## **SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1755**

## A RESOLUTION congratulating Emporia State University's debate team of Ryan Wash and Elijah Smith on winning the National Debate Tournament and the Cross Examination Debate Association national tournament.

WHEREAS, Emporia State University Debate Team Ryan Wash and Elijah Smith won the National Debate Tournament (NDT) defeating a team from Northwestern University; and

WHEREAS, The debate program at Emporia State University began in 1881 as the Alpha Society at Kansas State Normal School; and

WHEREAS, The program has grown from interstate competition with teams in the Midwest to national competition against teams from universities and colleges of all sizes; and

WHEREAS, The team was led by Coach Sam Mauer; and

WHEREAS, This win comes just a week after Smith and Wash won the Cross Examination Debate Association (CEDA) national tournament; and

WHEREAS, Emporia State University is the first program to have a team win both titles in the same season; and

WHEREAS, The CEDA crowns the popular national champion, and this is a tournament that is open to all teams that want to compete. The NDT requires teams to qualify to participate in the tournament; and

WHEREAS, Smith and Wash are also the first black team to win the NDT title. Their final round took more than two hours: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate Ryan Wash and Elijah Smith on winning both the National Debate Tournament and the Cross Examination Debate Association national tournament. The Emporia State University community and the entire State of Kansas can be proud of their accomplishments, and we wish them future success; and

*Be it further resolved:* That the Secretary of the Senate be directed to provide five enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Longbine.

Senate Resolution No. 1755 was sponsored by Senator Jeff Longbine.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.