CONFERENCE COMMITTEE REPORT

MADAM PRESIDENT and MR. SPEAKER: Your committee on conference on House amendments to **SB 113** submits the following report:

The Senate accedes to all House amendments to the bill, and your committee on conference further agrees to amend the bill, as printed with House Committee amendments, as follows:

On page 1, by striking all in lines 7 through 36;

By striking all on pages 2 through 4;

On page 5, by striking all in line 1; following line 1, by inserting:

"New Section 1. (a) A victim of the conduct of another that would constitute conduct prohibited by K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5426, and amendments thereto, human trafficking or aggravated human trafficking, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6422, and amendments thereto, commercial sexual exploitation of a child, may bring an action in an appropriate state court against the person or persons who engaged in such conduct if the victim suffered personal or psychological injury as a result of the conduct. Such victim may seek actual damages, exemplary or punitive damages, injunctive relief and any other appropriate relief.

- (b) In an action under this section, the court shall award a prevailing plaintiff the cost of the suit, including reasonable attorney fees. A victim who is awarded damages under this section shall be deemed to have sustained damages of at least \$150,000.
- (c) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, any action commenced under this section shall be filed within 10 years after the later of the date on which the victim:
 - (1) Was freed from the human trafficking situation; or
 - (2) attained 18 years of age.

- (d) At the victim's request, the attorney general may pursue cases on behalf of any Kansas victim under this section. All damages obtained shall go to the victim, and the attorney general may seek reasonable attorney fees and costs.
- (e) Any action brought under this section shall be subject to the provisions of K.S.A. 74-7312, and amendments thereto.
- (f) This section does not preclude any other remedy available to the victim under federal law or law of this state.
- Sec. 2. K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5501 is hereby amended to read as follows: 21-5501. The following definitions shall apply when the words and phrases defined are used in article 55 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6419 through—21-6421_21-6422, and amendments thereto, except when a particular context clearly requires a different meaning:
- (a) "Sexual intercourse" means any penetration of the female sex organ by a finger, the male sex organ or any object. Any penetration, however slight, is sufficient to constitute sexual intercourse. "Sexual intercourse" does not include penetration of the female sex organ by a finger or object in the course of the performance of:
 - (1) Generally recognized health care practices; or
- (2) a body cavity search conducted in accordance with K.S.A. 22-2520 through 22-2524, and amendments thereto.
- (b) "Sodomy" means oral contact or oral penetration of the female genitalia or oral contact of the male genitalia; anal penetration, however slight, of a male or female by any body part or object; or oral or anal copulation or sexual intercourse between a person and an animal.

"Sodomy" does not include penetration of the anal opening by a finger or object in the course of the performance of:

- (1) Generally recognized health care practices; or
- (2) a body cavity search conducted in accordance with K.S.A. 22-2520 through 22-2524, and amendments thereto.
- (c) "Spouse" means a lawful husband or wife, unless the couple is living apart in separate residences or either spouse has filed an action for annulment, separate maintenance or divorce or for relief under the protection from abuse act.
- (d) "Unlawful sexual act" means any rape, indecent liberties with a child, aggravated indecent liberties with a child, criminal sodomy, aggravated criminal sodomy, lewd and lascivious behavior, sexual battery or aggravated sexual battery, as defined in this code.
- Sec. 3. K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6328 is hereby amended to read as follows: 21-6328. As used in the Kansas racketeer influenced and corrupt organization act:
 - (a) "Beneficial interest" means:
- (1) The interest of a person as a beneficiary under any trust arrangement pursuant to which a trustee holds legal or record title to real property for the benefit of such person; or
- (2) the interest of a person under any other form of express fiduciary arrangement pursuant to which any other person holds legal or record title to real property for the benefit of such person.

The term "beneficial interest" does not include the interest of a stock holder in a corporation or the interest of a partner in either a general partnership or a limited partnership. A beneficial interest shall be deemed to be located where the real property owned by the trustee is

located.

- (b) "Covered person" means any person who:
- (1) Is a criminal street gang member or criminal street gang associate, as defined in K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6313, and amendments thereto;
- (2) has engaged in or is engaging in any conduct prohibited by K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5426, and amendments thereto, human trafficking or aggravated human trafficking, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6422, and amendments thereto, commercial sexual exploitation of a child; or
- (3) has engaged in or is engaging in any conduct prohibited by K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5703, and amendments thereto, unlawful manufacturing of controlled substances, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5705, and amendments thereto, unlawful cultivation or distribution of controlled substances.
- (c) "Documentary material" means any book, paper, document, writing, drawing, graph, chart, photograph, phonorecord, magnetic tape, computer printout, other data compilation from which information can be obtained or from which information can be translated into usable form, or other tangible item.
- (d) "Enterprise" means any individual, sole proprietorship, partnership, corporation, business trust, union chartered under the laws of this state, or other legal entity, or any unchartered union, association, or group of individuals associated in fact although not a legal entity; and it includes illicit as well as licit enterprises and governmental, as well as other, entities. A criminal street gang, as defined in K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6313, and amendments thereto, constitutes an enterprise.
 - (e) "Pattern of racketeering activity" means engaging in at least two incidents of

racketeering activity that have the same or similar intents, results, accomplices, victims or methods of commission or that otherwise are interrelated by distinguishing characteristics and are not isolated incidents, provided at least one of such incidents occurred after the effective date of this act and that the last of such incidents occurred within 5 years, excluding any period of imprisonment, after a prior incident of racketeering activity.

- (f) "Racketeering activity" means to commit, attempt to commit, conspire to commit or to solicit, coerce or intimidate another person to commit:
- (1) Any felony or misdemeanor violation of: The felony provisions of K.S.A. 8-1568, and amendments thereto, fleeing or attempting to elude a police officer; K.S.A. 9-508 et seq., and amendments thereto, Kansas money transmitter act; article 12a of chapter 17 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and amendments thereto, Kansas uniform securities act; K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5401, and amendments thereto, capital murder; K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5402, and amendments thereto, murder in the first degree; K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5403, and amendments thereto, murder in the second degree; K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5408, and amendments thereto, kidnapping or aggravated kidnapping; K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5412, and amendments thereto; K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5413, and amendments thereto; K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5414, and amendments thereto, domestic battery; K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5415, and amendments thereto, criminal threat or aggravated criminal threat; K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5420, and amendments thereto, robbery or aggravated robbery; K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5421, and amendments thereto, terrorism; K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5422, and amendments thereto, illegal use of weapons of mass destruction; K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5423, and amendments thereto; K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5426, and amendments thereto, human trafficking or aggravated human trafficking; K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-

5428, and amendments thereto, blackmail; K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5510, and amendments thereto, sexual exploitation of a child; K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5601, and amendments thereto, endangering a child or aggravated endangering a child; K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5602, and amendments thereto, abuse of a child; K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5603, and amendments thereto, contributing to a child's misconduct or deprivation; subsection (b) of K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5607(b), and amendments thereto, furnishing alcoholic beverages to a minor for illicit purposes; article 57 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and amendments thereto, crimes involving controlled substances; K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5801, and amendments thereto, theft; K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5803, and amendments thereto, criminal deprivation of property; K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5805, and amendments thereto; K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5807, and amendments thereto, burglary or aggravated burglary; K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5812, and amendments thereto, arson or aggravated arson; K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5813, and amendments thereto, criminal damage to property; K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5814, and amendments thereto, criminal use of an explosive; K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5818, and amendments thereto, tampering with a pipeline; K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5821, and amendments thereto, giving a worthless check; K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5823, and amendments thereto, forgery; K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5824, and amendments thereto, making false information; K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5825, and amendments thereto, counterfeiting; K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5826, and amendments thereto, destroying written instrument; K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5828, and amendments thereto, criminal use of a financial card; K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5838, and amendments thereto, conducting a pyramid promotional scheme; K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5839, and amendments thereto; K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5903, and amendments thereto, perjury; K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5904, and amendments thereto, interference with law enforcement; K.S.A.

2014 Supp. 21-5905, and amendments thereto, interference with the judicial process; K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5909, and amendments thereto, intimidation of a witness or victim or aggravated intimidation of a witness or victim; K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5912, and amendments thereto, aiding escape; K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5913, and amendments thereto, obstructing apprehension or prosecution; K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5918, and amendments thereto; K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6001, and amendments thereto, bribery; K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6002, and amendments thereto, official misconduct; K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6301, and amendments thereto, criminal use of weapons; K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6302, and amendments thereto, criminal carrying of a weapon; K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6303, and amendments thereto, criminal distribution of firearms to a felon; K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6304, and amendments thereto, criminal possession of a firearm by a convicted felon; K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6305, and amendments thereto, aggravated weapons violation by a convicted felon; K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6306, and amendments thereto, defacing identification marks of a firearm; K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6308, and amendments thereto, criminal discharge of a firearm; K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6310, and amendments thereto, unlawful endangerment; K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6312, and amendments thereto; K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6313 through 21-6316 21-6314 and 21-6315, and amendments thereto; K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6401, and amendments thereto, promoting obscenity or promoting obscenity to minors; K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6404, and amendments thereto, gambling; K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6405, and amendments thereto, illegal bingo operation; K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6406, and amendments thereto, commercial gambling; K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6407, and amendments thereto, dealing in gambling devices; K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6408, and amendments thereto; K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6409, and amendments thereto, installing communication facilities for gamblers; subsections (a) or (b) of K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6414(a) or (b), and amendments thereto, unlawful conduct of dog fighting or unlawful possession of dog fighting paraphernalia; subsections (a) or (b) of K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6417(a) or (b), and amendments thereto, unlawful conduct of cockfighting or unlawful possession of cockfighting paraphernalia; K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6419, and amendments thereto, selling sexual relations; K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6420, and amendments thereto, promoting the sale of sexual relations; K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6422, and amendments thereto, commercial sexual exploitation of a child; K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6501, and amendments thereto, extortion; K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6502, and amendments thereto, debt adjusting; K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6504, and amendments thereto, equity skimming; K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6506, and amendments thereto, commercial bribery; K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6507, and amendments thereto, sports bribery; K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6508, and amendments thereto, tampering with a sports contest; K.S.A. 39-720, and amendments thereto, social welfare service fraud; K.S.A. 40-2,118, and amendments thereto, fraudulent insurance acts; K.S.A. 41-101 et seq., and amendments thereto, Kansas liquor control act; K.S.A. 44-5,125, and amendments thereto, workers' compensation act; K.S.A. 65-1657, and amendments thereto, nonresident pharmacy registration; K.S.A. 65-3441, and amendments thereto, hazardous waste; K.S.A. 65-4167, and amendments thereto, trafficking in counterfeit drugs; article 88 of chapter 74 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and amendments thereto, Kansas parimutuel racing act; or K.S.A. 79-3321, and amendments thereto, Kansas cigarette and tobacco products act; or

- (2) any conduct defined as "racketeering activity" under 18 U.S.C. § 1961(1).
- (g) "Real property" means any real property or any interest in such real property, including, but not limited to, any lease of or mortgage upon such real property.

- (h) "Trustee" means:
- (1) Any person acting as trustee pursuant to a trust in which the trustee holds legal or record title to real property;
- (2) any person who holds legal or record title to real property in which any other person has a beneficial interest; or
 - (3) any successor trustee or trustees to any or all of the foregoing persons.

The term "trustee" does not include any person appointed or acting as a personal representative as defined in K.S.A. 59-102, and amendments thereto, or appointed or acting as a trustee of any testamentary trust or as a trustee of any indenture of trust under which any bonds have been or are to be issued.

- (i) "Unlawful debt" means any money or other thing of value constituting principal or interest of a debt that is legally unenforceable in this state in whole or in part because the debt was incurred or contracted:
- (1) In violation of any of the following provisions of law: Article 88 of chapter 74 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and amendments thereto, Kansas parimutuel racing act; K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6404, and amendments thereto, gambling; K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6405, and amendments thereto, illegal bingo operation; K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6406, and amendments thereto, commercial gambling; K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6407, and amendments thereto, dealing in gambling devices; K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6408, and amendments thereto, unlawful possession of a gambling device; or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6409, and amendments thereto, installing communication facilities for gamblers; or
 - (2) in gambling activity in violation of federal law or in the business of lending money

at a rate usurious under state or federal law.

- Sec. 4. K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 22-3424 is hereby amended to read as follows: 22-3424. (a) The judgment shall be rendered and sentence imposed in open court.
- (b) If the verdict or finding is not guilty, judgment shall be rendered immediately and the defendant shall be discharged from custody and the obligation of the defendant's appearance bond.
- (c) If the verdict or finding is guilty, judgment shall be rendered and sentence pronounced without unreasonable delay, allowing adequate time for the filing and disposition of post-trial motions and for completion of such presentence investigation as the court may require.
- (d) (1) If the verdict or finding is guilty, upon request of the victim or the victim's family and before imposing sentence, the court shall hold a hearing to establish restitution. The defendant may waive the right to the hearing and accept the amount of restitution as established by the court. If the court orders restitution to be paid to the victim or the victim's family, the order shall be enforced as a judgment of restitution pursuant to K.S.A. 60-4301 through 60-4304, and amendments thereto.
- (2) (A) The court shall order a person convicted of human trafficking or aggravated human trafficking, K.S.A. 21-3446 or 21-3447, prior to their repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5426, and amendments thereto, or commercial sexual exploitation of a child, K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6422, and amendments thereto, to pay restitution to the victim of the offense for:
- (i) Expenses incurred or reasonably certain to be incurred by the victim as a result of the offense, including reasonable attorney fees and costs; and
 - (ii) an amount equal to three times the greatest of the following, with no reduction for

expenses the defendant incurred to maintain the victim:

- (a) The gross income to the defendant for, or the value to the defendant of, the victim's labor or services or sexual activity;
 - (b) the amount the defendant contracted to pay the victim; or
- (c) the value of the victim's labor or services or sexual activity, calculated under the minimum wage and overtime provisions of the federal fair labor standards act, 29 U.S.C. § 201 et seq., or under K.S.A. 44-1203, and amendments thereto, whichever is higher, even if the provisions do not apply to the victim's labor or services or sexual activity.
- (B) The court shall order restitution under subsection (d)(2) even if the victim is unavailable to accept payment of restitution.
- (C) If the victim does not claim restitution ordered under subsection (d)(2) for five years after entry of the order, the restitution must be paid to the human trafficking victim assistance fund created by K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 75-758, and amendments thereto, to help victims.
- (e) Before imposing sentence the court shall: (1) Allow the prosecuting attorney to address the court, if the prosecuting attorney so requests; (2) afford counsel an opportunity to speak on behalf of the defendant; (3) allow the victim or such members of the victim's family as the court deems appropriate to address the court, if the victim or the victim's family so requests; and (4) address the defendant personally and ask the defendant if the defendant wishes to make a statement on the defendant's own behalf and to present any evidence in mitigation of punishment.
- (f) After imposing sentence in a case which has gone to trial on a plea of not guilty, the court shall advise the defendant of the defendant's right to appeal and of the right of a person

who is unable to pay the costs of an appeal to appeal in forma pauperis.

