2012 Kansas Statutes

65-3446. Administrative penalties; procedure; hearing; judicial review. (a) The secretary of the
department of health and environment or the director of the division of environment, if designated by the
secretary, upon a finding that a person has violated any provision of K.S.A. 65-3441, and amendments thereto, may
impose a penalty not to exceed $10,000 which shall constitute an actual and substantial economic deterrent to the
violation for which it is assessed and, in the case of a continuing violation, every day such violation continues shall
be deemed a separate violation.

(b) No penalty shall be imposed pursuant to this section except after notice of violation and opportunity for
hearing upon the written order of the secretary or the director of the division of environment, if designated by the
secretary, to the person who committed the violation. The order shall state the violation, the penalty to be
imposed and, in the case of an order of the director of the division of environment, the right to appeal to the
secretary for a hearing thereon. Any person may appeal an order of the director of the division of environment by
making a written request to the secretary for a hearing within 15 days of service of such order. The secretary shall
hear the person within 30 days after receipt of such request, unless such time period is waived or extended by
written consent of all parties or by a showing of good cause. Hearings under this subsection shall be conducted in
accordance with the provisions of the Kansas administrative procedure act.

(c) Any action of the secretary pursuant to this section is subject to review in accordance with the Kansas
judicial review act.

History: L. 1981, ch. 251, § 18; L. 1984, ch. 240, § 14; L. 1986, ch. 318, § 105; L. 1988, ch. 356, § 209; L. 2010,
ch. 17, § 149; July 1.



