February 4, 2013

Chairman Garrett Love and other members of the Kansas State Senate Agricultural Committee:

Honorable Senators:

Here we are today to talk about SB 57. One year ago we were here to talk about SB 414. SB 414 made a lot of changes. They got all they wanted except for one. Here we are again this year with SB 57, and they want a lot more changes.

Some of the key issues regarding the animal facility inspection program:

How many licensees are there in each category at this time compared with 3, 5, or 10 years ago? I believe the number of licensees has declined significantly.

What is the fee income per category today compared with 3, 5, or 10 years ago?

Have expenses for the program also declined as the number of licensees and fee income has declined?

Is the answer simply to increase fees?

What is responsible for the high cost of the program?

How much of the expense of the program goes to inspecting unlicensed locations?

How much of the expense of the program actually goes towards inspecting licensed facilities?

Is it legal for fees paid by licensees to be spent on other uses than those legitimately related to inspecting the licensed facilities? (By law, fees must be related to the purpose for which they are collected, otherwise they are a tax, not a fee.)

How many unlicensed facilities were inspected last year; how much staff time and funding was spent on those; and how many animals were seized and how many were euthanized?

What is behind the seizures at these locations? Is it because the law requires everyone with more than 19 dogs and/or cats to have a license?

It seems there are quite a few people who have 20 or more dogs and/or cats as pets. They do not fit a category in the law - They are not breeders, and they are not shelters. Their facilities don't meet the requirements of those categories. So they go unlicensed and are subject to fines, seizures, their animals being euthanized.

Should the law be changed so that such cases are not a large financial drain on the program? Should they be dealt with at the local level? Should there be a category for these people so that they can pay a reasonable fee and be licensed without having to meet the requirements of breeder or shelter facilities?

Our pet animals raised in Kansas are the only commodity that I am aware of that we charge outside businesses a fee to come into our state and purchase.

In SB 57, pg 5, lines 27 through 29 should **NOT** be changed. That is what the Senate Agricultural Committee decided last year.

Also pg 10, lines 22 through 28 shoud <u>NOT</u> be changed. At present Kansas regulations follow USDA regulations for USDA licensed facilities. No need for two sets for regulations.

SB 57 is a bad bill that needs to be killed. We need time to review and seriously consider the advice of the Kansas Pet Animal Advisory board.

Sam Mosshart 2332 CR 31 Protection, KS 67127 Phone (620) 635-6512 USDA License 48-B-0303 Professional Organization Memberships: Kansas Federation of Animal Owners – President Kansas Pet Professionals Missouri Pet Breeders Association Oklahoma Pet Professionals