- Sec. 5. K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 22-3436 is hereby amended to read as follows: 22-3436. This section applies if a defendant is charged with a crime pursuant to articles 54, 55 or 56 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6104, 21-6325, 21-6326 or 21-6418 through 21-6421 21-6422, and amendments thereto;
- (a) The prosecuting attorney, as defined in K.S.A. 22-2202, and amendments thereto, shall: (1) Inform the victim or the victim's family before any dismissal or declining of prosecuting charges; (2) inform the victim or the victim's family of the nature of any proposed plea agreement; and (3) inform and give notice to the victim or the victim's family of the rights established in subsection (b):
- (b) The victim of a crime or the victim's family have the right to be present at any hearing where a plea agreement is reviewed or accepted and the parties may submit written arguments to the court prior to the date of the hearing.
- Sec. 6. K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 22-3701 is hereby amended to read as follows: 22-3701. (1)

 (a) The governor may pardon, or commute the sentence of, any person convicted of a crime in any court of this state upon such terms and conditions as prescribed in the order granting the pardon or commutation.
- (2) (b) The prisoner review board, hereafter referred to as the board, shall adopt rules and regulations governing the procedure for initiating, processing, and reviewing applications for pardon, or commutation of sentence filed by and on behalf of persons convicted of crime.
- (3)-(c) Except as otherwise provided, no pardon or commutation of sentence shall be granted until more than 30 days after written notice of the application therefor has been given to:

(a) (1) The prosecuting attorney and the judge of the court in which the defendant was convicted; and (b)-(2) any victim of the person's crime or the victim's family, if the person was convicted of a crime specified in article 34, 35 or 36 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, prior to their repeal, or articles 54, 55 or 56 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6104, 21-6325, 21-6326 or 21-6418 through 21-6421, and amendments thereto. Notice of such application for pardon or commutation of sentence shall be given by the secretary of corrections to the victim who is alive and whose address is known to the secretary of corrections, or if the victim is deceased, to the victim's family if the family's address is known to the secretary of corrections. Notice of the receipt of such application shall be given by publication in the official county paper of the county of conviction. The form of notice shall be prescribed by the board. If the applicant executes a poverty affidavit, the cost of one publication of the notice during a twelve-month 12-month period shall be paid by the state. If more than one notice of application is published during any twelve-month 12-month period the additional cost of publication shall be paid by the applicant. Subject to the provisions of subsection (4) (d), if written notification is not given to such victim who is alive and whose address is known to the secretary of corrections or, if the victim is deceased, to the victim's family if the family's address is known to the secretary of corrections, the governor shall not grant or deny such application until a time at least 30 days after notification is given by publication as provided in this section.

(4)-(d) All applications for pardon or commutation of sentence shall be referred to the board. The board shall examine each case and submit a report, together with such information as the board may have concerning the applicant, to the governor within 120 days after referral to the board. The governor shall not grant or deny any such application until the governor has received

the report of the board or until 120 days after the referral to the board, whichever time is the shorter and the provisions of subsection (3)-(c) have been satisfied.

- Sec. 7. K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 22-3727 is hereby amended to read as follows: 22-3727. (a) Prior to the release of any inmate on parole, conditional release, expiration of sentence or postrelease supervision, if an inmate is released into the community under a program under the supervision of the secretary of corrections, or after the escape of an inmate or death of an inmate while in the secretary of corrections' custody, the secretary of corrections shall give written notice of such release, escape or death to any victim of the inmate's crime who is alive and whose address is known to the secretary or, if the victim is deceased, to the victim's family if the family's address is known to the secretary. Such notice shall be required to be given to the victim or the victim's family only if the inmate was convicted of any crime in article 33, 34, 35 or 36 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, prior to their repeal, or articles 53, 54, 55 or 56 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6104, 21-6325, 21-6326 or 21-6418 through 21-6421 21-6422, and amendments thereto. Except for notifications of releases due to a court order, escape or death, notification shall be given at least 14 working days prior to the release of such inmate. Failure to notify the victim or the victim's family as provided in this section shall not be a reason for postponement of parole, conditional release or other forms of release.
- (b) As used in this section, "victim's family" means a spouse, surviving spouse, children, parents, legal guardian, siblings, stepparent stepparents or grandparents.
- Sec. 8. K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 22-3727a is hereby amended to read as follows: 22-3727a.

 (a) The county or district attorney shall, as soon as practicable, provide notification as provided

in K.S.A. 22-3303, 22-3305, 22-3428, 22-3428a, 22-3430 and 22-3431, and amendments thereto, and upon the escape or death of a committed defendant while in the custody of the secretary for aging and disability services, to any victim of the defendant's crime whose address is known to the county or district attorney, and the victim's family, if so requested and the family's addresses are known to the county or district attorney. Such notice shall be required to be given only if the defendant was charged with any crime in article 33, 34, 35 or 36 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, prior to their repeal, or articles 53, 54, 55 or 56 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6104, 21-6325, 21-6326 or 21-6418 through—21-6421, 21-6422, and amendments thereto.

- (b) As used in this section, "victim's family" means a spouse, surviving spouse, children, parents, legal guardian, siblings, stepparent stepparents or grandparents.
- Sec. 9. K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 22-4614 is hereby amended to read as follows: 22-4614. No law enforcement officer, government official or prosecutor shall request or require any person who is alleged to be a victim of an offense described in article 55 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated; or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6419 through—21-6421_21-6422, and amendments thereto, human trafficking or aggravated human trafficking as defined in K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5426, and amendments thereto, or incest-as defined in subsection (a) of K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5604, and amendments thereto, or aggravated incest as defined in subsection (a)(2) of subsection (b)(2) of K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5604, and amendments thereto, to submit to a polygraph examination or similar truth telling device as a condition for proceeding with an investigation, or charging or prosecuting such an offense.
 - Sec. 10. K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 23-2225 is hereby amended to read as follows: 23-2225. (a)

Except as provided in subsection (d), a parent granted rights pursuant to subsection (d) of K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 23-2215(d), and amendments thereto, shall give written notice to the other parent who has been granted rights pursuant to subsection (d) of K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 23-2215(d), and amendments thereto, not less than 30 days prior to: (1) Changing the residence of the child; or (2) removing the child from this state for a period of time exceeding 90 days. Such notice shall be sent by restricted mail, return receipt requested, to the last known address of the other parent.

- (b) Failure to give notice as required by subsection (a) is an indirect civil contempt punishable as provided by law. In addition, the court may assess, against the parent required to give notice, reasonable attorney fees and any other expenses incurred by the other parent by reason of the failure to give notice.
- (c) A change of the residence or the removal of a child from this state as described in subsection (a) may be considered a material change of circumstances which justifies modification of a prior order of child support, custody or parenting time. In determining any such motion, the court shall consider all factors the court deems appropriate including, but not limited to:
 - (1) The effect of the move on the best interests of the child;
- (2) the effect of the move on any party having rights granted pursuant to subsection (d) of K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 23-2215(d), and amendments thereto; and
- (3) the increased cost the move will impose on any party seeking to exercise rights granted under subsection (d) of K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 23-2215(d), and amendments thereto.
- (d) A parent who has been granted rights pursuant to subsection (d) of K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 23-2215(d), and amendments thereto, shall not be required to give the notice required by

this section to the other parent when the other parent has been convicted of any crime specified in article 34, 35 or 36 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, prior to their repeal, or article 54, 55 or 56 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6104, 21-6325, 21-6326 or 21-6418 through—21-6421_21-6422, and amendments thereto, in which the child is the victim of such crime.

- (e) This section shall be part of and supplemental to the Kansas parentage act.
- Sec. 11. K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 23-3222 is hereby amended to read as follows: 23-3222. (a) Except as provided in subsection (d), a parent entitled to legal custody or residency of or parenting time with a child under this article shall give written notice to the other parent not less than 30 days prior to: (1) Changing the residence of the child; or (2) removing the child from this state for a period of time exceeding 90 days. Such notice shall be sent by restricted mail, return receipt requested, to the last known address of the other parent.
- (b) Failure to give notice as required by subsection (a) is an indirect civil contempt punishable as provided by law. In addition, the court may assess, against the parent required to give notice, reasonable attorney fees and any other expenses incurred by the other parent by reason of the failure to give notice.
- (c) A change of the residence or the removal of a child as described in subsection (a) may be considered a material change of circumstances which justifies modification of a prior order of legal custody, residency, child support or parenting time. In determining any motion seeking a modification of a prior order based on change of residence or removal as described in (a), the court shall consider all factors the court deems appropriate including, but not limited to:

 (1) The effect of the move on the best interests of the child; (2) the effect of the move on any

party having rights granted under this article; and (3) the increased cost the move will impose on any party seeking to exercise rights granted under this article.

- (d) A parent entitled to the legal custody or residency of a child under this article shall not be required to give the notice required by this section to the other parent when the other parent has been convicted of any crime specified in article 34, 35 or 36 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, prior to their repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5401 through 21-5609, 21-6104, 21-6325, 21-6326, or 21-6419, 21-6420 or 21-6421 through 21-6422, and amendments thereto, in which the child is the victim of such crime.
- Sec. 12. K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 38-2202 is hereby amended to read as follows: 38-2202. As used in the revised Kansas code for care of children, unless the context otherwise indicates:
- (a) "Abandon" or "abandonment" means to forsake, desert or, without making appropriate provision for substitute care, cease providing care for the child.
- (b) "Adult correction facility" means any public or private facility, secure or nonsecure, which is used for the lawful custody of accused or convicted adult criminal offenders.
- (c) "Aggravated circumstances" means the abandonment, torture, chronic abuse, sexual abuse or chronic, life threatening neglect of a child.
- (d) "Child in need of care" means a person less than 18 years of age at the time of filing of the petition or issuance of an ex parte protective custody order pursuant to K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 38-2242, and amendments thereto, who:
- (1) Is without adequate parental care, control or subsistence and the condition is not due solely to the lack of financial means of the child's parents or other custodian;
 - (2) is without the care or control necessary for the child's physical, mental or emotional

health;

- (3) has been physically, mentally or emotionally abused or neglected or sexually abused;
 - (4) has been placed for care or adoption in violation of law;
 - (5) has been abandoned or does not have a known living parent;
- (6) is not attending school as required by K.S.A. 72-977 or 72-1111, and amendments thereto;
- (7) except in the case of a violation of K.S.A. 41-727, subsection (j) of K.S.A. 74-8810(j), subsection (m) or (n) of K.S.A. 79-3321(m) or (n), or subsection (a)(14) of K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6301(a)(14), and amendments thereto, or, except as provided in paragraph (12), does an act which, when committed by a person under 18 years of age, is prohibited by state law, city ordinance or county resolution but which is not prohibited when done by an adult;
- (8) while less than 10 years of age, commits any act which if done by an adult would constitute the commission of a felony or misdemeanor as defined by K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5102, and amendments thereto;
- (9) is willfully and voluntarily absent from the child's home without the consent of the child's parent or other custodian;
- (10) is willfully and voluntarily absent at least a second time from a court ordered or designated placement, or a placement pursuant to court order, if the absence is without the consent of the person with whom the child is placed or, if the child is placed in a facility, without the consent of the person in charge of such facility or such person's designee;
 - (11) has been residing in the same residence with a sibling or another person under 18

years of age, who has been physically, mentally or emotionally abused or neglected, or sexually abused;

- (12) while less than 10 years of age commits the offense defined in subsection (a)(14) of K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6301(a)(14), and amendments thereto; or
- (13) has had a permanent custodian appointed and the permanent custodian is no longer able or willing to serve.
- (e) "Citizen review board" is a group of community volunteers appointed by the court and whose duties are prescribed by K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 38-2207 and 38-2208, and amendments thereto.
- (f) "Civil custody case" includes any case filed under chapter 23 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and amendments thereto, the Kansas family law code, article 11, of chapter 38 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and amendments thereto, determination of parentage, article 21 of chapter 59 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and amendments thereto, adoption and relinquishment act, or article 30 of chapter 59 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and amendments thereto, guardians and conservators.
- (g) "Court-appointed special advocate" means a responsible adult other than an attorney guardian ad litem who is appointed by the court to represent the best interests of a child, as provided in K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 38-2206, and amendments thereto, in a proceeding pursuant to this code.
- (h) "Custody" whether temporary, protective or legal, means the status created by court order or statute which vests in a custodian, whether an individual or an agency, the right to physical possession of the child and the right to determine placement of the child, subject to

restrictions placed by the court.

- (i) "Extended out of home placement" means a child has been in the custody of the secretary and placed with neither parent for 15 of the most recent 22 months beginning 60 days after the date at which a child in the custody of the secretary was removed from the home.
 - (j) "Educational institution" means all schools at the elementary and secondary levels.
- (k) "Educator" means any administrator, teacher or other professional or paraprofessional employee of an educational institution who has exposure to a pupil specified in subsection (a) of K.S.A. 72-89b03(a), and amendments thereto.
 - (l) "Harm" means physical or psychological injury or damage.
- (m) "Interested party" means the grandparent of the child, a person with whom the child has been living for a significant period of time when the child in need of care petition is filed, and any person made an interested party by the court pursuant to K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 38-2241, and amendments thereto, or Indian tribe seeking to intervene that is not a party.
 - (n) "Jail" means:
 - (1) An adult jail or lockup; or
- (2) a facility in the same building or on the same grounds as an adult jail or lockup, unless the facility meets all applicable standards and licensure requirements under law and there is: (A) Total separation of the juvenile and adult facility spatial areas such that there could be no haphazard or accidental contact between juvenile and adult residents in the respective facilities; (B) total separation in all juvenile and adult program activities within the facilities, including recreation, education, counseling, health care, dining, sleeping and general living activities; and (C) separate juvenile and adult staff, including management, security staff and direct care staff

such as recreational, educational and counseling.

- (o) "Juvenile detention facility" means any secure public or private facility used for the lawful custody of accused or adjudicated juvenile offenders which must not be a jail.
- (p) "Juvenile intake and assessment worker" means a responsible adult authorized to perform intake and assessment services as part of the intake and assessment system established pursuant to K.S.A. 75-7023, and amendments thereto.
- (q) "Kinship care" means the placement of a child in the home of the child's relative or in the home of another adult with whom the child or the child's parent already has a close emotional attachment.
- (r) "Law enforcement officer" means any person who by virtue of office or public employment is vested by law with a duty to maintain public order or to make arrests for crimes, whether that duty extends to all crimes or is limited to specific crimes.
- (s) "Multidisciplinary team" means a group of persons, appointed by the court under K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 38-2228, and amendments thereto, which has knowledge of the circumstances of a child in need of care.
- (t) "Neglect" means acts or omissions by a parent, guardian or person responsible for the care of a child resulting in harm to a child, or presenting a likelihood of harm, and the acts or omissions are not due solely to the lack of financial means of the child's parents or other custodian. Neglect may include, but shall not be limited to:
- (1) Failure to provide the child with food, clothing or shelter necessary to sustain the life or health of the child;
 - (2) failure to provide adequate supervision of a child or to remove a child from a

situation which requires judgment or actions beyond the child's level of maturity, physical condition or mental abilities and that results in bodily injury or a likelihood of harm to the child; or

- (3) failure to use resources available to treat a diagnosed medical condition if such treatment will make a child substantially more comfortable, reduce pain and suffering, or correct or substantially diminish a crippling condition from worsening. A parent legitimately practicing religious beliefs who does not provide specified medical treatment for a child because of religious beliefs shall not for that reason be considered a negligent parent; however, this exception shall not preclude a court from entering an order pursuant to—subsection (a)(2) of K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 38-2217(a)(2), and amendments thereto.
- (u) "Parent" when used in relation to a child or children, includes a guardian and every person who is by law liable to maintain, care for or support the child.
- (v) "Party" means the state, the petitioner, the child, any parent of the child and an Indian child's tribe intervening pursuant to the Indian child welfare act.
- (w) "Permanency goal" means the outcome of the permanency planning process which may be reintegration, adoption, appointment of a permanent custodian or another planned permanent living arrangement.
- (x) "Permanent custodian" means a judicially approved permanent guardian of a child pursuant to K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 38-2272, and amendments thereto.
- (y) "Physical, mental or emotional abuse" means the infliction of physical, mental or emotional harm or the causing of a deterioration of a child and may include, but shall not be limited to, maltreatment or exploiting a child to the extent that the child's health or emotional

well-being is endangered.

