2012 Kansas Statutes

74-8812. Eligibility of horses and greyhounds; registration of stable, kennel or other owner. (a)
Horses shall not compete in any race meeting before reaching the age of two years. A horse's age shall be
determined beginning on the first day of January in the year in which the horse is foaled.

(b) Greyhounds shall not compete in any race meeting before reaching the age of 15 months.

(c) No horse shall compete in any race limited to Kansas-bred horses unless such horse is registered pursuant
to K.S.A. 74-8830. The commission may prescribe such forms as necessary to determine the eligibility of horses
entered in such a race.

(d) No horse or greyhound owned by a stable, kennel or other entity shall compete in any race meeting unless
the name of the stable, kennel or entity is registered upon forms prescribed and furnished by the commission and
the appropriate registration fee paid. The commission shall establish the amount of such registration fees, but no
such fee shall exceed $200 a year.

History: L. 1987, ch. 112, § 12; L. 1992, ch. 286, § 4; July 1.



