## **SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1813**

A RESOLUTION congratulating the Olathe Northwest High School Dance Team on winning its third consecutive national title.

WHEREAS, On March 9, 2014, the Olathe Northwest Raven Dance Team won the National Dance Association National Dance Team Championship held in Orlando, Florida, for the third year in a row. They scored an all-time record high of 9.442 points at the competition, where 200 of the most talented dance teams from around the country competed; and

WHEREAS, The Raven Dance Team also received technical excellence, superior showmanship and innovative choreography trophies for the winning routine. Their first place finish allowed them to advance to the international competition, where they competed against teams from Japan; and

WHEREAS, The Raven Dance Team is made up of 20 varsity members and 21 junior varsity members. These dedicated and talented young dancers strive to represent Olathe Northwest High School in a positive and spirited manner; and

WHEREAS, The varsity team, formed in the fall of 2005, is a three-time National Championship winner for their team performance, ranked third in the nation for their jazz routine and fifth internationally for their team performance; and

WHEREAS, Varsity team members perform at all home football games, numerous boys' and girls' basketball games, pep assemblies, the Old Settlers Day Parade, the Olathe North vs. Olathe Northwest boys' soccer game, as well as occasional special guest appearances; and

WHEREAS, During the school year, the varsity team practices five days a week, up to two hours per day, to prepare for games and other performances. During football season, the team doubles as a color guard, performing at halftime with the band. In addition to being recognized for their tremendous dance ability, they have also received top scores and won awards for their work as an auxiliary unit. Varsity members also dance on the sidelines during football games, performing short routines choreographed by the team officers. The team dances are choreographed by Head Coach Shannon Summers; and

WHEREAS, Each January, the varsity team competes in two regional competitions against other midwest high school dance teams in various categories, including jazz, hip hop, team performance, lyrical, novelty and pom. The National Competition is held in March, where the team competes against high schools from all over the United States; and

WHEREAS, Members of the varsity team include Team Captain Lexi Kaminsky, Brooke Allen, Hailey Bartels, Anna Brogden, Alyssa Cooper, Marissa Fields, Callie Fisher, Kate Gardner, Sarah Glass, Madison Hartquist, Brittney Hugunin, Natalie Hunt, Caitlin Meyer, Rachel Midyett, Alyssa Monson, Adrianna Morse, Erin O'Brien, Mallory Pittman, Lily Riederer and Jordan Rose; and

WHEREAS, The Raven Dance junior varsity team is the newest addition to the Raven Dance Team, which was formed in 2010. This award-winning team is currently ranked first regionally in hip hop, jazz and pom. These team members perform special guest routines at home football games, boys' and girls' home basketball games, pep assemblies and the Old Settlers Day Parade. During the school year, the team practices four days per week and approximately one to two hours per day. The junior varsity team also competes in two regional competitions each January; and

WHEREAS, In order to prepare for their regional and national competitions, the teams sacrifice some of their winter break and weekends for extra practice time. The team members work hard each year in order to maintain their tradition of success: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate the Olathe Northwest Raven Dance Team on winning its third consecutive national title, and we wish them continued tremendous success in the future; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send five enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Lynn.

Senate Resolution No. 1813 was sponsored by Senator Julia Lynn.  I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body	
	President of the Senate.
	Secretary of the Senate.