## CONFERENCE COMMITTEE REPORT

MADAM PRESIDENT and MR. SPEAKER: Your committee on conference on House amendments to **SB 326** submits the following report:

The Senate accedes to all House amendments to the bill, and your committee on conference further agrees to amend the bill as printed with House Committee amendments, as follows:

On page 1, in line 13, by striking "licenses" and inserting "licensees";

On page 2, in line 1, by striking "licenses" and inserting "licensees";

On page 3, following line 12, by inserting:

"Sec. 2. K.S.A. 2015 Supp. 41-311 is hereby amended to read as follows: 41-311. (a) No license of any kind shall be issued pursuant to the liquor control act to a person:

(1) Who is not a citizen of the United States;

(2) who has been convicted of a felony under the laws of this state, any other state or the United States;

(3) who has had a license revoked for cause under the provisions of the liquor control act, the beer and cereal malt beverage keg registration act or who has had any license issued under the cereal malt beverage laws of any state revoked for cause except that a license may be issued to a person whose license was revoked for the conviction of a misdemeanor at any time after the lapse of 10 years following the date of the revocation;

(4) who has been convicted of being the keeper or is keeping any property, whether real or personal, where sexual relations are being sold or offered for sale by a person who is 18 years of age or older or has forfeited bond to appear in court to answer charges of being a keeper of any property, whether real or personal, where sexual relations are being sold or offered for sale by a person who is 18 years of age or older;

(5) who has been convicted of being a proprietor of a gambling house, pandering or any other crime opposed to decency and morality or has forfeited bond to appear in court to answer charges for any of those crimes;

(6) who is not at least 21 years of age;

(7) who, other than as a member of the governing body of a city or county, appoints or supervises any law enforcement officer, who is a law enforcement official or who is an employee of the director;

(8) who intends to carry on the business authorized by the license as agent of another;

(9) who at the time of application for renewal of any license issued under this act would not be eligible for the license upon a first application, except as provided by subsection (a)(12);

(10) who is the holder of a valid and existing license issued under article 27 of chapter 41 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and amendments thereto, unless the person agrees to and does surrender the license to the officer issuing the same upon the issuance to the person of a license under this act, except that a retailer licensed pursuant to K.S.A. 41-2702, and amendments thereto, shall be eligible to receive a retailer's license under the Kansas liquor control act;

(11) who does not own the premises for which a license is sought, or does not, at the time of application, have a written lease thereon;

(12) whose spouse would be ineligible to receive a license under this act for any reason other than citizenship, residence requirements or age, except that this subsection (a)(12) shall not

-2-

apply in determining eligibility for a renewal license;

(13) whose spouse has been convicted of a felony or other crime which would disqualify a person from licensure under this section and such felony or other crime was committed during the time that the spouse held a license under this act;

(14) who does not provide any data or information required by K.S.A. 2015 Supp. 41-311b, and amendments thereto; or

(15) who, after a hearing before the director, has been found to have held an undisclosed beneficial interest in any license issued pursuant to the liquor control act which was obtained by means of fraud or any false statement made on the application for such license.

(b) No retailer's license shall be issued to:

(1) A person who is not a resident of this state;

(2) a person who has not been a resident of this state for at least four years immediately preceding the date of application;

(3) a person who has a beneficial interest in a manufacturer, distributor, farm winery or microbrewery licensed under this act, except that the spouse of an applicant for a retailer's license may own and hold a farm winery license, microbrewery license, or both, if the spouse does not hold a retailer's license issued under this act;

(4) a person who has a beneficial interest in any other retail establishment licensed under this act, except that the spouse of a licensee may own and hold a retailer's license for another retail establishment;

(5) a copartnership, unless all of the copartners are qualified to obtain a license;

(6) a corporation; or

-3-

(7) a trust, if any grantor, beneficiary or trustee would be ineligible to receive a license under this act for any reason, except that the provisions of subsection (a)(6) shall not apply in determining whether a beneficiary would be eligible for a license.

(c) No manufacturer's license shall be issued to:

(1) A corporation, if any officer or director thereof, or any stockholder owning in the aggregate more than 25% of the stock of the corporation would be ineligible to receive a manufacturer's license for any reason other than citizenship and residence requirements;

(2) a copartnership, unless all of the copartners shall have been residents of this state for at least five years immediately preceding the date of application and unless all the members of the copartnership would be eligible to receive a manufacturer's license under this act;

(3) a trust, if any grantor, beneficiary or trustee would be ineligible to receive a license under this act for any reason, except that the provisions of subsection (a)(6) shall not apply in determining whether a beneficiary would be eligible for a license;

(4) an individual who is not a resident of this state;

(5) an individual who has not been a resident of this state for at least five years immediately preceding the date of application; or

(6) a person who has a beneficial interest in a distributor, retailer, farm winery or microbrewery licensed under this act, except as provided in K.S.A. 41-305, and amendments thereto.

