## REPORTS OF STANDING COMMITTEES

## MADAM PRESIDENT:

The Committee on **Judiciary** recommends **HB 2209**, as amended by House Committee, be amended on page 6, following line 17, by inserting:

"Sec. 2. K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 22-4903 is hereby amended to read as follows: 22-4903. (a) Violation of the Kansas offender registration act is the failure by an offender, as defined in K.S.A. 22-4902, and amendments thereto, to comply with any and all provisions of such act, including any and all duties set forth in K.S.A. 22-4905 through 22-4907, and amendments thereto. Any violation of the Kansas offender registration act which continues for more than 30 consecutive days shall, upon the 31<sup>st</sup> consecutive day, constitute a new and separate offense, and shall continue to constitute a new and separate offense every 30 days thereafter for as long as the violation continues.

(b) Aggravated violation of the Kansas offender registration act is violation of the Kansas offender registration act which continues for more than 180 consecutive days. Any aggravated violation of the Kansas offender registration act which continues for more than 180 consecutive days shall, upon the 181<sup>st</sup> consecutive day, constitute a new and separate offense, and shall continue to constitute a new and separate violation of the Kansas offender registration act every 30 days thereafter, or a new and separate aggravated violation of the Kansas offender registration act every 180 days thereafter, for as long as the violation continues.

(c) (1) <u>Except as provided in subsection (c)(3)</u>, violation of the Kansas offender registration act is:

(A) Upon a first conviction, a severity level 6, person felony;

(B) upon a second conviction, a severity level 5, person felony; and

(C) upon a third or subsequent conviction, a severity level 3, person felony.

(2) <u>Except as provided in subsection (c)(3)</u>, aggravated violation of the Kansas offender registration act is a severity level 3, person felony.

(3) Violation of the Kansas offender registration act or aggravated violation of the Kansas offender registration act consisting only of failing to remit payment to the sheriff's office as required in subsection (k) of K.S.A. 22-4905, and amendments thereto, is:

(A) Except as provided in subsection (c)(3)(B), a class A misdemeanor if, within 15 days of registration, full payment is not remitted to the sheriff's office;

(B) a severity level 9, person felony if, within 15 days of the most recent registration, two or more full payments have not been remitted to the sheriff's office.

(d) Prosecution of violations of this section may be held:

(1) In any county in which the offender resides;

(2) in any county in which the offender is required to be registered under the Kansas offender registration act;

(3) in any county in which the offender is located during which time the offender is not in compliance with the Kansas offender registration act; or

(4) in the county in which any conviction or adjudication occurred for which the offender is required to be registered under the Kansas offender registration act.";

On page 9, in line 6, by striking ". Failure"; by striking all in lines 7 and 8; in line 9, by striking "and amendments thereto";

On page 11, in line 21, after "report" by inserting "to the registering law enforcement agency"; in line 39, after "sent" by inserting ", within three business days,"; in line 40, after "school" by inserting ", and to the Kansas bureau of investigation";

On page 12, in line 37, by striking "during"; by striking all in line 38; in line 39, by striking "occurring before and after the month of the offender's birthday" and inserting "as part of the reporting process required pursuant to subsection (b)"; in line 41, after "school." by inserting "Registration will be completed regardless of whether or not the offender remits payment. Failure of the offender to remit full payment within 15 days of registration is a violation of the Kansas offender registration act and is subject to prosecution pursuant to K.S.A. 22-4903, and amendments thereto.";

And by renumbering sections accordingly;

On page 21, in line 11, after "22-4902," by inserting "22-4903,";

On page 1, in the title, in line 2, after "22-4902," by inserting "22-4903,"; and the bill be passed as amended.

Chairperson