- (z) "Placement" means the designation by the individual or agency having custody of where and with whom the child will live.
- (aa) "Relative" means a person related by blood, marriage or adoption but, when referring to a relative of a child's parent, does not include the child's other parent.
- (bb) "Secretary" means the secretary of the department for children and families or the secretary's designee.
- (cc) "Secure facility" means a facility, other than a staff secure facility which is operated or structured so as to ensure that all entrances and exits from the facility are under the exclusive control of the staff of the facility, whether or not the person being detained has freedom of movement within the perimeters of the facility, or which relies on locked rooms and buildings, fences or physical restraint in order to control behavior of its residents. No secure facility shall be in a city or county jail.
- (dd) "Sexual abuse" means any contact or interaction with a child in which the child is being used for the sexual stimulation of the perpetrator, the child or another person. Sexual abuse shall include allowing, permitting or encouraging a child to engage in the sale of sexual relations or commercial sexual exploitation of a child, or to be photographed, filmed or depicted in pornographic material. Sexual abuse also shall include allowing, permitting or encouraging a child to engage in aggravated human trafficking, as defined in K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5426(b), and amendments thereto, if committed in whole or in part for the purpose of the sexual gratification of the offender or another.
 - (ee) "Shelter facility" means any public or private facility or home, other than a juvenile

detention facility or staff secure facility, that may be used in accordance with this code for the purpose of providing either temporary placement for children in need of care prior to the issuance of a dispositional order or longer term care under a dispositional order.

- (ff) "Staff secure facility" means a facility described in K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 65-535, and amendments thereto: (1) That does not include construction features designed to physically restrict the movements and activities of juvenile residents who are placed therein; (2) that may establish reasonable rules restricting entrance to and egress from the facility; and (3) in which the movements and activities of individual juvenile residents may, for treatment purposes, be restricted or subject to control through the use of intensive staff supervision. No staff secure facility shall be in a city or county jail.
- (gg) "Transition plan" means, when used in relation to a youth in the custody of the secretary, an individualized strategy for the provision of medical, mental health, education, employment and housing supports as needed for the adult and, if applicable, for any minor child of the adult, to live independently and specifically provides for the supports and any services for which an adult with a disability is eligible including, but not limited to, funding for home and community based services waivers.
- (hh) "Youth residential facility" means any home, foster home or structure which provides 24-hour-a-day care for children and which is licensed pursuant to article 5 of chapter 65 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and amendments thereto.
- Sec. 13. K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 38-2271 is hereby amended to read as follows: 38-2271. (a) It is presumed in the manner provided in K.S.A. 60-414, and amendments thereto, that a parent is unfit by reason of conduct or condition which renders the parent unable to fully care for a child,

if the state establishes, by clear and convincing evidence, that:

- (1) A parent has previously been found to be an unfit parent in proceedings under K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 38-2266 et seq., and amendments thereto, or comparable proceedings under the laws of another jurisdiction;
- (2) a parent has twice before been convicted of a crime specified in article 34, 35, or 36 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, prior to their repeal, or articles 54, 55 or 56 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6104, 21-6325, 21-6326 or 21-6418 through 21-6421, and amendments thereto, or comparable offenses under the laws of another jurisdiction, or an attempt or attempts to commit such crimes and the victim was under the age of 18 years;
- (3) on two or more prior occasions a child in the physical custody of the parent has been adjudicated a child in need of care as defined by—subsection (d)(1), (d)(3), (d)(5) or (d)(11) of K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 38-2202(d)(1), (d)(3), (d)(5) or (d)(11), and amendments thereto, or comparable proceedings under the laws of another jurisdiction;
- (4) the parent has been convicted of causing the death of another child or stepchild of the parent;
- (5) the child has been in an out-of-home placement, under court order for a cumulative total period of one year or longer and the parent has substantially neglected or willfully refused to carry out a reasonable plan, approved by the court, directed toward reintegration of the child into the parental home;
- (6) (A) the child has been in an out-of-home placement, under court order for a cumulative total period of two years or longer; (B) the parent has failed to carry out a reasonable

plan, approved by the court, directed toward reintegration of the child into the parental home; and (C) there is a substantial probability that the parent will not carry out such plan in the near future;

- (7) a parent has been convicted of capital murder, K.S.A. 21-3439, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5401, and amendments thereto, murder in the first degree, K.S.A. 21-3401, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5402, and amendments thereto, murder in the second degree, K.S.A. 21-3402, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5403, and amendments thereto, or voluntary manslaughter, K.S.A. 21-3403, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5404, and amendments thereto, human trafficking or aggravated human trafficking, K.S.A. 21-3446 or 21-3447, prior to their repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5426, and amendments thereto, or commercial sexual exploitation of a child, K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6422, and amendments thereto, or comparable proceedings under the laws of another jurisdiction or, has been adjudicated a juvenile offender because of an act which if committed by an adult would be an offense as provided in this subsection, and the victim of such murder was the other parent of the child;
- (8) a parent abandoned or neglected the child after having knowledge of the child's birth or either parent has been granted immunity from prosecution for abandonment of the child under-subsection (b) of K.S.A. 21-3604(b), prior to its repeal, or subsection (d) of K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5605(d), and amendments thereto; or
- (9) a parent has made no reasonable efforts to support or communicate with the child after having knowledge of the child's birth;
 - (10) a father, after having knowledge of the pregnancy, failed without reasonable cause

to provide support for the mother during the six months prior to the child's birth;

- (11) a father abandoned the mother after having knowledge of the pregnancy;
- (12) a parent has been convicted of rape, K.S.A. 21-3502, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5503, and amendments thereto, or comparable proceedings under the laws of another jurisdiction resulting in the conception of the child; or
- (13) a parent has failed or refused to assume the duties of a parent for two consecutive years next preceding the filing of the petition. In making this determination the court may disregard incidental visitations, contacts, communications or contributions.
- (b) The burden of proof is on the parent to rebut the presumption of unfitness by a preponderance of the evidence. In the absence of proof that the parent is presently fit and able to care for the child or that the parent will be fit and able to care for the child in the foreseeable future, the court shall terminate parental rights in proceedings pursuant to K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 38-2266 et seq., and amendments thereto.
- Sec. 14. K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 38-2309 is hereby amended to read as follows: 38-2309. (a) *Official file*. The official file of proceedings pursuant to this code shall consist of the complaint, process, service of process, orders, writs and journal entries reflecting hearings held, judgments and decrees entered by the court. The official file shall be kept separate from other records of the court.
- (b) The official file shall be open for public inspection, unless the judge determines that opening the official file for public inspection is not in the best interests of a juvenile who is less than 14 years of age. Information identifying victims and alleged victims of sex offenses, as defined in article 35 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, prior to their repeal, or

article 55 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6419 through 21-6421_21-6422, and amendments thereto, or human trafficking or aggravated human trafficking, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3446 or 21-3447, prior to their repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5426, and amendments thereto, shall not be disclosed or open to public inspection under any circumstances. Nothing in this section shall prohibit the victim or alleged victim of any sex offense from voluntarily disclosing such victim's identity. An official file closed pursuant to this section and information identifying the victim or alleged victim of any sex offense shall be disclosed only to the following:

- (1) A judge of the district court and members of the staff of the court designated by the judge;
 - (2) parties to the proceedings and their attorneys;
- (3) any individual or any public or private agency or institution: (A) Having custody of the juvenile under court order; or (B) providing educational, medical or mental health services to the juvenile;
 - (4) the juvenile's court appointed special advocate;
- (5) any placement provider or potential placement provider as determined by the commissioner or court services officer;
- (6) law enforcement officers or county or district attorneys, or their staff, when necessary for the discharge of their official duties;
- (7) the Kansas racing commission, upon written request of the commission chairperson, for the purpose provided by K.S.A. 74-8804, and amendments thereto, except that information identifying the victim or alleged victim of any sex offense shall not be disclosed pursuant to this

subsection;

- (8) juvenile intake and assessment workers;
- (9) the commissioner;
- (10) any other person when authorized by a court order, subject to any conditions imposed by the order; and
- (11) the commission on judicial performance in the discharge of the commission's duties pursuant to article 32 of chapter 20 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and amendments thereto.
- (c) Social file. Reports and information received by the court, other than the official file, shall be privileged and open to inspection only by attorneys for the parties, juvenile intake and assessment workers, court appointed special advocates, juvenile community corrections officers, the juvenile's guardian ad litem, if any, or upon order of a judge of the district court or appellate court. The reports shall not be further disclosed without approval of the court or by being presented as admissible evidence.
- (d) Preservation of records. The Kansas state historical society shall be allowed to take possession for preservation in the state archives of any court records related to proceedings under the Kansas juvenile justice code or the revised Kansas juvenile justice code whenever such records otherwise would be destroyed. The Kansas state historical society shall make available for public inspection any unexpunged docket entry or official file in its custody concerning any juvenile 14 or more years of age at the time an offense is alleged to have been committed by the juvenile. No other such records in the custody of the Kansas state historical society shall be disclosed directly or indirectly to anyone for 70 years after creation of the records, except as

provided in subsections (b) and (c). A judge of the district court may allow inspection for research purposes of any court records in the custody of the Kansas state historical society related to proceedings under the Kansas juvenile justice code or the revised Kansas juvenile justice code.

- (e) Relevant information, reports and records, shall be made available to the department of corrections upon request, and a showing that the former juvenile has been convicted of a crime and placed in the custody of the secretary of corrections.
- Sec. 15. K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 38-2310 is hereby amended to read as follows: 38-2310. (a) All records of law enforcement officers and agencies and municipal courts concerning an offense committed or alleged to have been committed by a juvenile under 14 years of age shall be kept readily distinguishable from criminal and other records and shall not be disclosed to anyone except:
- (1) The judge of the district court and members of the staff of the court designated by the judge;
 - (2) parties to the proceedings and their attorneys;
 - (3) the Kansas department for children and families;
- (4) the juvenile's court appointed special advocate, any officer of a public or private agency or institution or any individual having custody of a juvenile under court order or providing educational, medical or mental health services to a juvenile;
- (5) any educational institution, to the extent necessary to enable the educational institution to provide the safest possible environment for its pupils and employees;
 - (6) any educator, to the extent necessary to enable the educator to protect the personal

safety of the educator and the educator's pupils;

- (7) law enforcement officers or county or district attorneys, or their staff, when necessary for the discharge of their official duties;
- (8) the central repository, as defined by K.S.A. 22-4701, and amendments thereto, for use only as a part of the juvenile offender information system established under K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 38-2326, and amendments thereto;
 - (9) juvenile intake and assessment workers;
 - (10) the juvenile justice authority department of corrections;
 - (11) juvenile community corrections officers;
- (12) any other person when authorized by a court order, subject to any conditions imposed by the order; and
 - (13) as provided in subsection (c).
 - (b) The provisions of this section shall not apply to records concerning:
- (1) A violation, by a person 14 or more years of age, of any provision of chapter 8 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and amendments thereto, or of any city ordinance or county resolution which relates to the regulation of traffic on the roads, highways or streets or the operation of self-propelled or nonself-propelled vehicles of any kind;
- (2) a violation, by a person 16 or more years of age, of any provision of chapter 32 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and amendments thereto; or
 - (3) an offense for which the juvenile is prosecuted as an adult.
- (c) All records of law enforcement officers and agencies and municipal courts concerning an offense committed or alleged to have been committed by a juvenile 14 or more

years of age shall be subject to the same disclosure restrictions as the records of adults. Information identifying victims and alleged victims of sex offenses, as defined in article 35 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, prior to their repeal, or article 55 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, or and amendments thereto, K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6419 through 21-6421 21-6422, and amendments thereto, or human trafficking or aggravated human trafficking, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3446 or 21-3447, prior to their repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5426, and amendments thereto, shall not be disclosed or open to public inspection under any circumstances. Nothing in this section shall prohibit the victim or any alleged victim of any sex offense from voluntarily disclosing such victim's identity.

- (d) Relevant information, reports and records, shall be made available to the department of corrections upon request and a showing that the former juvenile has been convicted of a crime and placed in the custody of the secretary of corrections.
- (e) All records, reports and information obtained as a part of the juvenile intake and assessment process for juveniles shall be confidential, and shall not be disclosed except as provided by statutory law and rules and regulations promulgated by the commissioner thereunder.
- (1) Any court of record may order the disclosure of such records, reports and other information to any person or entity.
- (2) The head of any juvenile intake and assessment program, certified by the commissioner of juvenile justice, may authorize disclosure of such records, reports and other information to:
 - (A) A person licensed to practice the healing arts who has before that person a juvenile

whom the person reasonably suspects may be abused or neglected;

- (B) a court-appointed special advocate for a juvenile or an agency having the legal responsibility or authorization to care for, treat or supervise a juvenile;
- (C) a parent or other person responsible for the welfare of a juvenile, or such person's legal representative, with protection for the identity of persons reporting and other appropriate persons;
 - (D) the juvenile, the attorney and a guardian ad litem, if any, for such juvenile;
 - (E) the police or other law enforcement agency;
- (F) an agency charged with the responsibility of preventing or treating physical, mental or emotional abuse or neglect or sexual abuse of children, if the agency requesting the information has standards of confidentiality as strict or stricter than the requirements of the Kansas code for care of children or the revised Kansas juvenile justice code, whichever is applicable;
 - (G) members of a multidisciplinary team under this code;
- (H) an agency authorized by a properly constituted authority to diagnose, care for, treat or supervise a child who is the subject of a report or record of child abuse or neglect;
- (I) any individual, or public or private agency authorized by a properly constituted authority to diagnose, care for, treat or supervise a juvenile who is the subject of a report or record of child abuse or neglect, specifically including the following: Physicians, psychiatrists, nurses, nurse practitioners, psychologists, licensed social workers, child development specialists, physicians' physician assistants, community mental health workers, alcohol and drug abuse addiction counselors and licensed or registered child care providers;

- (J) a citizen review board pursuant to K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 38-2207, and amendments thereto;
- (K) an educational institution to the extent necessary to enable such institution to provide the safest possible environment for pupils and employees of the institution;
- (L) any educator to the extent necessary for the protection of the educator and pupils; and
- (M) any juvenile intake and assessment worker of another certified juvenile intake and assessment program.

