2012 Kansas Statutes

74-2438. Appeals to state court; notice and hearing; interest tolled, when; procedure. An appeal
may be taken to the state court of tax appeals from any finding, ruling, order, decision, final determination or other
final action, including action relating to abatement or reduction of penalty and interest, on any case of the
secretary of revenue or the secretary's designee by any person aggrieved thereby. Notice of such appeal shall be
filed with the secretary of the court within 30 days after such finding, ruling, order, decision, final determination or
other action on a case, and a copy served upon the secretary of revenue or the secretary's designee. An appeal
may also be taken to the state court of tax appeals at any time when no final determination has been made by the
secretary of revenue or the secretary's designee after 270 days has passed since the date of the request for
informal conference pursuant to K.S.A. 79-3226, and amendments thereto, and no written agreement by the parties
to further extend the time for making such final determination is in effect. Upon receipt of a timely appeal, the
court shall conduct a hearing in accordance with the provisions of the Kansas administrative procedure act. The
hearing before the court shall be a de novo hearing unless the parties agree to submit the case on the record made
before the secretary of revenue or the secretary's designee. With regard to any matter properly submitted to the
court relating to the determination of valuation of residential property or real property used for commercial and
industrial purposes for taxation purposes, it shall be the duty of the county or district appraiser to initiate the
production of evidence to demonstrate, by a preponderance of the evidence, the validity and correctness of such
determination, except that no such duty shall accrue with regard to leased commercial and industrial property
unless the property owner has furnished to the county or district appraiser a complete income and expense
statement for the property for the three years next preceding the year of appeal. No presumption shall exist in
favor of the county or district appraiser with respect to the validity and correctness of such determination. No
interest shall accrue on the amount of the assessment of tax subject to any such appeal beyond 120 days after the
date the matter was fully submitted, except that, if a final order is issued within such time period, interest shall
continue to accrue until such time as the tax liability is fully satisfied, and if a final order is issued beyond such
time period, interest shall recommence to accrue from the date of such order until such time as the tax liability is
fully satisfied.

History: L. 1957, ch. 429, § 11; L. 1963, ch. 404, § 1; L. 1972, ch. 342, § 80; L. 1987, ch. 293, § 1; L. 1988, ch.
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