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MINUTES OF THE HOUSE TOURISM AND PARKS COMMITTEE

The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Becky Hutchins at 3:30 p.m. on March 15, 2004 in Room
241-N of the Capitol.

All members were present except:  Margaret Long - excused

Committee staff present:
Hank Avila, Legislative Research Department
Mary Torrence, Office of Revisor of Statutes
Lura Attig, Committee Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee:
Senator Mark Taddiken
Senator Phillip Journey
Chris Tymeson, Chief Legal Counsel, Kansas Department of Wildlife & Parks

Others attending:
See Attached List.

Hearing on: SB 363 - Hunter safety education for nonresidents; hunting by persons under 12 years
old.

Proponents:

Chris Tymeson, Chief Legal Counsel, Kansas Wildlife and Parks testified in favor of SB 363 (Attachment
1). There are two parts to this bill, the first would create a shortened course for nonresidents who are
coming to Kansas to hunt and would be strategically located and timed to coincide with the opening of
hunting seasons. Nearly every state has hunter education courses. The Department is proposing a four-
hour course in conjunction with an internet-based course. The second portion of the bill would remove
hunting minimum age restrictions in Kansas, in an attempt to increase participation. As written, the bill
would exempt persons less than twelve years of age from having hunting education but would require
them to hunt with an adult. They can take hunter education at age eleven thereby allowing them time to
get into a class before they became twelve. In today’s society, there are many competing interests, it is
hoped by allowing youth to participate without having to invest 14-16 hours, more will participate. This
Department realized that we had inadvertently struck the bow hunter education provision which we would
like this Committee to amend back in, requiring youths 15 and under to have bow hunter education prior
to hunting big game.

Committee questions followed.

Rep. Kauffman asked Chris Tymeson, you said twelve and under may hunt, does that mean my five-year-
old grandson could hunt without an adult? Chris Tymeson replied, he could currently come to hunter
education and go hunting on his own. This bill would require supervision of an adult without taking the
course. The course would however, need to be taken by the time they are twelve.

Rep. Merrick asked, regarding hunter education, what is the logic in a five-year-old who is not mature, yet
are old enough to carry a weapon and go hunting before they are twelve? Chris Tymeson replied that at
twelve they are physically and psychologically able take the information that is given at hunter education
and carry that on the rest of their life. What the Department wishes to encourage, are parents taking their
kids out for safe hunting. Removing the restriction on hunter education will get more kids involved going
hunting with their parents and get them excited enough to go to hunter education.

Rep. Hayzlett asked, ten and eleven year olds cannot hunt alone? Chris Tymeson replied, that is correct,
under the bill as it would be written. Currently they could hunt alone if they had gone through hunter
education, or even if they were ages five or six. Rep. Hayzlett asked, not even on your own property?
The reply was that you do not have to go through hunter education to hunt on your own property.

Rep. Morrison asked what has prompted this, have there been abnormal accidents or death? Chris
Tymeson replied that actually this group has very few injuries from hunting. It is a recruitment and
retention aspect. Get them interested in hunting and they will most likely be lifelong hunters.
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Chairman Hutchins said that it is her understanding that Kansas is seeing a decline in the number of kids
that are interested in hunting because of other interests. By letting them hunt at a younger age, without
the hunter education, we “get them hooked.” She brought the Committee’s attention to the fiscal note by
KDWP which states that there would be no net fiscal effect on bill passage. Additional revenues from the
nonresident education courses would be offset by the Department cost of the program.

Rep. Kauffman stated that parents are not even reliable when it comes to their school kids. It concerned
her that the parents would be responsible for their kids while hunting. Chris Tymeson replied that
hopefully when they are hunting with their parents, they will learn the consequences of improper safety.

Opponents: None.

Written: None.
Chairperson Hutchins closed the hearing on SB 363.

Hearing on: Sub SB 496 - Concerning criminal hunting and revocation of hunting licenses.
Proponents:

Senator Mark Taddiken spoke as a proponent of Sub. SB 496 (Attachment 2). This bill rose out of
constituent concerns about people who knowingly trespass while they are hunting. All too often
landowners or hunters arrive at a field to find that someone is or has been there hunting. The goal of this
bill is to encourage responsible hunting. Our method is to create a new crime called “intentional criminal
hunting.” The definitions of hunting does include fishing and fur harvesting. This would apply to
someone who is hunting in a posted area without permission or hunting in a non posted area and refuses to
leave when told to do so. Forty-eight hours of jail time or 100 hours of community service, is the same
penalty as a DUI conviction. An offender would lose their hunting license for up to six months for the
first conviction or diversion, up to one year for the second, up to five years for the third or subsequent.
The courts are to notify KDHE so they may restrict the hunting license of the defendant.

Committee questions followed.