Sec. 16. K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 39-970 is hereby amended to read as follows: 39-970. (a) (1) No person shall knowingly operate an adult care home if, in the adult care home, there works any person who has been convicted of or has been adjudicated a juvenile offender because of having committed an act which if done by an adult would constitute the commission of capital murder, pursuant to K.S.A. 21-3439, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5401, and amendments thereto, first degree murder, pursuant to K.S.A. 21-3401, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5402, and amendments thereto, second degree murder, pursuant to subsection (a) of K.S.A. 21-3402(a), prior to its repeal, or subsection (a) of K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5403(a), and amendments thereto, voluntary manslaughter, pursuant to K.S.A. 21-3403, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5407, and amendments thereto, mistreatment of a dependent adult or mistreatment of an elder person, pursuant to K.S.A. 21-3437, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5417, and amendments thereto, human trafficking, pursuant to K.S.A. 21-3446, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5426(a), and

amendments thereto, aggravated human trafficking, pursuant to K.S.A. 21-3447, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5426(b), and amendments thereto, rape, pursuant to K.S.A. 21-3502, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5503, and amendments thereto, indecent liberties with a child, pursuant to K.S.A. 21-3503, prior to its repeal, or subsection (a) of K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5506(a), and amendments thereto, aggravated indecent liberties with a child, pursuant to K.S.A. 21-3504, prior to its repeal, or subsection (b) of K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5506(b), and amendments thereto, aggravated criminal sodomy, pursuant to K.S.A. 21-3506, prior to its repeal, or subsection (b) of K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5504(b), and amendments thereto, indecent solicitation of a child, pursuant to K.S.A. 21-3510, prior to its repeal, or subsection (a) of K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5508(a), and amendments thereto, aggravated indecent solicitation of a child, pursuant to K.S.A. 21-3511, prior to its repeal, or-subsection (b) of K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5508(b), and amendments thereto, sexual exploitation of a child, pursuant to K.S.A. 21-3516, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5510, and amendments thereto, sexual battery, pursuant to K.S.A. 21-3517, prior to its repeal, or-subsection (a) of K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5505(a), and amendments thereto, or aggravated sexual battery, pursuant to K.S.A. 21-3518, prior to its repeal, or subsection (b) of K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5505(b), and amendments thereto, commercial sexual exploitation of a child, pursuant to K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6422, and amendments thereto, an attempt to commit any of the crimes listed in this subsection (a)(1), pursuant to K.S.A. 21-3301, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5301, and amendments thereto, a conspiracy to commit any of the crimes listed in this subsection (a)(1), pursuant to K.S.A. 21-3302, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5302, and amendments thereto, or criminal solicitation of any of the crimes listed in this subsection (a)(1), pursuant to K.S.A. 213303, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5303, and amendments thereto, or similar statutes of other states or the federal government. The provisions of subsection (a)(2)(C) shall not apply to any person who is employed by an adult care home on July 1, 2010, and while continuously employed by the same adult care home.

(2) A person operating an adult care home may employ an applicant who has been convicted of any of the following if five or more years have elapsed since the applicant satisfied the sentence imposed or was discharged from probation, a community correctional services program, parole, postrelease supervision, conditional release or a suspended sentence; or if five or more years have elapsed since the applicant has been finally discharged from the custody of the commissioner of juvenile justice or from probation or has been adjudicated a juvenile offender, whichever time is longer: A felony conviction for a crime which is described in: (A) Article 34 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, prior to their repeal, or article 54 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6104, 21-6325, 21-6326 or 21-6418, and amendments thereto, except those crimes listed in subsection (a)(1); (B) articles 35 or 36 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, prior to their repeal, or article 55 or 56 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6419 through 21-6421, and amendments thereto, except those crimes listed in subsection (a)(1) and K.S.A. 21-3605, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5606, and amendments thereto; (C) K.S.A. 21-3701, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5801, and amendments thereto; (D) an attempt to commit any of the crimes listed in this subsection (a)(2), pursuant to K.S.A. 21-3301, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5301, and amendments thereto; (E) a conspiracy to commit any of the crimes listed in subsection (a)(2), pursuant to K.S.A. 21-3302, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A.

2014 Supp. 21-5302, and amendments thereto; (F) criminal solicitation of any of the crimes listed in subsection (a)(2), pursuant to K.S.A. 21-3303, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5303, and amendments thereto; or (G) similar statutes of other states or the federal government.

- (b) No person shall operate an adult care home if such person has been found to be in need of a guardian or conservator, or both as provided in K.S.A. 59-3050 through 59-3095, and amendments thereto. The provisions of this subsection shall not apply to a minor found to be in need of a guardian or conservator for reasons other than impairment.
- (c) The secretary for aging and disability services shall have access to any criminal history record information in the possession of the Kansas bureau of investigation regarding any criminal history information, convictions under K.S.A. 21-3437, 21-3517 and 21-3701, prior to their repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5417, subsection (a) of 21-5505(a) and 21-5801, and amendments thereto, adjudications of a juvenile offender which if committed by an adult would have been a felony conviction, and adjudications of a juvenile offender for an offense described in K.S.A. 21-3437, 21-3517 and 21-3701, prior to their repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5417, subsection (a) of 21-5505(a) and 21-5801, and amendments thereto, concerning persons working in an adult care home. The secretary shall have access to these records for the purpose of determining whether or not the adult care home meets the requirements of this section. The Kansas bureau of investigation may charge to the Kansas department for aging and disability services a reasonable fee for providing criminal history record information under this subsection.
- (d) For the purpose of complying with this section, the operator of an adult care home shall request from the Kansas department for aging and disability services information regarding

any criminal history information, convictions under K.S.A. 21-3437, 21-3517 and 21-3701, prior to their repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5417, subsection (a) of 21-5505(a) and 21-5801, and amendments thereto, adjudications of a juvenile offender which if committed by an adult would have been a felony conviction, and adjudications of a juvenile offender for an offense described in K.S.A. 21-3437, 21-3517 and 21-3701, prior to their repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5417, subsection (a) of 21-5505(a) and 21-5801, and amendments thereto, and which relates to a person who works in the adult care home, or is being considered for employment by the adult care home, for the purpose of determining whether such person is subject to the provision of this section. For the purpose of complying with this section, the operator of an adult care home shall receive from any employment agency which provides employees to work in the adult care home written certification that such employees are not prohibited from working in the adult care home under this section. For the purpose of complying with this section, information relating to convictions and adjudications by the federal government or to convictions and adjudications in states other than Kansas shall not be required until such time as the secretary for aging and disability services determines the search for such information could reasonably be performed and the information obtained within a two-week period. For the purpose of complying with this section, a person who operates an adult care home may hire an applicant for employment on a conditional basis pending the results from the Kansas department for aging and disability services of a request for information under this subsection. No adult care home, the operator or employees of an adult care home or an employment agency, or the operator or employees of an employment agency, shall be liable for civil damages resulting from any decision to employ, to refuse to employ or to discharge from employment any person based on such adult care home's

compliance with the provisions of this section if such adult care home or employment agency acts in good faith to comply with this section.

- (e) The secretary for aging and disability services shall charge each person requesting information under this section a fee equal to cost, not to exceed \$10, for each name about which an information request has been submitted to the department under this section.
- (f) (1) The secretary for aging and disability services shall provide each operator requesting information under this section with the criminal history record information concerning any criminal history information and convictions under K.S.A. 21-3437, 21-3517 and 21-3701, prior to their repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5417, subsection (a) of 21-5505(a) and 21-5801, and amendments thereto, in writing and within three working days of receipt of such information from the Kansas bureau of investigation. The criminal history record information shall be provided regardless of whether the information discloses that the subject of the request has been convicted of an offense enumerated in subsection (a).
- (2) When an offense enumerated in subsection (a) exists in the criminal history record information, and when further confirmation regarding criminal history record information is required from the appropriate court of jurisdiction or Kansas department of corrections, the secretary shall notify each operator that requests information under this section in writing and within three working days of receipt from the Kansas bureau of investigation that further confirmation is required. The secretary shall provide to the operator requesting information under this section information in writing and within three working days of receipt of such information from the appropriate court of jurisdiction or Kansas department of corrections regarding confirmation regarding the criminal history record information.

- (3) Whenever the criminal history record information reveals that the subject of the request has no criminal history on record, the secretary shall provide notice to each operator requesting information under this section, in writing and within three working days after receipt of such information from the Kansas bureau of investigation.
- (4) The secretary for aging and disability services shall not provide each operator requesting information under this section with the juvenile criminal history record information which relates to a person subject to a background check as is provided by K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 38-2326, and amendments thereto, except for adjudications of a juvenile offender for an offense described in K.S.A. 21-3701, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5801, and amendments thereto. The secretary shall notify the operator that requested the information, in writing and within three working days of receipt of such information from the Kansas bureau of investigation, whether juvenile criminal history record information received pursuant to this section reveals that the operator would or would not be prohibited by this section from employing the subject of the request for information and whether such information contains adjudications of a juvenile offender for an offense described in K.S.A. 21-3701, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5801, and amendments thereto.
- (f)—shall keep such information confidential, except that the operator may disclose such information to the person who is the subject of the request for information. A violation of this paragraph—(5) shall be an unclassified misdemeanor punishable by a fine of \$100.
- (g) No person who works for an adult care home and who is currently licensed or registered by an agency of this state to provide professional services in the state and who

provides such services as part of the work which such person performs for the adult care home shall be subject to the provisions of this section.

- (h) A person who volunteers in an adult care home shall not be subject to the provisions of this section because of such volunteer activity.
- (i) An operator may request from the Kansas department for aging and disability services criminal history information on persons employed under subsections (g) and (h).
- (j) No person who has been employed by the same adult care home since July 1, 1992, shall be subject to the provisions of this section while employed by such adult care home.
- (k) The operator of an adult care home shall not be required under this section to conduct a background check on an applicant for employment with the adult care home if the applicant has been the subject of a background check under this act within one year prior to the application for employment with the adult care home. The operator of an adult care home where the applicant was the subject of such background check may release a copy of such background check to the operator of an adult care home where the applicant is currently applying.
- (1) No person who is in the custody of the secretary of corrections and who provides services, under direct supervision in nonpatient areas, on the grounds or other areas designated by the superintendent of the Kansas soldiers' home or the Kansas veterans' home shall be subject to the provisions of this section while providing such services.
- (m) For purposes of this section, the Kansas bureau of investigation shall report any criminal history information, convictions under K.S.A. 21-3437, 21-3517 and 21-3701, prior to their repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5417, subsection (a) of 21-5505(a) and 21-5801, and amendments thereto, adjudications of a juvenile offender which if committed by an adult would

have been a felony conviction, and adjudications of a juvenile offender for an offense described in K.S.A. 21-3437, 21-3517 and 21-3701, prior to their repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5417, subsection (a) of 21-5505(a) and 21-5801, and amendments thereto, to the secretary for aging and disability services when a background check is requested.

- (n) This section shall be part of and supplemental to the adult care home licensure act.
- Sec. 17. K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 44-706 is hereby amended to read as follows: 44-706. An individual shall be disqualified for benefits:
- (a) If the individual left work voluntarily without good cause attributable to the work or the employer, subject to the other provisions of this subsection. For purposes of this subsection, "good cause" is cause of such gravity that would impel a reasonable, not supersensitive, individual exercising ordinary common sense to leave employment. Good cause requires a showing of good faith of the individual leaving work, including the presence of a genuine desire to work. Failure to return to work after expiration of approved personal or medical leave, or both, shall be considered a voluntary resignation. After a temporary job assignment, failure of an individual to affirmatively request an additional assignment on the next succeeding workday, if required by the employment agreement, after completion of a given work assignment, shall constitute leaving work voluntarily. The disqualification shall begin the day following the separation and shall continue until after the individual has become reemployed and has had earnings from insured work of at least three times the individual's weekly benefit amount. An individual shall not be disqualified under this subsection if:
- (1) The individual was forced to leave work because of illness or injury upon the advice of a licensed and practicing health care provider and, upon learning of the necessity for absence,

immediately notified the employer thereof, or the employer consented to the absence, and after recovery from the illness or injury, when recovery was certified by a practicing health care provider, the individual returned to the employer and offered to perform services and the individual's regular work or comparable and suitable work was not available. As used in this paragraph "health care provider" means any person licensed by the proper licensing authority of any state to engage in the practice of medicine and surgery, osteopathy, chiropractic, dentistry, optometry, podiatry or psychology;

- (2) the individual left temporary work to return to the regular employer;
- (3) the individual left work to enlist in the armed forces of the United States, but was rejected or delayed from entry;
- (4) the spouse of an individual who is a member of the armed forces of the United States who left work because of the voluntary or involuntary transfer of the individual's spouse from one job to another job, which is for the same employer or for a different employer, at a geographic location which makes it unreasonable for the individual to continue work at the individual's job. For the purposes of this provision the term "armed forces" means active duty in the army, navy, marine corps, air force, coast guard or any branch of the military reserves of the United States;
- (5) the individual left work because of hazardous working conditions; in determining whether or not working conditions are hazardous for an individual, the degree of risk involved to the individual's health, safety and morals, the individual's physical fitness and prior training and the working conditions of workers engaged in the same or similar work for the same and other employers in the locality shall be considered; as used in this paragraph, "hazardous working

conditions" means working conditions that could result in a danger to the physical or mental well-being of the individual; each determination as to whether hazardous working conditions exist shall include, but shall not be limited to, a consideration of: (A) The safety measures used or the lack thereof; and (B) the condition of equipment or lack of proper equipment; no work shall be considered hazardous if the working conditions surrounding the individual's work are the same or substantially the same as the working conditions generally prevailing among individuals performing the same or similar work for other employers engaged in the same or similar type of activity;

- (6) the individual left work to enter training approved under section 236(a)(1) of the federal trade act of 1974, provided the work left is not of a substantially equal or higher skill level than the individual's past adversely affected employment, as defined for purposes of the federal trade act of 1974, and wages for such work are not less than 80% of the individual's average weekly wage as determined for the purposes of the federal trade act of 1974;
- (7) the individual left work because of unwelcome harassment of the individual by the employer or another employee of which the employing unit had knowledge and that would impel the average worker to give up such worker's employment;
- (8) the individual left work to accept better work; each determination as to whether or not the work accepted is better work shall include, but shall not be limited to, consideration of:

 (A) The rate of pay, the hours of work and the probable permanency of the work left as compared to the work accepted; (B) the cost to the individual of getting to the work left in comparison to the cost of getting to the work accepted; and (C) the distance from the individual's place of residence to the work accepted in comparison to the distance from the individual's residence to

the work left;

- (9) the individual left work as a result of being instructed or requested by the employer, a supervisor or a fellow employee to perform a service or commit an act in the scope of official job duties which is in violation of an ordinance or statute;
- (10) the individual left work because of a substantial violation of the work agreement by the employing unit and, before the individual left, the individual had exhausted all remedies provided in such agreement for the settlement of disputes before terminating. For the purposes of this paragraph, a demotion based on performance does not constitute a violation of the work agreement;
- (11) after making reasonable efforts to preserve the work, the individual left work due to a personal emergency of such nature and compelling urgency that it would be contrary to good conscience to impose a disqualification; or
- (12) (A) the individual left work due to circumstances resulting from domestic violence, including:
- (i) The individual's reasonable fear of future domestic violence at or en route to or from the individual's place of employment;
- (ii) the individual's need to relocate to another geographic area in order to avoid future domestic violence;
- (iii) the individual's need to address the physical, psychological and legal impacts of domestic violence;
- (iv) the individual's need to leave employment as a condition of receiving services or shelter from an agency which provides support services or shelter to victims of domestic

violence; or

- (v) the individual's reasonable belief that termination of employment is necessary to avoid other situations which may cause domestic violence and to provide for the future safety of the individual or the individual's family.
- (B) An individual may prove the existence of domestic violence by providing one of the following:
- (i) A restraining order or other documentation of equitable relief by a court of competent jurisdiction;
 - (ii) a police record documenting the abuse;
- (iii) documentation that the abuser has been convicted of one or more of the offenses enumerated in articles 34 and 35 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, prior to their repeal, or articles 54 or 55 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6104, 21-6325, 21-6326 or 21-6418 through—21-6421_21-6422, and amendments thereto, where the victim was a family or household member;
 - (iv) medical documentation of the abuse;
- (v) a statement provided by a counselor, social worker, health care provider, clergy, shelter worker, legal advocate, domestic violence or sexual assault advocate or other professional who has assisted the individual in dealing with the effects of abuse on the individual or the individual's family; or
 - (vi) a sworn statement from the individual attesting to the abuse.
- (C) No evidence of domestic violence experienced by an individual, including the individual's statement and corroborating evidence, shall be disclosed by the department of labor

unless consent for disclosure is given by the individual.

