SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1731

A Resolution congratulating and commending the 2013 Kansas Master Teachers.

WHEREAS, Seven of the state's best teachers have been selected as Kansas Master Teachers for 2013. These seven outstanding educators will be honored on Wednesday, April 3, with a day of receptions, seminars and tours at the sponsoring institution, Emporia State University; and

WHEREAS, The 2013 Kansas Master Teachers are Juliann Bliese, a first-grade teacher at Ravenwood Elementary School in Olathe; Michelle Lynn Bogner, a first-grade teacher at Northwest Elementary School in Dodge City; Kathleen Bowen, a gifted education facilitator at Hillcrest and Sunset Hill Elementary Schools in Lawrence; Kacie Evans, an English/language arts teacher at Prairie Heights Middle School and technology coordinator for Prairie Heights Elementary and Middle Schools in Alta Vista; Kelley Norman, a math instructional coach at Chase and Robinson Middle Schools in Topeka; Michele Anne Palmgren, a family and consumer sciences teacher at Salina South High School in Salina; and Tara Walrod, a school counselor at Sunrise Point Elementary School in Overland Park; and

WHEREAS, Emporia State University established the Kansas Master Teacher Awards in 1954. The awards are presented annually to teachers who have served the profession long and well and who also exemplify the outstanding qualities of earnest and conscientious teachers; and

WHEREAS, Since 1980, Bank of America has pledged more than \$100,000 to permanently endow the Kansas Master Teacher Awards. In 1984, the Black family of Broken Bow, Oklahoma, established an endowed chair for Kansas Master Teachers. The fund provides a stipend to bring two Master Teachers to Emporia State University for part of a semester. During this time, the teachers present to classes of education students: and

WHEREAS, The members of the Kansas Senate recognize the invaluable contribution of great teachers such as those being honored here today. These 2013 Kansas Master Teachers serve as mentors and role models and lay the groundwork for the best educators of tomorrow. They go above and beyond what is expected and offer inspiration along with instruction. They teach with heart and soul. By giving the best of themselves, they encourage students to give their best in return; and

WHEREAS, Local teacher associations, educational organizations and school faculties nominate candidates for the awards. A committee representing educational organizations from across Kansas selected the 2013 winners: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we offer our heartfelt thanks to these extraordinary educators – these teachers who face so many challenges in the classroom each day, yet persevere, choosing the satisfaction of doing their best and overcoming the frustrations inherent in their jobs; that we congratulate and commend the seven 2013 Kansas Master Teachers for demonstrating excellence in their profession and devotion to the children of Kansas and extend our best wishes for their continued success and happiness; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall provide two enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Longbine, one enrolled copy of this resolution to Senator Arpke, one enrolled copy of this resolution to Senator Hensley, one enrolled copy of this resolution to Senator Holland, one enrolled copy of this resolution to Senator Love, two enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Lynn, and five enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Melcher.

Senate Resolution No. 1731 was sponsored by Senators Longbine, Arpke, Hensley, Holland, Love, Lynn and Melcher.

nereby certify that the al	ove Resolution originate	d in the Senate, and was adopted by that body
		President of the Senate.
		Santa and Call Santa
		Secretary of the Senat