2012 Kansas Statutes

65-28a03. List of names; renewal of license; canceled licenses; inactive licenses; reinstatement
of license; federally active licenses; fees; rules and regulations. (a) As a condition of engaging in active
practice as a physician assistant, each licensed physician assistant shall file a request to engage in active practice
signed by the physician assistant and the physician who will be responsible for the physician assistant. The request
shall contain such information as required by rules and regulations adopted by the board. The board shall maintain
a list of the names of physician assistants who may engage in active practice in this state.

(b) All licenses, except temporary licenses, shall expire on the date of expiration established by rules and
regulations of the state board of healing arts and may be renewed as required by the board. The request for
renewal shall be on a form provided by the state board of healing arts and shall be accompanied by the renewal fee
established pursuant to this section, which shall be paid not later than the expiration date of the license.

(c) At least 30 days before the expiration of the license of a physician assistant, except a temporary license,
the state board of healing arts shall notify the licensee of the expiration by mail addressed to the licensee's last
mailing address as noted upon the office records of the board. If the licensee fails to pay the renewal fee by the
date of expiration of the license, the licensee shall be given a second notice that the licensee's license has expired
and the license may be renewed only if the renewal fee and the late renewal fee are received by the state board of
healing arts within the 30-day period following the date of expiration and that, if both fees are not received within
the 30-day period, the license shall be deemed canceled by operation of law without further proceedings for failure
to renew and shall be reissued only after the license has been reinstated under subsection (d).

(d) Any license canceled for failure to renew as herein provided may be reinstated upon recommendation of
the state board of healing arts and upon payment of the reinstatement fee and upon submitting evidence of
satisfactory completion of any applicable continuing education requirements established by the board. The board
shall adopt rules and regulations establishing appropriate continuing education requirements for reinstatement of
licenses canceled for failure to renew.

(e) There is hereby created the designation of inactive license. The board is authorized to issue an inactive
license to any licensee who makes written application for such license on a form provided by the board and remits
the fee for an inactive license established pursuant to subsection (g) of this section. The board may issue an
inactive license only to a person who meets all the requirements for a license to practice as a physician assistant
and who does not engage in active practice as a physician assistant in the state of Kansas. An inactive license shall
not entitle the holder to engage in active practice. The provisions of subsections (c) and (d) of this section relating
to expiration, renewal and reinstatement of a license shall be applicable to an inactive license issued under this
subsection. Each inactive licensee may apply to engage in active practice by presenting a request required by
subsection (a). The request shall be accompanied by the fee established pursuant to subsection (g).

(f) There is hereby created a designation of federally active license. The board is authorized to issue a
federally active license to any licensee who makes a written application for such license on a form provided by the
board and remits the same fee required for a license established under subsection (g). The board may issue a
federally active license only to a person who meets all the requirements for a license to practice as a physician
assistant and who practices as a physician assistant solely in the course of employment or active duty in the
United States government or any of its departments, bureaus or agencies. The provisions of subsections (c) and (d)
relating to expiration, renewal and reinstatement of a license shall be applicable to a federally active license
issued under this subsection. Each federally active licensee may apply to engage in active practice by presenting a
request required by subsection (a) of this section.

(g) The following fees shall be fixed by rules and regulations adopted by the state board of healing arts and
shall be collected by the board:

(1) For any license as a physician assistant, the sum of not more than $200;

(2) for temporary licensure as a physician assistant, the sum of not more than $30;

(3) forthe renewal of a license to practice as a physician assistant or a federally active license, the sum of not
more than $150;

(4) forrenewal of an inactive license, the sum of not more than $150;

(5) forthe late renewal of any license as a physician assistant, the sum of not more than $250;

(6) forreinstatement of a license canceled for failure to renew, the sum of not more than $250;

(7) for a certified statement from the board that a physician assistant is licensed in this state, the sum of not
more than $30;

(8) fora copy of the licensure certificate of a physician assistant, the sum of not more than $25; and

(9) for conversion of an inactive license to a license to actively practice as a physician assistant or a federally
active license, the sum of not more than $150.

(h) The state board of healing arts shall remit all moneys received by or for the board under the provisions of
this act to the state treasurer and such money shall be deposited in the state treasury, credited to the state general
fund and the healing arts fee fund and expended all in accordance with K.S.A. 65-2855, and amendments thereto.

(i) The board may promulgate all necessary rules and regulations for carrying out the provisions of this act.

History: L. 2000, ch. 162, § 3; L. 2004, ch. 117, § 17; July 1.