Rep. Thull asked, regarding two to five hunters with dogs, would they be as required as anyone else to
have permission to be on the land? Chris Tymeson replied that currently if you were coyote hunting
you’d still need permission even to turn your dogs loose on someone’s property

Rep. Flaharty asked has the Sentencing Commission taken a look at this bill? Do they have any concerns
about jail or prison overcrowding? Rep. Thull answered that they had not contacted the Commission and
that it would not take space in prisons but in jails. If the jail is full there is the option of community
service.

Rep. Osborne asked Sen. Taddiken, in the pursuit of a wounded animal, would you be subject to
intentional criminal hunting? The Senator replied it stays the same as current law which gives you
permission to track that animal. The only difference under this provision is if you are on that land
tracking the animal and the landowner asks you to leave and you don’t, then you are criminal trespassing.
Rep. Osborne asked does present law say that you could continue tracking the animal. Chris Tymeson
replied, no, if the landowner asks a hunter to leave, he still must leave.

Senator Phillip Journey also spoke as a proponent of Sub. SB 496 (Attachment 3). The intention of the
bill is to enhance criminal penalties and create a new crime of intentional criminal hunting. The real
purpose is to send a message to hunters that they cannot hunt wherever they want. Landowners and law
enforcement officers will have a new tool to protect private property.

Chris Tymeson, Chief Legal Counsel, Kansas Department of Wildlife and Parks spoke as a proponent to
Sub. SB 496 (Attachment 4). This bill would make criminal hunting a class B misdemeanor and would
go into effect July 1, 2004. The Department cited 245 individuals for these types of violations in 2003.
Of the 245, 120 were found guilty or entered into a diversion agreement, 21 were dismissed, and 104 were
cited as warnings.

Committee questions followed.
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Rep. Kauffman asked what is the current penalty? Chris Tymeson replied it is a class C misdemeanor
with up to a $500 fine.

Rep. Hayzlett drew attention to the more than $101,000 fiscal note and asked if that would come from the
wildlife fee fund? Chris Tymeson said that was the previous version of the bill where there were
administrative hearing costs and the department would have to revoke licenses administratively, which
changed substantially in this new format. The fiscal note for the substitute is about $20,000 statewide for
court time. The fiscal note reflects the Department would lose about $3,400 annually, is that true under
the substitute bill? Chris, if you revoke hunting licenses there will be a reduction in income, so that
portion of the fiscal note is still somewhat valid. Sen. Journey replied, the most important aspect of this
bill is to create the registry so an offender cannot have five different diversion agreements in five different
counties.

Chairperson Hutchins clarified fiscal note items and closed the hearing on_Sub. SB 496.

The committee began deliberation on HB 363 - Hunter safety education for nonresidents; hunting by
persons under 12 years old.

Rep. Thull offered a balloon amendment (Attachment 5). Chairperson Hutchins asked what is the wish of
the committee: Rep. Thull made a motion to adopt the amendment, Rep. Osborne seconded the motion.
Chris Tymeson explained the balloon amendment. There are two parts to this balloon, the first being the
placement of mandatory bow hunter education youths prior to using a big game permit. The second came
as a constituent request to allow youths to go up to age 15 without having hunter education versus age 12,
and to allow 12 year olds who have been licensed to hunt on their own.

Committee questions followed.

Chairperson Hutchins asked Mr. Tymeson to clarify. He stated, up to 12, you would not need to have
hunter education, but hunt with an adult; 12-15 has two options, you can take hunter education and hunt
on your own or you could hunt without hunter education, but still with an adult.

Rep. Hayzlett asked Mr. Tymeson for a bow hunter what is the present rule? Chris Tymeson answered, a
13-14 year old has to have bow hunter education to hunt with archery equipment for big game.

Rep. Osborne asked if the Senate had seen this amendment. Chris Tymeson said he had discussed it with
the Senate Natural Resources Committee.

A vote was taken and the balloon was adopted.

Rep. Flaharty moved that the Committee approve SB 363 as amended, favorable for passage. Rep.
Schwab seconded the motion. Motion passed.

The Committee deliberated on Sub. SB 496 - Concerning criminal hunting and revocation of hunting
licenses.

Rep. Thull made a motion to pass Sub SB 496 favorably. Rep. Ruff seconded.
A vote was taken and the motion carried.

Announcements: On Wednesday, March 17, we will have a hearing on SB 364 - the reissuance of permits
to be awarded certain organizations, providing for reissuance of permits for certain military personnel,
wild turkey not big game. We will be deliberating on SB 334 - agritourism.

On March 4, 2004, Mr. David A. Church, P.E., Chief of Traffic Engineering, Kansas Department of
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Transportation, in a letter, addressed concemns posed by our Committee during our January 28, 2004
meeting. That document was distributed to Committee members (Attachment 6).

Meeting adjourned at 4:55 p.m.
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