SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1839

A Resolution congratulating the Hesston High School girls' basketball team on winning the 2014 Class 3A State Basketball Championship.

WHEREAS, The Hesston High School girls' basketball team won the 2014 Class 3A State Basketball Championship with a 46-36 victory over Lyons High School. Hesston finished the season 25-1 with the only loss to Class 4A Division I runner-up Wamego; and

WHEREAS, The state championship is the first for the girls' basketball program after second place finishes in 1982 and 1985; and

WHEREAS, Hesston built a 12-point lead in the third quarter of the championship game, but Lyons rallied in the fourth quarter. Hesston made seven of eight free throws in the final two minutes to clinch the win. Hesston and Lyons are league rivals, playing a nearly duplicate game earlier in the season, with Hesston winning 43-35; and

WHEREAS, Matt Richardson is the head coach for the girls' basketball team. Coach Richardson's record over nine years is 161-48 and he was named Class 3A Coach of the Year: and

WHEREAS, The members of the 2013-2014 Hesston High School girls' basketball team are Ali Jost, Caylee Richardson, Megan Voth, Jessanna Nebel, Kylie Brenneman, Abi Decker, Hannah Weber, Taylor Valdez, Audrey Winslow, Katelyn Hageman, Kirsten Heibert, Hannah Schmitt, Liz Reimer, Cami Richardson, Lauren Clark and Kelsey Unruh; and

WHEREAS, Five members of the team were named all-league team members: Caylee Richardson, first team; Cami Richardson, second team; Kelsey Unruh, second team; Ali Jost, honorable mention; and Hannah Schmitt, honorable mention. Both Caylee and Cami Richardson were named 3A First Team All-State and Kelsey Unruh was named honorable mention 3A All-State: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate the Hesston High School girls' basketball team on its state championship title. These young women have worked hard throughout the season and this title is a testament to that hard work. We extend our best wishes for their continued success in the future; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send five enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator McGinn.

Senate Resolution No. 1839 was sponsored by Senator Carolyn McGinn.						
I hereby c body	ertify that t	he above Res	olution origi	nated in the S	Senate, and was	adopted by tha
				-		

Secretary of the Senate.

President of the Senate.