- (b) If the individual has been discharged or suspended for misconduct connected with the individual's work. The disqualification shall begin the day following the separation and shall continue until after the individual becomes reemployed and in cases where the disqualification is due to discharge for misconduct has had earnings from insured work of at least three times the individual's determined weekly benefit amount, except that if an individual is discharged for gross misconduct connected with the individual's work, such individual shall be disqualified for benefits until such individual again becomes employed and has had earnings from insured work of at least eight times such individual's determined weekly benefit amount. In addition, all wage credits attributable to the employment from which the individual was discharged for gross misconduct connected with the individual's work shall be canceled. No such cancellation of wage credits shall affect prior payments made as a result of a prior separation.
- (1) For the purposes of this subsection, "misconduct" is defined as a violation of a duty or obligation reasonably owed the employer as a condition of employment including, but not limited to, a violation of a company rule, including a safety rule, if: (A) The individual knew or should have known about the rule; (B) the rule was lawful and reasonably related to the job; and (C) the rule was fairly and consistently enforced.
- (2) (A) Failure of the employee to notify the employer of an absence and an individual's leaving work prior to the end of such individual's assigned work period without permission shall be considered prima facie evidence of a violation of a duty or obligation reasonably owed the employer as a condition of employment.
 - (B) For the purposes of this subsection, misconduct shall include, but not be limited to,

violation of the employer's reasonable attendance expectations if the facts show:

- (i) The individual was absent or tardy without good cause;
- (ii) the individual had knowledge of the employer's attendance expectation; and
- (iii) the employer gave notice to the individual that future absence or tardiness may or will result in discharge.
- (C) For the purposes of this subsection, if an employee disputes being absent or tardy without good cause, the employee shall present evidence that a majority of the employee's absences or tardiness were for good cause. If the employee alleges that the employee's repeated absences or tardiness were the result of health related issues, such evidence shall include documentation from a licensed and practicing health care provider as defined in subsection (a) (1).
- (3) (A) The term "gross misconduct" as used in this subsection shall be construed to mean conduct evincing extreme, willful or wanton misconduct as defined by this subsection. Gross misconduct shall include, but not be limited to: (i) Theft; (ii) fraud; (iii) intentional damage to property; (iv) intentional infliction of personal injury; or (v) any conduct that constitutes a felony.
- (B) For the purposes of this subsection, the following shall be conclusive evidence of gross misconduct:
- (i) The use of alcoholic liquor, cereal malt beverage or a nonprescribed controlled substance by an individual while working;
- (ii) the impairment caused by alcoholic liquor, cereal malt beverage or a nonprescribed controlled substance by an individual while working;

- (iii) a positive breath alcohol test or a positive chemical test, provided:
- (a) The test was either:
- Required by law and was administered pursuant to the drug free workplace act, 41
 U.S.C. § 701 et seq.;
- (2) administered as part of an employee assistance program or other drug or alcohol treatment program in which the employee was participating voluntarily or as a condition of further employment;
- (3) requested pursuant to a written policy of the employer of which the employee had knowledge and was a required condition of employment;
- (4) required by law and the test constituted a required condition of employment for the individual's job; or
- (5) there was reasonable suspicion to believe that the individual used, had possession of, or was impaired by alcoholic liquor, cereal malt beverage or a nonprescribed controlled substance while working;
 - (b) the test sample was collected either:
 - (1) As prescribed by the drug free workplace act, 41 U.S.C. § 701 et seq.;
- (2) as prescribed by an employee assistance program or other drug or alcohol treatment program in which the employee was participating voluntarily or as a condition of further employment;
- (3) as prescribed by the written policy of the employer of which the employee had knowledge and which constituted a required condition of employment;
 - (4) as prescribed by a test which was required by law and which constituted a required

condition of employment for the individual's job; or

- (5) at a time contemporaneous with the events establishing probable cause;
- (c) the collecting and labeling of a chemical test sample was performed by a licensed health care professional or any other individual certified pursuant to paragraph (b)(3)(A)(iii)(f) or authorized to collect or label test samples by federal or state law, or a federal or state rule or regulation having the force or effect of law, including law enforcement personnel;
- (d) the chemical test was performed by a laboratory approved by the United States department of health and human services or licensed by the department of health and environment, except that a blood sample may be tested for alcohol content by a laboratory commonly used for that purpose by state law enforcement agencies;
- (e) the chemical test was confirmed by gas chromatography, gas chromatography-mass spectroscopy or other comparably reliable analytical method, except that no such confirmation is required for a blood alcohol sample or a breath alcohol test;
- (f) the breath alcohol test was administered by an individual trained to perform breath tests, the breath testing instrument used was certified and operated strictly according to a description provided by the manufacturers and the reliability of the instrument performance was assured by testing with alcohol standards; and
- (g) the foundation evidence establishes, beyond a reasonable doubt, that the test results were from the sample taken from the individual;
 - (iv) an individual's refusal to submit to a chemical test or breath alcohol test, provided:
 - (a) The test meets the standards of the drug free workplace act, 41 U.S.C. § 701 et seq.;
 - (b) the test was administered as part of an employee assistance program or other drug or

alcohol treatment program in which the employee was participating voluntarily or as a condition of further employment;

- (c) the test was otherwise required by law and the test constituted a required condition of employment for the individual's job;
- (d) the test was requested pursuant to a written policy of the employer of which the employee had knowledge and was a required condition of employment; or
- (e) there was reasonable suspicion to believe that the individual used, possessed or was impaired by alcoholic liquor, cereal malt beverage or a nonprescribed controlled substance while working;
 - (v) an individual's dilution or other tampering of a chemical test.
 - (C) For purposes of this subsection:
- (i) "Alcohol concentration" means the number of grams of alcohol per 210 liters of breath;
- (ii) "alcoholic liquor" shall be defined as provided in K.S.A. 41-102, and amendments thereto;
- (iii) "cereal malt beverage" shall be defined as provided in K.S.A. 41-2701, and amendments thereto;
 - (iv) "chemical test" shall include, but is not limited to, tests of urine, blood or saliva;
- (v) "controlled substance" shall be defined as provided in K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5701, and amendments thereto;
- (vi) "required by law" means required by a federal or state law, a federal or state rule or regulation having the force and effect of law, a county resolution or municipal ordinance, or a

policy relating to public safety adopted in an open meeting by the governing body of any special district or other local governmental entity;

- (vii) "positive breath test" shall mean a test result showing an alcohol concentration of 0.04 or greater, or the levels listed in 49 C.F.R. part 40, if applicable, unless the test was administered as part of an employee assistance program or other drug or alcohol treatment program in which the employee was participating voluntarily or as a condition of further employment, in which case "positive chemical test" shall mean a test result showing an alcohol concentration at or above the levels provided for in the assistance or treatment program;
- (viii) "positive chemical test" shall mean a chemical result showing a concentration at or above the levels listed in K.S.A. 44-501, and amendments thereto, or 49 C.F.R. part 40, as applicable, for the drugs or abuse listed therein, unless the test was administered as part of an employee assistance program or other drug or alcohol treatment program in which the employee was participating voluntarily or as a condition of further employment, in which case "positive chemical test" shall mean a chemical result showing a concentration at or above the levels provided for in the assistance or treatment program.
- (4) An individual shall not be disqualified under this subsection if the individual is discharged under the following circumstances:
- (A) The employer discharged the individual after learning the individual was seeking other work or when the individual gave notice of future intent to quit, except that the individual shall be disqualified after the time at which such individual intended to quit and any individual who commits misconduct after such individual gives notice to such individual's intent to quit shall be disqualified;

- (B) the individual was making a good-faith effort to do the assigned work but was discharged due to: (i) Inefficiency; (ii) unsatisfactory performance due to inability, incapacity or lack of training or experience; (iii) isolated instances of ordinary negligence or inadvertence; (iv) good-faith errors in judgment or discretion; or (v) unsatisfactory work or conduct due to circumstances beyond the individual's control; or
 - (C) the individual's refusal to perform work in excess of the contract of hire.
- (c) If the individual has failed, without good cause, to either apply for suitable work when so directed by the employment office of the secretary of labor, or to accept suitable work when offered to the individual by the employment office, the secretary of labor, or an employer, such disqualification shall begin with the week in which such failure occurred and shall continue until the individual becomes reemployed and has had earnings from insured work of at least three times such individual's determined weekly benefit amount. In determining whether or not any work is suitable for an individual, the secretary of labor, or a person or persons designated by the secretary, shall consider the degree of risk involved to health, safety and morals, physical fitness and prior training, experience and prior earnings, length of unemployment and prospects for securing local work in the individual's customary occupation or work for which the individual is reasonably fitted by training or experience, and the distance of the available work from the individual's residence. Notwithstanding any other provisions of this act, an otherwise eligible individual shall not be disqualified for refusing an offer of suitable employment, or failing to apply for suitable employment when notified by an employment office, or for leaving the individual's most recent work accepted during approved training, including training approved under section 236(a)(1) of the trade act of 1974, if the acceptance of or applying for suitable

employment or continuing such work would require the individual to terminate approved training and no work shall be deemed suitable and benefits shall not be denied under this act to any otherwise eligible individual for refusing to accept new work under any of the following conditions: (1) If the position offered is vacant due directly to a strike, lockout or other labor dispute; (2) if the remuneration, hours or other conditions of the work offered are substantially less favorable to the individual than those prevailing for similar work in the locality; (3) if as a condition of being employed, the individual would be required to join or to resign from or refrain from joining any labor organization; and (4) if the individual left employment as a result of domestic violence, and the position offered does not reasonably accommodate the individual's physical, psychological, safety, or legal needs relating to such domestic violence.

(d) For any week with respect to which the secretary of labor, or a person or persons designated by the secretary, finds that the individual's unemployment is due to a stoppage of work which exists because of a labor dispute or there would have been a work stoppage had normal operations not been maintained with other personnel previously and currently employed by the same employer at the factory, establishment or other premises at which the individual is or was last employed, except that this subsection (d) shall not apply if it is shown to the satisfaction of the secretary of labor, or a person or persons designated by the secretary, that: (1) The individual is not participating in or financing or directly interested in the labor dispute which caused the stoppage of work; and (2) the individual does not belong to a grade or class of workers of which, immediately before the commencement of the stoppage, there were members employed at the premises at which the stoppage occurs any of whom are participating in or financing or directly interested in the dispute. If in any case separate branches of work which are

commonly conducted as separate businesses in separate premises are conducted in separate departments of the same premises, each such department shall, for the purpose of this subsection be deemed to be a separate factory, establishment or other premises. For the purposes of this subsection, failure or refusal to cross a picket line or refusal for any reason during the continuance of such labor dispute to accept the individual's available and customary work at the factory, establishment or other premises where the individual is or was last employed shall be considered as participation and interest in the labor dispute.

- (e) For any week with respect to which or a part of which the individual has received or is seeking unemployment benefits under the unemployment compensation law of any other state or of the United States, except that if the appropriate agency of such other state or the United States finally determines that the individual is not entitled to such unemployment benefits, this disqualification shall not apply.
- (f) For any week with respect to which the individual is entitled to receive any unemployment allowance or compensation granted by the United States under an act of congress to ex-service men and women in recognition of former service with the military or naval services of the United States.
- (g) For the period of five years beginning with the first day following the last week of unemployment for which the individual received benefits, or for five years from the date the act was committed, whichever is the later, if the individual, or another in such individual's behalf with the knowledge of the individual, has knowingly made a false statement or representation, or has knowingly failed to disclose a material fact to obtain or increase benefits under this act or any other unemployment compensation law administered by the secretary of labor. In addition to

the penalties set forth in K.S.A. 44-719, and amendments thereto, an individual who has knowingly made a false statement or representation or who has knowingly failed to disclose a material fact to obtain or increase benefits under this act or any other unemployment compensation law administered by the secretary of labor shall be liable for a penalty in the amount equal to 25% of the amount of benefits unlawfully received. Notwithstanding any other provision of law, such penalty shall be deposited into the employment security trust fund.

- (h) For any week with respect to which the individual is receiving compensation for temporary total disability or permanent total disability under the workmen's compensation law of any state or under a similar law of the United States.
- (i) For any week of unemployment on the basis of service in an instructional, research or principal administrative capacity for an educational institution as defined in subsection (v) of K.S.A. 44-703(v), and amendments thereto, if such week begins during the period between two successive academic years or terms or, when an agreement provides instead for a similar period between two regular but not successive terms during such period or during a period of paid sabbatical leave provided for in the individual's contract, if the individual performs such services in the first of such academic years or terms and there is a contract or a reasonable assurance that such individual will perform services in any such capacity for any educational institution in the second of such academic years or terms.
- (j) For any week of unemployment on the basis of service in any capacity other than service in an instructional, research, or administrative capacity in an educational institution, as defined in subsection (v) of K.S.A. 44-703(v), and amendments thereto, if such week begins during the period between two successive academic years or terms if the individual performs

such services in the first of such academic years or terms and there is a reasonable assurance that the individual will perform such services in the second of such academic years or terms, except that if benefits are denied to the individual under this subsection and the individual was not offered an opportunity to perform such services for the educational institution for the second of such academic years or terms, such individual shall be entitled to a retroactive payment of benefits for each week for which the individual filed a timely claim for benefits and for which benefits were denied solely by reason of this subsection.

- (k) For any week of unemployment on the basis of service in any capacity for an educational institution as defined in—subsection (v) of K.S.A. 44-703(v), and amendments thereto, if such week begins during an established and customary vacation period or holiday recess, if the individual performs services in the period immediately before such vacation period or holiday recess and there is a reasonable assurance that such individual will perform such services in the period immediately following such vacation period or holiday recess.
- (l) For any week of unemployment on the basis of any services, substantially all of which consist of participating in sports or athletic events or training or preparing to so participate, if such week begins during the period between two successive sport seasons or similar period if such individual performed services in the first of such seasons or similar periods and there is a reasonable assurance that such individual will perform such services in the later of such seasons or similar periods.
- (m) For any week on the basis of services performed by an alien unless such alien is an individual who was lawfully admitted for permanent residence at the time such services were performed, was lawfully present for purposes of performing such services, or was permanently

residing in the United States under color of law at the time such services were performed, including an alien who was lawfully present in the United States as a result of the application of the provisions of section 212(d)(5) of the federal immigration and nationality act. Any data or information required of individuals applying for benefits to determine whether benefits are not payable to them because of their alien status shall be uniformly required from all applicants for benefits. In the case of an individual whose application for benefits would otherwise be approved, no determination that benefits to such individual are not payable because of such individual's alien status shall be made except upon a preponderance of the evidence.

