SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1774

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the members of the 2014 Kansas Teacher of the Year team.

WHEREAS, The Kansas state department of education sponsors the Kansas Teacher of the Year program which identifies, recognizes and utilizes representatives of excellent teaching in the elementary and secondary classrooms of the state. The mission of the program is to build and utilize a network of exemplary teachers who are leaders in the improvement of schools, student performance and the teaching profession; and

WHEREAS, Two teachers – one elementary and one secondary – in each of the state's four United States congressional districts were selected as finalists for recognition as Kansas Teacher of the Year; the Kansas Teacher of the Year being chosen from among the eight finalists. The Kansas Teacher of the Year is awarded the Hubbard Foundation Kansas Teacher of the Year Ambassadorship which enables the person selected to devote significant time during the second semester to activities to support the mission of the program. The 2014 Kansas Teacher of the Year and finalists were honored at an awards banquet on November 23, 2013. All members received a cash award as well as mementos of the events; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas Teacher of the Year is nominated to represent Kansas in the National Teacher of the Year program, a project of the Council of Chief State School Officers sponsored by Target in partnership with the ING Foundation, the University of Phoenix and People to People Ambassador Programs; and

WHEREAS, The 2014 Kansas Teacher of the Year is Jeff Baxter, Leavenworth USD 453, and the regional finalists are Jennifer M. Bailey, Valley Center USD 262; Marney Hay, Maize USD 266; Brandi Leggett, De Soto USD 232; Mary Lonker, Wamego USD 320; Jenny M. Nash, Paola USD 368; Katie Perez, Hutchinson USD 308; and Jennifer R. Smith, Blue Valley USD 229: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the members of the 2014 Kansas Teacher of the Year team and wish Mr. Baxter success in the national competition; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send eight enrolled copies of this resolution to the Commissioner of Education for forwarding to the members of the 2014 Kansas Teacher of the Year team.

Senate Resolution No. 1774 was sponsored by Senators Steve E. Abrams and Steve Fitzgerald.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body

 Provident of the Country
President of the Senate.
Secretary of the Senate.