(d) No distributor's license shall be issued to:

(1) A corporation, if any officer, director or stockholder of the corporation would be ineligible to receive a distributor's license for any reason. It shall be unlawful for any stockholder

-4-

of a corporation licensed as a distributor to transfer any stock in the corporation to any person who would be ineligible to receive a distributor's license for any reason, and any such transfer shall be null and void, except that: (A) If any stockholder owning stock in the corporation dies and an heir or devisee to whom stock of the corporation descends by descent and distribution or by will is ineligible to receive a distributor's license, the legal representatives of the deceased stockholder's estate and the ineligible heir or devisee shall have 14 months from the date of the death of the stockholder within which to sell the stock to a person eligible to receive a distributor's license, any such sale by a legal representative to be made in accordance with the provisions of the probate code; or (B) if the stock in any such corporation is the subject of any trust and any trustee or beneficiary of the trust who is 21 years of age or older is ineligible to receive a distributor's license, the trustee, within 14 months after the effective date of the trust, shall sell the stock to a person eligible to receive a distributor's license and hold and disburse the proceeds in accordance with the terms of the trust. If any legal representatives, heirs, devisees or trustees fail, refuse or neglect to sell any stock as required by this subsection, the stock shall revert to and become the property of the corporation, and the corporation shall pay to the legal representatives, heirs, devisees or trustees the book value of the stock. During the period of 14 months prescribed by this subsection, the corporation shall not be denied a distributor's license or have its distributor's license revoked if the corporation meets all of the other requirements necessary to have a distributor's license;

(2) a copartnership, unless all of the copartners are eligible to receive a distributor's license;

(3) a trust, if any grantor, beneficiary or trustee would be ineligible to receive a license

-5-

under this act for any reason, except that the provisions of subsection (a)(6) shall not apply in determining whether a beneficiary would be eligible for a license; or

(4) a person who has a beneficial interest in a manufacturer, retailer, farm winery or microbrewery licensed under this act.

(e) No nonbeverage user's license shall be issued to a corporation, if any officer, manager or director of the corporation or any stockholder owning in the aggregate more than 25% of the stock of the corporation would be ineligible to receive a nonbeverage user's license for any reason other than citizenship and residence requirements.

(f) No microbrewery license, microdistillery license or farm winery license shall be issued to a:

(1) Person who is not a resident of this state;

(2) person who has not been a resident of this state for at least one year immediately preceding the date of application;

(3)-(2) person who has a beneficial interest in a manufacturer or distributor licensed under this act, except as provided in K.S.A. 41-305, and amendments thereto;

(4) (3) person, copartnership or association which has a beneficial interest in any retailer licensed under this act or under K.S.A. 41-2702, and amendments thereto, except that the spouse of an applicant for a microbrewery or farm winery license may own and hold a retailer's license if the spouse does not hold a microbrewery or farm winery license issued under this act;

(5) (4) copartnership, unless all of the copartners are qualified to obtain a license;

(6) (5) corporation, unless stockholders owning in the aggregate 50% or more of the stock of the corporation would be eligible to receive such license and all other stockholders

-6-

would be eligible to receive such license except for reason of citizenship or residency; or

(7) (6) a trust, if any grantor, beneficiary or trustee would be ineligible to receive a license under this act for any reason, except that the provisions of subsection (a)(6) shall not apply in determining whether a beneficiary would be eligible for a license.

(g) The provisions of subsections (b)(1), (b)(2), (c)(3), (c)(4), (d)(3), (f)(1), (f)(2) and K.S.A. 2015 Supp. 41-311b, and amendments thereto, shall not apply in determining eligibility for the 10<sup>th</sup>, or a subsequent, consecutive renewal of a license if the applicant has appointed a citizen of the United States who is a resident of Kansas as the applicant's agent and filed with the director a duly authenticated copy of a duly executed power of attorney, authorizing the agent to accept service of process from the director and the courts of this state and to exercise full authority, control and responsibility for the conduct of all business and transactions within the state relative to alcoholic liquor and the business licensed. The agent must be satisfactory to and approved by the director, except that the director shall not approve as an agent any person who:

(1) Has been convicted of a felony under the laws of this state, any other state or the United States;

(2) has had a license issued under the alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage laws of this or any other state revoked for cause, except that a person may be appointed as an agent if the person's license was revoked for the conviction of a misdemeanor and 10 years have lapsed since the date of the revocation;

(3) has been convicted of being the keeper or is keeping any property, whether real or personal, where sexual relations are being sold or offered for sale by a person who is 18 years of age or older or has forfeited bond to appear in court to answer charges of being a keeper of any

-7-

property, whether real or personal, where sexual relations are being sold or offered for sale by a person who is 18 years of age or older;

(4) has been convicted of being a proprietor of a gambling house, pandering or any other crime opposed to decency and morality or has forfeited bond to appear in court to answer charges for any of those crimes; or

(5) is less than 21 years of age.