(n) For any week in which an individual is receiving a governmental or other pension, retirement or retired pay, annuity or other similar periodic payment under a plan maintained by a base period employer and to which the entire contributions were provided by such employer, except that: (1) If the entire contributions to such plan were provided by the base period employer but such individual's weekly benefit amount exceeds such governmental or other pension, retirement or retired pay, annuity or other similar periodic payment attributable to such week, the weekly benefit amount payable to the individual shall be reduced, but not below zero, by an amount equal to the amount of such pension, retirement or retired pay, annuity or other similar periodic payment which is attributable to such week; or (2) if only a portion of contributions to such plan were provided by the base period employer, the weekly benefit amount payable to such individual for such week shall be reduced, but not below zero, by the prorated weekly amount of the pension, retirement or retired pay, annuity or other similar periodic payment after deduction of that portion of the pension, retirement or retired pay, annuity or other similar periodic payment that is directly attributable to the percentage of the

contributions made to the plan by such individual; or (3) if the entire contributions to the plan were provided by such individual, or by the individual and an employer, or any person or organization, who is not a base period employer, no reduction in the weekly benefit amount payable to the individual for such week shall be made under this subsection; or (4) whatever portion of contributions to such plan were provided by the base period employer, if the services performed for the employer by such individual during the base period, or remuneration received for the services, did not affect the individual's eligibility for, or increased the amount of, such pension, retirement or retired pay, annuity or other similar periodic payment, no reduction in the weekly benefit amount payable to the individual for such week shall be made under this subsection. No reduction shall be made for payments made under the social security act or railroad retirement act of 1974.

- (o) For any week of unemployment on the basis of services performed in any capacity and under any of the circumstances described in subsection (i), (j) or (k) which an individual performed in an educational institution while in the employ of an educational service agency. For the purposes of this subsection, the term "educational service agency" means a governmental agency or entity which is established and operated exclusively for the purpose of providing such services to one or more educational institutions.
- (p) For any week of unemployment on the basis of service as a school bus or other motor vehicle driver employed by a private contractor to transport pupils, students and school personnel to or from school-related functions or activities for an educational institution, as defined in subsection (v) of K.S.A. 44-703(v), and amendments thereto, if such week begins during the period between two successive academic years or during a similar period between two

regular terms, whether or not successive, if the individual has a contract or contracts, or a reasonable assurance thereof, to perform services in any such capacity with a private contractor for any educational institution for both such academic years or both such terms. An individual shall not be disqualified for benefits as provided in this subsection for any week of unemployment on the basis of service as a bus or other motor vehicle driver employed by a private contractor to transport persons to or from nonschool-related functions or activities.

- (q) For any week of unemployment on the basis of services performed by the individual in any capacity and under any of the circumstances described in subsection (i), (j), (k) or (o) which are provided to or on behalf of an educational institution, as defined in subsection (v) of K.S.A. 44-703(v), and amendments thereto, while the individual is in the employ of an employer which is a governmental entity, Indian tribe or any employer described in section 501(c)(3) of the federal internal revenue code of 1986 which is exempt from income under section 501(a) of the code.
- (r) For any week in which an individual is registered at and attending an established school, training facility or other educational institution, or is on vacation during or between two successive academic years or terms. An individual shall not be disqualified for benefits as provided in this subsection provided:
- (1) The individual was engaged in full-time employment concurrent with the individual's school attendance;
- (2) the individual is attending approved training as defined in-subsection (s) of K.S.A. 44-703(s), and amendments thereto; or
 - (3) the individual is attending evening, weekend or limited day time classes, which

would not affect availability for work, and is otherwise eligible under-subsection (e) of K.S.A. 44-705(c), and amendments thereto.

- (s) For any week with respect to which an individual is receiving or has received remuneration in the form of a back pay award or settlement. The remuneration shall be allocated to the week or weeks in the manner as specified in the award or agreement, or in the absence of such specificity in the award or agreement, such remuneration shall be allocated to the week or weeks in which such remuneration, in the judgment of the secretary, would have been paid.
- (1) For any such weeks that an individual receives remuneration in the form of a back pay award or settlement, an overpayment will be established in the amount of unemployment benefits paid and shall be collected from the claimant.
- (2) If an employer chooses to withhold from a back pay award or settlement, amounts paid to a claimant while they claimed unemployment benefits, such employer shall pay the department the amount withheld. With respect to such amount, the secretary shall have available all of the collection remedies authorized or provided in K.S.A. 44-717, and amendments thereto.
- (t) (1) Any applicant for or recipient of unemployment benefits who tests positive for unlawful use of a controlled substance or controlled substance analog shall be required to complete a substance abuse treatment program approved by the secretary of labor, secretary of commerce or secretary for children and families, and a job skills program approved by the secretary of labor, secretary of commerce or the secretary for children and families. Subject to applicable federal laws, any applicant for or recipient of unemployment benefits who fails to complete or refuses to participate in the substance abuse treatment program or job skills program as required under this subsection shall be ineligible to receive unemployment benefits until

completion of such substance abuse treatment and job skills programs. Upon completion of both substance abuse treatment and job skills programs, such applicant for or recipient of unemployment benefits may be subject to periodic drug screening, as determined by the secretary of labor. Upon a second positive test for unlawful use of a controlled substance or controlled substance analog, an applicant for or recipient of unemployment benefits shall be ordered to complete again a substance abuse treatment program and job skills program, and shall be terminated from unemployment benefits for a period of 12 months, or until such applicant for or recipient of unemployment benefits completes both substance abuse treatment and job skills programs, whichever is later. Upon a third positive test for unlawful use of a controlled substance or controlled substance analog, an applicant for or a recipient of unemployment benefits shall be terminated from receiving unemployment benefits, subject to applicable federal law.

- (2) Any individual who has been discharged or refused employment for failing a preemployment drug screen required by an employer may request that the drug screening specimen be sent to a different drug testing facility for an additional drug screening. Any such individual who requests an additional drug screening at a different drug testing facility shall be required to pay the cost of drug screening.
- (u) If the individual was found not to have a disqualifying adjudication or conviction under K.S.A. 39-970 or 65-5117, and amendments thereto, was hired and then was subsequently convicted of a disqualifying felony under K.S.A. 39-970 or 65-5117, and amendments thereto, and discharged pursuant to K.S.A. 39-970 or 65-5117, and amendments thereto. The disqualification shall begin the day following the separation and shall continue until after the individual becomes reemployed and has had earnings from insured work of at least three times

the individual's determined weekly benefit amount.

- Sec. 18. K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 59-2132 is hereby amended to read as follows: 59-2132. (a) Except as provided in subsection (h), in independent and agency adoptions, the court shall require the petitioner to obtain an assessment of the advisability of the adoption by a court approved:
- (1) (A) Licensed social worker, licensed specialist social worker, licensed specialist clinical social worker, licensed masters social worker, licensed baccalaureate social worker or licensed associate social worker licensed by the behavioral sciences regulatory board;
- (B) licensed clinical marriage and family therapist as defined in K.S.A. 65-6402, and amendments thereto;
- (C) licensed marriage and family therapist as defined in K.S.A. 65-6402, and amendments thereto;
- (D) licensed clinical professional counselor as defined in K.S.A. 65-5802, and amendments thereto;
- (E) licensed professional counselor as defined in K.S.A. 65-5802, and amendments thereto;
 - (F) licensed psychologist as defined in K.S.A. 65-6319, and amendments thereto;
- (G) licensed masters level psychologist as defined in K.S.A. 74-5362, and amendments thereto:
- (H) licensed clinical psychotherapist as defined in K.S.A. 74-5363, and amendments thereto; or
 - (I) a licensed child-placing agency.

- (2) Any person performing an assessment pursuant to this subsection shall:
- (A) Possess a minimum of two years experience in adoption services or be supervised by a person with such experience; or
- (B) if licensed by the behavioral sciences regulatory board to diagnose and treat mental disorders in independent practice, possess a minimum of one year of experience in adoption services or be supervised by a person with such experience.
- (b) The petitioner shall file with the court, not less than 10 days before the hearing on the petition, a report of the assessment and, if necessary, confirmation or clarification of the information filed under K.S.A. 59-2130, and amendments thereto.
- (c) If there is no one authorized pursuant to this section available to make the assessment and report to the court, the court may use the Kansas department for children and families for that purpose.
- (d) The costs of making the assessment and report may be assessed as court costs in the case as provided in article 20 of chapter 60 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and amendments thereto.
- (e) In making the assessment, the person authorized pursuant to this section or Kansas department for children and families is authorized to observe the child in the petitioner's home, verify financial information of the petitioner, shall clear the name of the petitioner with the child abuse and neglect registry through the Kansas department for children and families and, when appropriate, with a similar registry in another state or nation, shall determine whether the petitioner has been convicted of a felony for any act described in articles 34, 35 or 36 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, prior to their repeal, or articles 54, 55 or 56 of chapter 21 of

the Kansas Statutes Annotated, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6104, 21-6325, 21-6326 or 21-6418 through-21-6421_21-6422, and amendments thereto, or, within the last five years been convicted of a felony violation of K.S.A. 2010 Supp. 21-36a01 through 21-36a17, prior to their transfer, or article 57 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and amendments thereto, or any felony violation of any provision of the uniform controlled substances act prior to July 1, 2009, and, when appropriate, any similar conviction in another jurisdiction, and to contact the agency or individuals consenting to the adoption and confirm and, if necessary, clarify any genetic and medical history filed with the petition. This information shall be made a part of the report to the court. The report to the court by any person authorized pursuant to this section to perform this assessment shall include the results of the investigation of the petitioner, the petitioner's home and the ability of the petitioner to care for the child.

- (f) In the case of a nonresident who is filing a petition to adopt a child in Kansas, the assessment and report required by this section must be completed in the petitioner's state of residence by a person authorized in that state to conduct such assessments. Such report shall be filed with the court not less than 10 days before the hearing on the petition.
- (g) The assessment and report required by this section shall comply with any applicable rules and regulations of the department of health and environment and shall have been completed not more than one year prior to the filing of the petition for adoption.
- (h) The assessment and report required by this section may be waived by the court upon: (1) Review of a petition requesting such waiver by a relative of the child; or
 - (2) the court's own motion.
 - Sec. 19. K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 59-29a14 is hereby amended to read as follows: 59-29a14.

- (a) The county or district attorney shall file a special allegation of sexual motivation within 14 days after arraignment in every criminal case other than sex offenses as defined in article 35 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, prior to their repeal, or article 55 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6419 through—21-6421_21-6422, and amendments thereto, when sufficient admissible evidence exists, which, when considered with the most plausible, reasonably foreseeable defense that could be raised under the evidence, would justify a finding of sexual motivation by a reasonable and objective fact finder.
- (b) In a criminal case wherein there has been a special allegation, the state shall prove beyond a reasonable doubt that the accused committed the crime with a sexual motivation. The court shall make a finding of fact of whether or not a sexual motivation was present at the time of the commission of the crime, or if a jury trial is had, the jury, if it finds the defendant guilty, also shall find a special verdict as to whether or not the defendant committed the crime with a sexual motivation. This finding shall not be applied to sex offenses as defined in article 35 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, prior to their repeal, or article 55 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6419 through—21-6421_21-6422, and amendments thereto.
- (c) The county or district attorney shall not withdraw the special allegation of sexual motivation without approval of the court through an order of dismissal of the special allegation. The court shall not dismiss this special allegation unless it finds that such an order is necessary to correct an error in the initial charging decision or unless there are evidentiary problems which make proving the special allegation doubtful.
 - Sec. 20. K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 60-455 is hereby amended to read as follows: 60-455. (a)

Subject to K.S.A. 60-447, and amendments thereto, evidence that a person committed a crime or civil wrong on a specified occasion, is inadmissible to prove such person's disposition to commit crime or civil wrong as the basis for an inference that the person committed another crime or civil wrong on another specified occasion.

- (b) Subject to K.S.A. 60-445 and 60-448, and amendments thereto, such evidence is admissible when relevant to prove some other material fact including motive, opportunity, intent, preparation, plan, knowledge, identity or absence of mistake or accident.
- (c) Subject to K.S.A. 60-445 and 60-448, and amendments thereto, in any criminal action other than a criminal action in which the defendant is accused of a sex offense under articles 34, 35 or 36 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, prior to their repeal, or articles 54, 55 or 56 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6104, 21-6325, 21-6326 or 21-6418 21-6419 through 21-6421 21-6422, and amendments thereto, such evidence is admissible to show the modus operandi or general method used by a defendant to perpetrate similar but totally unrelated crimes when the method of committing the prior acts is so similar to that utilized in the current case before the court that it is reasonable to conclude the same individual committed both acts.
- (d) Except as provided in K.S.A. 60-445, and amendments thereto, in a criminal action in which the defendant is accused of a sex offense under articles 34, 35 or 36 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, prior to their repeal, or articles 54, 55 or 56 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6104, 21-6325, 21-6326 or 21-6418 21-6419 through 21-6421 21-6422, and amendments thereto, evidence of the defendant's commission of another act or offense of sexual misconduct is admissible, and may be considered

for its bearing on any matter to which it is relevant and probative.

- (e) In a criminal action in which the prosecution intends to offer evidence under this rule, the prosecuting attorney shall disclose the evidence to the defendant, including statements of witnesses, at least 10 days before the scheduled date of trial or at such later time as the court may allow for good cause.
- (f) This rule shall not be construed to limit the admission or consideration of evidence under any other rule or to limit the admissibility of the evidence of other crimes or civil wrongs in a criminal action under a criminal statute other than in articles 34, 35 or 36 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, prior to their repeal, or articles 54, 55 or 56 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6104, 21-6325, 21-6326 or 21-6418 21-6419 through 21-6421 21-6422, and amendments thereto.
 - (g) As used in this section, an "act or offense of sexual misconduct" includes:
- (1) Any conduct proscribed by article 35 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, prior to their repeal, or article 55 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6419 through 21-6421 21-6422, and amendments thereto;
- (2) the sexual gratification component of aggravated human trafficking, as described in subsection (a)(1)(B) and (a)(2) of K.S.A. 21-3447(a)(1)(B) or (a)(2), prior to its repeal, or subsection (b)(1)(B) or (b)(2) of K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5426(b)(1)(B) or (b)(2), and amendments thereto;
- (3) exposing another to a life threatening communicable disease, as described in subsection (a)(1) of K.S.A. 21-3435(a)(1), prior to its repeal, or subsection (a)(1) of K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5424(a)(1), and amendments thereto;

- (4) incest, as described in K.S.A. 21-3602, prior to its repeal, or subsection (a) of K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5604(a), and amendments thereto;
- (5) aggravated incest, as described in K.S.A. 21-3603, prior to its repeal, or subsection (b) of K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5604(b), and amendments thereto;
- (6) contact, without consent, between any part of the defendant's body or an object and the genitals, mouth or anus of the victim;
- (7) contact, without consent, between the genitals, mouth or anus of the defendant and any part of the victim's body;
- (8) deriving sexual pleasure or gratification from the infliction of death, bodily injury or physical pain to the victim;
- (9) an attempt, solicitation or conspiracy to engage in conduct described in paragraphs(1) through (8); or
- ordinance or county resolution, that would constitute an offense under article 35 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, prior to their repeal, or article 55 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6419 through—21-6421 21-6422, and amendments thereto, the sexual gratification component of aggravated human trafficking, as described in subsection (a)(1)(B) and (a)(2) of K.S.A. 21-3447(a)(1)(B) or (a)(2), prior to its repeal, or subsection (b)(1)(B) or (b)(2) of K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5426(b)(1)(B) or (b)(2), and amendments thereto; incest, as described in K.S.A. 21-3602, prior to its repeal, or—subsection (a) of K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5604(a), and amendments thereto; or aggravated incest, as described in K.S.A. 21-3603, prior to its repeal, or—subsection (b) of K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5604(b), and amendments

thereto, or involved conduct described in paragraphs (6) through (9).

