## **SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1832**

A RESOLUTION recognizing Kansan Frank Bellamy's authorship of the Pledge of Allegiance.

WHEREAS, The original 23 words of the Pledge of Allegiance were written by Frank Bellamy of Cherryvale, Kansas, who wrote the pledge as a school project at two different times; and

WHEREAS, The first time that Frank Bellamy wrote the pledge was in 1890 as a class assignment to express his thoughts when saluting the U.S. flag; and

WHEREAS, In a subsequent class assignment, Bellamy submitted his Pledge of Allegiance to Lillian Hendricks, patriotic director of the local Women's Relief Corps. Hendricks had asked Cherryvale high school principal Irene Beckley Powell for senior class members to write a patriotic paper; and

WHEREAS, In 1898, with the blessing of President William McKinley, the Women's Relief Corps hosted a contest to select the national pledge. While Bellamy was serving with the 20<sup>th</sup> National Guard Unit in the Philippines during the Spanish-American War, Hendricks remembered Bellamy's essay and submitted it. Bellamy's work was selected as the national Pledge of Allegiance. In 1899, Hendricks greeted Bellamy and his family at the railroad station as his unit was returning home with the good news; and

WHEREAS, Frank Bellamy passed away in 1915, in Denver, Colorado; and WHEREAS, Frank Bellamy was buried in an unmarked grave in Cherryvale, Kansas: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we recognize and celebrate Cherryvale, Kansas and Frank Bellamy's authorship of the Pledge of Allegiance; and

Be it further resolved: That we recognize and appreciate the dedication of Joyce Long of Cherryvale, Kansas, in increasing the awareness of Frank Bellamy's contribution to the United States; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send five enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator King.

Senate Resolution No. 1832 was sponsored by Senator Jeff King.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution or	iginated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body
	President of the Senate.
	Secretary of the Senate.