## HOUSE RESOLUTION No. 6064

A RESOLUTION congratulating Campus High School, Chapman High School, Mission Trail Elementary School, Oswego Neosho Heights Elementary School and West Franklin High School on receiving 2013 Blue Ribbon awards from the U.S. Department of Education.

WHEREAS, The U.S. Department of Education's Blue Ribbon program honors exemplary elementary and secondary schools and sets a standard of excellence for all schools striving for the highest level of achievement; and

WHEREAS, The Blue Ribbon program has been honoring schools since 1982, and only 286 schools, including five Kansas schools, received this prestigious award in 2013; and

WHEREAS, Campus High School, Haysville USD 261, in Wichita, Kansas, was named an Exemplary Improving School. Campus High School is a newly authorized International Baccalaureate School, which is open to any student who is willing to take on the challenge of a rigorous curriculum; and

WHEREAS, Campus High School believes that all students can be successful in high school, and it expects all students to have fundamental academic skills mastered by the time they graduate. As its assessment scores increased, the graduation rate also rose to 89.6%; and

WHEREAS, Chapman High School, Chapman USD 473, in Chapman, Kansas, was named an Exemplary High Performing School. Working with local businesses, students at Chapman High School can choose from nine different career pathways that give them real life experiences; and

WHEREAS, Chapman High School developed a tutoring program, created a multi-tiered system of support for math and maintains consistent contact with parents, all of which has led to the school's high academic success. Chapman is a two-time recipient of the Governor's Achievement Award, which recognizes the top five percent of math and reading scores in the state; and

WHEREAS, Mission Trail Elementary School, Blue Valley USD 423, in Leawood, Kansas, was named an Exemplary High Performing School. Mission Trail Elementary is a school where the learning environment has been developed through relationships, dedication, collaboration and flexibility; and

WHEREAS, Mission Trail Elementary School has a dedicated staff and is committed to being a school where every student is expected to excel, and every adult is expected to inspire, encourage and facilitate the learning of every child; and

WHEREAS, Oswego Neosho Heights Elementary School, Oswego USD 504, in Oswego, Kansas, was named an Exemplary High Performing School. Establishing positive relationships with students is the school's primary focus. Teachers instill a love of learning through more than just a textbook. Students are encouraged to be creative thinkers and active participants in their education; and

WHEREAS, Oswego Neosho Heights Elementary School is a school where older students can be seen offering a helping hand in the hallway, showing younger students proper procedures, and providing encouragement to those first learning to read. Younger students cheer on older students when they are preparing for state assessments; and

WHEREAS, West Franklin High School, West Franklin USD 287, in Pomona, Kansas, was named an Exemplary Improving School. A blended curriculum of traditional high school courses, career and technical education classes and course work resulting in college credit are available to the students at West Franklin High School. Nearly 65% of the student body is involved in career and technical education classes in addition to extra-curricular activities; and

WHEREAS, The students at West Franklin High School have maintained significant gains in the core areas of reading, math and science over the past six years. In 2012, 97% of its students were proficient in reading and 98% in math. West Franklin High School has been recognized by the Kansas Public Education Task Force for closing the achievement gap among its at-risk students: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the House of Representatives of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate Campus High School, Chapman High School, Mission Trail Elementary School, Oswego Neosho Heights Elementary School and West Franklin High School on receiving 2013 Blue Ribbon awards from the U.S. Department of Education and being Kansas' five highest performing schools.

House Resolution No. 6064 was sponsored by Representatives Joe Edwards, John Barker, Blaine Finch and Richard Proehl.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the House, and was adopted by that body

Chief Clerk of the	e House.

Speaker of the House.