- (h) If any provisions of this section or the application thereof to any person or circumstances is held invalid, the invalidity does not affect other provisions or applications of this section which can be given effect without the invalid provisions or application. To this end the provisions of this section are severable.
- Sec. 21. K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 60-5001 is hereby amended to read as follows: 60-5001. (a) Any person who, while under the age of 18, was a victim of an offense described in article 35 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, prior to their repeal, or article 55 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6419 through 21-6421 21-6422, and amendments thereto, human trafficking, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3446, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5426(a), and amendments thereto, aggravated human trafficking, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3447, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5426(b), and amendments thereto, incest as defined in K.S.A. 21-3602, prior to its repeal, or subsection (a) of K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5604(a), and amendments thereto, or aggravated incest as defined in subsection (a)(2) of K.S.A. 21-3603(a)(2), prior to its repeal, or subsection (b)(2) of K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5604(b)(2), and amendments thereto, where such offense resulted in a conviction and any portion of such offense was used in the production of child pornography, and who suffers personal or psychological injury as a result of the production, promotion, or possession of such child pornography, may bring an action in an appropriate state court against the producer, promoter or intentional possessor of such child pornography, regardless of whether the victim is now an adult.
 - (b) In any action brought under this section, a prevailing plaintiff shall recover the

actual damages such person sustained and the cost of the suit, including reasonable attorney's fees. Any victim who is awarded damages under this section shall be deemed to have sustained damages of at least \$150,000.

- (c) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, any action commenced under this section shall be filed within three years after the later of:
 - (1) The conclusion of a related criminal case;
- (2) the notification to the victim by a member of a law enforcement agency of the creation, possession, or promotion of the child pornography; or
- (3) in the case of a victim younger than 18, within three years after the person reaches the age of 18.
- (d) It is not a defense to a civil cause of action under this section that the respondent did not know the victim or commit the abuse depicted in the child pornography.
- (e) At the victim's request, the attorney general may pursue cases on behalf of any Kansas victim under this section. All damages obtained shall go to the victim, and the attorney general may seek reasonable attorney's fees and costs.
- (f) Any action brought under this section shall be subject to the provisions of K.S.A. 74-7312, and amendments thereto.
- (g) As used in this section, "child pornography" includes, but is not limited to, any visual depiction, as described in subsection (a) of K.S.A. 21-3516(a), prior to its repeal, or subsection (a) of K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5510(a), and amendments thereto, and any performance, as defined in subsection (b) of K.S.A. 21-3516(b), prior to its repeal, or subsection (c) of K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5510(c), and amendments thereto.

- (h) This section shall not apply to acts done in the performance of duty by any: (1) Law enforcement officer of the state of Kansas or any political subdivision thereof; (2) forensic examiner; (3) any prosecuting attorney, as defined in K.S.A. 22-2202, and amendments thereto; or (4) any bona fide child advocacy organization, including, but not limited to, the national center for missing and exploited children.
- Sec. 22. K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 65-5117 is hereby amended to read as follows: 65-5117. (a) (1) No person shall knowingly operate a home health agency if, for the home health agency, there works any person who has been convicted of or has been adjudicated a juvenile offender because of having committed an act which if done by an adult would constitute the commission of capital murder, pursuant to K.S.A. 21-3439, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5401, and amendments thereto, first degree murder, pursuant to K.S.A. 21-3401, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5402, and amendments thereto, second degree murder, pursuant to subsection (a) of K.S.A. 21-3402(a), prior to its repeal, or subsection (a) of K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5403(a), and amendments thereto, voluntary manslaughter, pursuant to K.S.A. 21-3403, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5404, and amendments thereto, assisting suicide, pursuant to K.S.A. 21-3406, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5407, and amendments thereto, mistreatment of a dependent adult or mistreatment of an elder person, pursuant to K.S.A. 21-3437, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5417, and amendments thereto, human trafficking, pursuant to K.S.A. 21-3446, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5426(a), and amendments thereto, aggravated human trafficking, pursuant to K.S.A. 21-3447, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5426(b), and amendments thereto, rape, pursuant to K.S.A. 21-3502, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5503, and amendments thereto, indecent

liberties with a child, pursuant to K.S.A. 21-3503, prior to its repeal, or subsection (a) of K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5506(a), and amendments thereto, aggravated indecent liberties with a child, pursuant to K.S.A. 21-3504, prior to its repeal, or subsection (b) of K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5506(b), and amendments thereto, aggravated criminal sodomy, pursuant to K.S.A. 21-3506, prior to its repeal, or subsection (b) of K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5504(b), and amendments thereto, indecent solicitation of a child, pursuant to K.S.A. 21-3510, prior to its repeal, or subsection (a) of K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5508(a), and amendments thereto, aggravated indecent solicitation of a child, pursuant to K.S.A. 21-3511, prior to its repeal, or subsection (b) of K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5508(b), and amendments thereto, sexual exploitation of a child, pursuant to K.S.A. 21-3516, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5510, and amendments thereto, sexual battery, pursuant to K.S.A. 21-3517, prior to its repeal, or-subsection (a) of K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5505(a), and amendments thereto, or aggravated sexual battery, pursuant to K.S.A. 21-3518, prior to its repeal, or subsection (b) of K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5505(b), and amendments thereto, commercial sexual exploitation of a child, pursuant to K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6422, and amendments thereto, an attempt to commit any of the crimes listed in this subsection (a)(1), pursuant to K.S.A. 21-3301, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5301, and amendments thereto, a conspiracy to commit any of the crimes listed in this subsection (a)(1), pursuant to K.S.A. 21-3302, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5302, and amendments thereto, or criminal solicitation of any of the crimes listed in this subsection (a)(1), pursuant to K.S.A. 21-3303, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5303, and amendments thereto, or similar statutes of other states or the federal government. The provisions of subsection (a)(2)(C) shall not apply to any person who is employed by a home health agency on July 1, 2010, and while

continuously employed by the same home health agency.

(2) A person operating a home health agency may employ an applicant who has been convicted of any of the following if five or more years have elapsed since the applicant satisfied the sentence imposed or was discharged from probation, a community correctional services program, parole, postrelease supervision, conditional release or a suspended sentence; or if five or more years have elapsed since the applicant has been finally discharged from the custody of the commissioner of juvenile justice or from probation or has been adjudicated a juvenile offender, whichever time is longer: A felony conviction for a crime which is described in: (A) Article 34 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, prior to their repeal, or article 54 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6104, 21-6325, 21-6326 or 21-6418, and amendments thereto, except those crimes listed in subsection (a)(1); (B) articles 35 or 36 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, prior to their repeal, or article 55 or 56 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6419 through 21-6421, and amendments thereto, except those crimes listed in subsection (a)(1) and K.S.A. 21-3605, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5606, and amendments thereto; (C) K.S.A. 21-3701, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5801, and amendments thereto; (D) an attempt to commit any of the crimes listed in this subsection (a)(2) pursuant to K.S.A. 21-3301, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5301, and amendments thereto; (E) a conspiracy to commit any of the crimes listed in subsection (a)(2) pursuant to K.S.A. 21-3302, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5302, and amendments thereto; (F) criminal solicitation of any of the crimes listed in subsection (a)(2) pursuant to K.S.A. 21-3303, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5303, and amendments thereto; or (G) similar statutes of other states or the federal

government.

- (b) No person shall operate a home health agency if such person has been found to be a person in need of a guardian or a conservator, or both, as provided in K.S.A. 59-3050 through 59-3095, and amendments thereto. The provisions of this subsection shall not apply to a minor found to be in need of a guardian or conservator for reasons other than impairment.
- (c) The secretary of health and environment shall have access to any criminal history record information in the possession of the Kansas bureau of investigation regarding any criminal history information, convictions under K.S.A. 21-3437, 21-3517 and 21-3701, prior to their repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5417,—subsection—(a) of 21-5505(a) and 21-5801, and amendments thereto, adjudications of a juvenile offender which if committed by an adult would have been a felony conviction, and adjudications of a juvenile offender for an offense described in K.S.A. 21-3437, 21-3517 and 21-3701, prior to their repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5417, subsection—(a) of 21-5505(a) and 21-5801, and amendments thereto, concerning persons working for a home health agency. The secretary shall have access to these records for the purpose of determining whether or not the home health agency meets the requirements of this section. The Kansas bureau of investigation may charge to the department of health and environment a reasonable fee for providing criminal history record information under this subsection.
- (d) For the purpose of complying with this section, the operator of a home health agency shall request from the department of health and environment information regarding any criminal history information, convictions under K.S.A. 21-3437, 21-3517 and 21-3701, prior to their repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5417, subsection (a) of 21-5505(a) and 21-5801, and amendments thereto, adjudications of a juvenile offender which if committed by an adult would

have been a felony conviction, and adjudications of a juvenile offender for an offense described in K.S.A. 21-3437, 21-3517 and 21-3701, prior to their repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5417, subsection (a) of 21-5505(a) and 21-5801, and amendments thereto, and which relates to a person who works for the home health agency or is being considered for employment by the home health agency, for the purpose of determining whether such person is subject to the provisions of this section. For the purpose of complying with this section, information relating to convictions and adjudications by the federal government or to convictions and adjudications in states other than Kansas shall not be required until such time as the secretary of health and environment determines the search for such information could reasonably be performed and the information obtained within a two-week period. For the purpose of complying with this section, the operator of a home health agency shall receive from any employment agency which provides employees to work for the home health agency written certification that such employees are not prohibited from working for the home health agency under this section. For the purpose of complying with this section, a person who operates a home health agency may hire an applicant for employment on a conditional basis pending the results from the department of health and environment of a request for information under this subsection. No home health agency, the operator or employees of a home health agency or an employment agency, or the operator or employees of an employment agency, which provides employees to work for the home health agency shall be liable for civil damages resulting from any decision to employ, to refuse to employ or to discharge from employment any person based on such home health agency's compliance with the provisions of this section if such home health agency or employment agency acts in good faith to comply with this section.

- (e) The secretary of health and environment shall charge each person requesting information under this section a fee equal to cost, not to exceed \$10, for each name about which an information request has been submitted under this section.
- (f) (1) The secretary of health and environment shall provide each operator requesting information under this section with the criminal history record information concerning any criminal history information and convictions under K.S.A. 21-3437, 21-3517 and 21-3701, prior to their repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5417, subsection (a) of 21-5505(a) and 21-5801, and amendments thereto, in writing and within three working days of receipt of such information from the Kansas bureau of investigation. The criminal history record information shall be provided regardless of whether the information discloses that the subject of the request has been convicted of an offense enumerated in subsection (a).
- (2) When an offense enumerated in subsection (a) exists in the criminal history record information, and when further confirmation regarding criminal history record information is required from the appropriate court of jurisdiction or Kansas department of corrections, the secretary shall notify each operator that requests information under this section in writing and within three working days of receipt from the Kansas bureau of investigation that further confirmation is required. The secretary shall provide to the operator requesting information under this section information in writing and within three working days of receipt of such information from the appropriate court of jurisdiction or Kansas department of corrections regarding confirmation regarding the criminal history record information.
- (3) Whenever the criminal history record information reveals that the subject of the request has no criminal history on record, the secretary shall provide notice to each operator

requesting information under this section, in writing and within three working days after receipt of such information from the Kansas bureau of investigation.

- (4) The secretary of health and environment shall not provide each operator requesting information under this section with the juvenile criminal history record information which relates to a person subject to a background check as is provided by K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 38-2326, and amendments thereto, except for adjudications of a juvenile offender for an offense described in K.S.A. 21-3701, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5801, and amendments thereto. The secretary shall notify the operator that requested the information, in writing and within three working days of receipt of such information from the Kansas bureau of investigation, whether juvenile criminal history record information received pursuant to this section reveals that the operator would or would not be prohibited by this section from employing the subject of the request for information and whether such information contains adjudications of a juvenile offender for an offense described in K.S.A. 21-3701, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5801, and amendments thereto.
- (5) An operator who receives criminal history record information under this subsection (f) shall keep such information confidential, except that the operator may disclose such information to the person who is the subject of the request for information. A violation of this paragraph (5) shall be an unclassified misdemeanor punishable by a fine of \$100.
- (g) No person who works for a home health agency and who is currently licensed or registered by an agency of this state to provide professional services in this state and who provides such services as part of the work which such person performs for the home health agency shall be subject to the provisions of this section.

- (h) A person who volunteers to assist a home health agency shall not be subject to the provisions of this section because of such volunteer activity.
- (i) An operator may request from the department of health and environment criminal history information on persons employed under subsections (g) and (h).
- (j) No person who has been employed by the same home health agency since July 1, 1992, shall be subject to the requirements of this section while employed by such home health agency.
- (k) The operator of a home health agency shall not be required under this section to conduct a background check on an applicant for employment with the home health agency if the applicant has been the subject of a background check under this act within one year prior to the application for employment with the home health agency. The operator of a home health agency where the applicant was the subject of such background check may release a copy of such background check to the operator of a home health agency where the applicant is currently applying.
- (1) For purposes of this section, the Kansas bureau of investigation shall only report felony convictions, convictions under K.S.A. 21-3437, 21-3517 and 21-3701, prior to their repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5417,—subsection—(a)—of 21-5505(a) and 21-5801, and amendments thereto, adjudications of a juvenile offender which if committed by an adult would have been a felony conviction, and adjudications of a juvenile offender for an offense described in K.S.A. 21-3437, 21-3517 and 21-3701, prior to their repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5417, subsection (a) of 21-5505(a) and 21-5801, and amendments thereto, to the secretary of health and environment when a background check is requested.

