section shall be the only fee collected or moneys
in the nature of a fee collected for the docket fee. Such fee shall only be established by an act of the legislature
and no other authority is established by law or otherwise to collect a fee. On and after the effective date of this act
through June 30, 2013, the supreme court may impose an additional charge, not to exceed $22 per docket fee, to
fund the costs of non-judicial personnel.
(b) Poverty affidavit in lieu of docket fee and exemptions. The provisions of subsection (b) of K.S.A. 60-2001 and
K.S.A. 60-2005, and amendments thereto, shall apply to probate docket fees prescribed by this section.
(c) Disposition of docket fee. Statutory charges for the law library and for the prosecuting attorneys' training fund
shall be paid from the docket fee. The remainder of the docket fee shall be paid to the state treasurer in
accordance with K.S.A. 20-362, and amendments thereto.
(d) Additional court costs. Other fees and expenses to be assessed as additional court costs shall be approved by
the court, unless specifically fixed by statute. Other fees shall include, but not be limited to, witness fees, appraiser
fees, fees for service of process outside the state, fees for depositions, transcripts and publication of legal notice,
executor or administrator fees, attorney fees, court costs from other courts and any other fees and expenses
required by statute. All additional court costs shall be taxed and billed against the parties or estate as directed by
the court. No sheriff in this state shall charge any district court in this state a fee or mileage for serving any paper
or process.
History: L. 1984, ch. 147, § 1; L. 1992, ch. 128, § 11; L. 1993, ch. 193, § 1; L. 1995, ch. 193, § 13; L. 1996, ch. 234, §
13; L. 2003, ch. 101, § 10; L. 2004, ch. 95, § 3; L. 2006, ch. 195, § 15; L. 2007, ch. 195, § 29; L. 2008, ch. 95, § 11; L.
2009, ch. 116, § 19; L. 2009, ch. 143, § 18; L. 2010, ch. 62, § 13; L. 2011, ch. 87, § 13; L. 2012, ch. 66, § 15; Apr. 12.
Revisor's Note:

Section was amended three times in the 2006 session, see also 59-104a.
Amendment by L. 2006, ch. 210, § 18, effective July 1, 2007, was repealed by L. 2007, ch. 195, § 59.
Section was also amended by L. 2009, ch. 82, § 4, but that version was repealed by L. 2009, ch. 143, § 37.