- (m) This section shall be part of and supplemental to the provisions of article 51 of chapter 65 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and amendments thereto.
- Sec. 23. K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 72-1397 is hereby amended to read as follows: 72-1397. (a) The state board of education shall not knowingly issue a license to or renew the license of any person who has been convicted of:
- (1) Rape, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3502, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5503, and amendments thereto;
- (2) indecent liberties with a child, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3503, prior to its repeal, or subsection (a) of K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5506(a), and amendments thereto;
- (3) aggravated indecent liberties with a child, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3504, prior to its repeal, or subsection (b) of K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5506(b), and amendments thereto;
- (4) criminal sodomy, as defined in-subsection (a)(2) or (a)(3) of K.S.A. 21-3505(a)(2) or (a)(3), prior to its repeal, or-subsection (a)(3) or (a)(4) of K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5504(a)(3) or (a)(4), and amendments thereto;
- (5) aggravated criminal sodomy, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3506, prior to its repeal, or subsection (b) of K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5504(b), and amendments thereto;
- (6) indecent solicitation of a child, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3510, prior to its repeal, or subsection (a) of K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5508(a), and amendments thereto;
- (7) aggravated indecent solicitation of a child, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3511, prior to its repeal, or subsection (b) of K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5508(b), and amendments thereto;
- (8) sexual exploitation of a child, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3516, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5510, and amendments thereto;

- (9) aggravated incest, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3603, prior to its repeal, or subsection (b) of K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5604(b), and amendments thereto;
- (10) aggravated endangering a child, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3608a, prior to its repeal, or-subsection (b) of K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5601(b), and amendments thereto;
- (11) abuse of a child, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3609, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5602, and amendments thereto;
- (12) capital murder, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3439, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5401, and amendments thereto;
- (13) murder in the first degree, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3401, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5402, and amendments thereto;
- (14) murder in the second degree, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3402, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5403, and amendments thereto;
- (15) voluntary manslaughter, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3403, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5404, and amendments thereto;
- (16) involuntary manslaughter, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3404, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5405, and amendments thereto;
- (17) involuntary manslaughter while driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3442, prior to its repeal;
- (18) sexual battery, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3517, prior to its repeal, or-subsection (a) of K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5505(a), and amendments thereto, when, at the time the crime was committed, the victim was less than 18 years of age or a student of the person committing such crime;

- (19) aggravated sexual battery, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3518, prior to its repeal, or subsection (b) of K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5505(b), and amendments thereto;
- (20) commercial sexual exploitation of a child, as defined in K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6422, and amendments thereto;
- (21) human trafficking, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3446, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5426(a), and amendments thereto;
- (22) aggravated human trafficking, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3447, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5426(b), and amendments thereto;
- (20)-(23) attempt under K.S.A. 21-3301, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5301, and amendments thereto, to commit any act specified in this subsection;
- (21) (24) conspiracy under K.S.A. 21-3302, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5302, and amendments thereto, to commit any act specified in this subsection;
- (22) (25) an act in another state or by the federal government that is comparable to any act described in this subsection; or
- (23) (26) an offense in effect at any time prior to the effective date of this act that is comparable to an offense as provided in this subsection.
- (b) Except as provided in subsection (c), the state board of education shall not knowingly issue a license to or renew the license of any person who has been convicted of, or has entered into a criminal diversion agreement after having been charged with:
- (1) A felony under K.S.A. 2010 Supp. 21-36a01 through 21-36a17, prior to their transfer, or article 57 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and amendments thereto, or any felony violation of any provision of the uniform controlled substances act prior to July 1,

2009;

- (2) a felony described in any section of article 34 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, prior to their repeal, or article 54 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6104, 21-6325, 21-6326 or 21-6418, and amendments thereto, other than an act specified in subsection (a), or a battery, as described in K.S.A. 21-3412, prior to its repeal, or subsection (a) of K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5413(a), and amendments thereto, or domestic battery, as described in K.S.A. 21-3412a, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5414, and amendments thereto, if the victim is a minor or student;
- (3) a felony described in any section of article 35 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, prior to their repeal, or article 55 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6419 through 21-6421, and amendments thereto, other than an act specified in subsection (a);
- (4) any act described in any section of article 36 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, prior to their repeal, or article 56 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and amendments thereto, other than an act specified in subsection (a);
- (5) a felony described in article 37 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, prior to their repeal, or article 58 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, or—subsection (a)(6) of K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6412(a)(6), and amendments thereto;
- (6) promoting obscenity, as described in K.S.A. 21-4301, prior to its repeal, or subsection (a) of K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6401(a), and amendments thereto, promoting obscenity to minors, as described in K.S.A. 21-4301a, prior to its repeal, or subsection (b) of K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6401(b), and amendments thereto, or promoting to minors obscenity harmful to minors,

as described in K.S.A. 21-4301c, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6402, and amendments thereto;

- (7) endangering a child, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3608, prior to its repeal, or subsection (a) of K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5601(a), and amendments thereto;
- (8) driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs in violation of K.S.A. 8-1567 or 8-2,144, and amendments thereto, when the violation is punishable as a felony;
- (9) attempt under K.S.A. 21-3301, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5301, and amendments thereto, to commit any act specified in this subsection;
- (10) conspiracy under K.S.A. 21-3302, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5302, and amendments thereto, to commit any act specified in this subsection; or
- (11) an act committed in violation of a federal law or in violation of another state's law that is comparable to any act described in this subsection.
- (c) The state board of education may issue a license to or renew the license of a person who has been convicted of committing an offense or act described in subsection (b) or who has entered into a criminal diversion agreement after having been charged with an offense or act described in subsection (b) if the state board determines, following a hearing, that the person has been rehabilitated for a period of at least five years from the date of conviction of the offense or commission of the act or, in the case of a person who has entered into a criminal diversion agreement, that the person has satisfied the terms and conditions of the agreement. The state board of education may consider factors including, but not limited to, the following in determining whether to grant a license:
 - (1) The nature and seriousness of the offense or act;

- (2) the conduct of the person subsequent to commission of the offense or act;
- (3) the time elapsed since the commission of the offense or act;
- (4) the age of the person at the time of the offense or act;
- (5) whether the offense or act was an isolated or recurring incident; and
- (6) discharge from probation, pardon or expungement.
- (d) Before any license is denied by the state board of education for any of the offenses or acts specified in subsections (a) and (b), the person shall be given notice and an opportunity for a hearing in accordance with the provisions of the Kansas administrative procedure act.
- (e) The county or district attorney shall file a report with the state board of education indicating the name, address and social security number of any person who has been determined to have committed any offense or act specified in subsection (a) or (b) or to have entered into a criminal diversion agreement after having been charged with any offense or act specified in subsection (b). Such report shall be filed within 30 days of the date of the determination that the person has committed any such act or entered into any such diversion agreement.
- (f) The state board of education shall not be liable for civil damages to any person refused issuance or renewal of a license by reason of the state board's compliance, in good faith, with the provisions of this section.
- Sec. 24. K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 74-7305 is hereby amended to read as follows: 74-7305. (a) An application for compensation shall be made in the manner and form prescribed by the board.
- (b) Compensation may not be awarded unless an application has been filed with the board within two years of the reporting of the incident to law enforcement officials if the victim was less than 16 years of age and the injury or death is the result of any of the following crimes:

(1) Indecent liberties with a child as defined in K.S.A. 21-3503, prior to its repeal, or subsection (a) of K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5506(a), and amendments thereto; (2) aggravated indecent liberties with a child as defined in K.S.A. 21-3504, prior to its repeal, or subsection (b) of K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5506(b), and amendments thereto; (3) aggravated criminal sodomy as defined in K.S.A. 21-3506, prior to its repeal, or subsection (b) of K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5504(b), and amendments thereto; (4) enticement of a child as defined in K.S.A. 21-3509 prior to its repeal; (5) indecent solicitation of a child as defined in K.S.A. 21-3510, prior to its repeal, or subsection (a) of K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5508(a), and amendments thereto; (6) aggravated indecent solicitation of a child as defined in K.S.A. 21-3511, prior to its repeal, or subsection (b) of K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5508(b), and amendments thereto; (7) sexual exploitation of a child as defined in K.S.A. 21-3516, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5510, and amendments thereto; or (8) aggravated incest as defined in K.S.A. 21-3603, prior to its repeal, or subsection (b) of K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5604(b), and amendments thereto; (9) human trafficking as defined in K.S.A. 21-3446, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5426(a), and amendments thereto; (10) aggravated human trafficking as defined in K.S.A. 21-3447, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5426(b), and amendments thereto; or (11) commercial sexual exploitation of a child as defined in K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6422, and amendments thereto. Compensation for mental health counseling may be awarded, if a claim is filed within two years of testimony, to a claimant who is, or will be, required to testify in a sexually violent predator commitment, pursuant to article 29a of chapter 59 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and amendments thereto, of an offender who victimized the claimant or the victim on whose behalf the claim is made. For all other incidents of criminally injurious conduct, compensation may not be awarded unless the

claim has been filed with the board within two years after the injury or death upon which the claim is based. Compensation may not be awarded to a claimant who was the offender or an accomplice of the offender and may not be awarded to another person if the award would unjustly benefit the offender or accomplice.

- (c) Compensation otherwise payable to a claimant shall be reduced or denied, to the extent, if any that the:
- (1) Economic loss upon which the claimant's claim is based is recouped from other persons, including collateral sources;
- (2) board deems reasonable because of the contributory misconduct of the claimant or of a victim through whom the claimant claims; or
- (3) board deems reasonable, because the victim was likely engaging in, or attempting to engage in, unlawful activity at the time of the crime upon which the claim for compensation is based. This subsection shall not be construed to reduce or deny compensation to a victim of domestic abuse or sexual assault.
- (d) Compensation may be awarded only if the board finds that unless the claimant is awarded compensation the claimant will suffer financial stress as the result of economic loss otherwise reparable. A claimant suffers financial stress only if the claimant cannot maintain the claimant's customary level of health, safety and education for self and dependents without undue financial hardship. In making its determination of financial stress, the board shall consider all relevant factors, including:
 - (1) The number of claimant's dependents;
 - (2) the usual living expenses of the claimant and the claimant's family;

- (3) the special needs of the claimant and the claimant's dependents;
- (4) the claimant's income and potential earning capacity; and
- (5) the claimant's resources.
- (e) Compensation may not be awarded unless the criminally injurious conduct resulting in injury or death was reported to a law enforcement officer within 72 hours after its occurrence or the board finds there was good cause for the failure to report within that time.
- (f) The board, upon finding that the claimant or victim has not fully cooperated with appropriate law enforcement agencies, may deny, withdraw or reduce an award of compensation.
- (g) Except in K.S.A. 21-3602 or 21-3603, prior to their repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5604, and amendments thereto, or cases of sex offenses established in article 35 of chapter 21, of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, prior to their repeal, or article 55 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, or and amendments thereto, K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6419 through—21-6421_21-6422, and amendments thereto, or human trafficking or aggravated human trafficking, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3446 or 21-3447, prior to their repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5426. and amendments thereto, compensation may not be awarded if the economic loss is less than \$100.
- (h) Compensation for work loss, replacement services loss, dependent's economic loss and dependent's replacement service loss may not exceed \$400 per week or actual loss, whichever is less.
- (i) Compensation payable to a victim and to all other claimants sustaining economic loss because of injury to or death of that victim may not exceed \$25,000 in the aggregate.
 - Sec. 25. K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 75-452 is hereby amended to read as follows: 75-452. The

following words and phrases when used in K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 75-451 to 75-458, inclusive, and amendments thereto, shall have the meanings respectively ascribed to them herein, unless the context clearly requires otherwise:

- (a) "Abuse" means:
- (1) Causing or attempting to cause physical harm;
- (2) placing another person in fear of imminent physical harm;
- (3) causing another person to engage involuntarily in sexual relations by force, threats or duress, or threatening to do so;
- (4) engaging in mental abuse, which includes threats, intimidation and acts designed to induce terror;
 - (5) depriving another person of necessary health care, housing or food; or
 - (6) unreasonably and forcibly restraining the physical movement of another.
- (b) "Confidential address" means a residential street address, school street address or work street address of an individual, as specified on the individual's application to be a program participant under K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 75-451 to 75-458, inclusive, and amendments thereto.
- (c) "Confidential mailing address" means an address that is recognized for delivery by the United States postal service.
- (d) "Domestic violence" means abuse committed against a victim or the victim's spouse or dependent child by:
 - (1) A current or former spouse of the victim;
 - (2) a person with whom the victim shares parentage of a child in common;
 - (3) a person who is cohabitating with, or has cohabitated with, the victim;

- (4) a person who is related by blood or marriage; or
- (5) a person with whom the victim has or had a dating or engagement relationship.
- (e) "Program participant" means a person certified as a program participant under K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 75-453, and amendments thereto.
- (f) "Enrolling agent" means state and local agencies, law enforcement offices, nonprofit agencies and any others designated by the secretary of state that provide counseling and shelter services to victims of domestic violence, sexual assault, human trafficking or stalking.
- (g) "Sexual assault" means an act which if committed in this state would constitute any crime defined in article 35 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, prior to their repeal, or article 55 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6419 through 21-6421 21-6422, and amendments thereto.
- (h) "Stalking" means an act which if committed in this state would constitute "stalking" as defined by K.S.A. 60-31a01, and amendments thereto.
- (i) "Human trafficking" means an act which if committed in this state would constitute the crime of human trafficking as defined by K.S.A. 21-3446, prior to its repeal, or subsection (a) of K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5426(a), and amendments thereto.
- Sec. 26. K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 76-11a13 is hereby amended to read as follows: 76-11a13. (a) (1) Subject to the provisions of subsection (b), the provisions of K.S.A. 76-11a06 through 76-11a11, and amendments thereto, apply only to: (A) Teachers who have completed not less than three consecutive years of employment, and been offered a contract for a fourth year of employment, at the state school in which the teacher is currently employed; and (B) teachers who have completed not less than two consecutive years of employment, and been offered a contract

for a third year of employment, at the state school in which the teacher is currently employed if at any time prior to the current employment the teacher has completed the years of employment requirement of subpart subsection (a)(1)(A) at the other state school.

- (2) The state board may waive, at any time, the years of employment requirements of provision subsection (a)(1) for any teachers employed at a state school.
- (3) The provisions of this subsection are subject to the provisions of K.S.A. 76-11a14, and amendments thereto.
- The provisions of K.S.A. 76-11a06 through 76-11a11, and amendments thereto, do not apply to any teacher whose certificate has been nonrenewed or revoked by the state board for the reason that the teacher: (1) Has been convicted of a felony under K.S.A. 2010 Supp. 21-36a01 through 21-36a17, prior to their transfer, or article 57 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and amendments thereto, or any felony violation of any provision of the uniform controlled substances act prior to July 1, 2009; (2) has been convicted of a felony described in any section of article 34 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, prior to their repeal, or article 54 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6104, 21-6325, 21-6326 or 21-6418, and amendments thereto, or an act described in K.S.A. 21-3412, prior to its repeal, or subsection (a) of K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5413(a), and amendments thereto, if the victim is a minor or student; (3) has been convicted of a felony described in any section of article 35 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, prior to their repeal, or article 55 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6419 through 21-6421 21-6422, and amendments thereto, or has been convicted of an act described in K.S.A. 21-3517, prior to its repeal, or subsection (a) of K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5505(a), and amendments thereto, if the

victim is a minor or student; (4) has been convicted of any act described in any section of article 36 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, prior to their repeal, or article 56 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and amendments thereto; (5) has been convicted of a felony described in article 37 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated; prior to their repeal, or article 58 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, or subsection (a)(6) of K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6412(a)(6), and amendments thereto; (6) has been convicted of an attempt under K.S.A. 21-3301, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5301, and amendments thereto, to commit any act specified in this subsection; (7) has been convicted of any act which is described in K.S.A. 21-4301, 21-4301a or 21-4301c, prior to their repeal, or K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-6401 or 21-6402, and amendments thereto; (8) has been convicted in another state or by the federal government of an act similar to any act described in this subsection; or (9) has entered into a criminal diversion agreement after having been charged with any offense described in this subsection.

Sec. 27. K.S.A. 2013 Supp. 38-2310, as amended by section 2 of chapter 131 of the 2014 Session Laws of Kansas, and K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5501, 21-6328, 22-3424, 22-3436, 22-3701, 22-3727, 22-3727a, 22-4614, 23-2225, 23-3222, 38-2202, 38-2271, 38-2309, 38-2310, 39-970, 44-706, 59-2132, 59-29a14, 60-455, 60-5001, 65-5117, 72-1397, 74-7305, 75-452 and 76-11a13 are hereby repealed.";

And by renumbering sections accordingly;

On page 1, in the title, in line 1, by striking all after "concerning"; by striking all in lines 2 and 3; in line 4, by striking all before the period and inserting "human trafficking and related crimes; relating to commercial sexual exploitation of a child; civil action for victims; restitution;

amending K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 21-5501, 21-6328, 22-3424, 22-3436, 22-3701, 22-3727, 22-3727a, 22-4614, 23-2225, 23-3222, 38-2202, 38-2271, 38-2309, 38-2310, 39-970, 44-706, 59-2132, 59-29a14, 60-455, 60-5001, 65-5117, 72-1397, 74-7305, 75-452 and 76-11a13 and repealing the existing sections; also repealing K.S.A. 2013 Supp. 38-2310, as amended by section 2 of chapter 131 of the 2014 Session Laws of Kansas";

And your committee on conference recommends the adoption of this report.

 Conferees on part of House
•
 Conferees on part of Senat