Sec. 3. From and after January 1, 2017, K.S.A. 2015 Supp. 41-102 is hereby amended to read as follows: 41-102. As used in this act, unless the context clearly requires otherwise:

(a) "Alcohol" means the product of distillation of any fermented liquid, whether rectified or diluted, whatever its origin, and includes synthetic ethyl alcohol but does not include denatured alcohol or wood alcohol.

(b) "Alcoholic liquor" means alcohol, spirits, wine, beer and every liquid or solid, patented or not, containing alcohol, spirits, wine or beer and capable of being consumed as a beverage by a human being, but shall not include any cereal malt beverage.

(c) "Beer" means a beverage, containing more than 3.2% alcohol by weight, obtained by alcoholic fermentation of an infusion or concoction of barley, or other grain, malt and hops in water and includes beer, ale, stout, lager beer, porter and similar beverages having such alcoholic content.

(d) "Caterer" has the meaning provided by K.S.A. 41-2601, and amendments thereto.

(e) "Cereal malt beverage" has the meaning provided by K.S.A. 41-2701, and amendments thereto.

(f) "Club" has the meaning provided by K.S.A. 41-2601, and amendments thereto.

-8-

(g) "Director" means the director of alcoholic beverage control of the department of revenue.

(h) "Distributor" means the person importing or causing to be imported into the state, or purchasing or causing to be purchased within the state, alcoholic liquor for sale or resale to retailers licensed under this act or cereal malt beverage for sale or resale to retailers licensed under K.S.A. 41-2702, and amendments thereto.

(i) "Domestic beer" means beer which contains not more than 10% alcohol by weight and which is manufactured in this state.

(j) "Domestic fortified wine" means wine which contains more than 14%, but not more than 20% alcohol by volume and which is manufactured in this state.

(k) "Domestic table wine" means wine which contains not more than 14% alcohol by volume and which is manufactured without rectification or fortification in this state.

(1) "Drinking establishment" has the meaning provided by K.S.A. 41-2601, and amendments thereto.

(m) "Farm winery" means a winery licensed by the director to manufacture, store and sell domestic table wine and domestic fortified wine.

(n) "Hard cider" means any alcoholic beverage that:

(1) Contains less than 8.5% alcohol by volume;

(2) has a carbonation level that does not exceed 6.4 grams per liter; and

(3) is obtained by the normal alcoholic fermentation of the juice of sound, ripe apples or pears, including such beverages containing sugar added for the purpose of correcting natural deficiencies.

(n) (o) "Manufacture" means to distill, rectify, ferment, brew, make, mix, concoct, process, blend, bottle or fill an original package with any alcoholic liquor, beer or cereal malt beverage.

(o) (p) (1) "Manufacturer" means every brewer, fermenter, distiller, rectifier, wine maker, blender, processor, bottler or person who fills or refills an original package and others engaged in brewing, fermenting, distilling, rectifying or bottling alcoholic liquor, beer or cereal malt beverage.

(2) "Manufacturer" does not include a microbrewery, microdistillery or a farm winery.

(p) (q) "Microbrewery" means a brewery licensed by the director to manufacture, store and sell domestic beer and hard cider.

(q) (r) "Microdistillery" means a facility which produces spirits from any source or substance that is licensed by the director to manufacture, store and sell spirits.

(r) (s) "Minor" means any person under 21 years of age.

(s) (t) "Nonbeverage user" means any manufacturer of any of the products set forth and described in K.S.A. 41-501, and amendments thereto, when the products contain alcohol or wine, and all laboratories using alcohol for nonbeverage purposes.

(t)-(u) "Original package" means any bottle, flask, jug, can, cask, barrel, keg, hogshead or other receptacle or container whatsoever, used, corked or capped, sealed and labeled by the manufacturer of alcoholic liquor, to contain and to convey any alcoholic liquor. Original container does not include a sleeve.

(u) (v) "Person" means any natural person, corporation, partnership, trust or association. (v) (w) "Powdered alcohol" means alcohol that is prepared in a powdered or crystal

-10-

form for either direct use or for reconstitution in a nonalcoholic liquid.

(w)-(x) "Primary American source of supply" means the manufacturer, the owner of alcoholic liquor at the time it becomes a marketable product or the manufacturer's or owner's exclusive agent who, if the alcoholic liquor cannot be secured directly from such manufacturer or owner by American wholesalers, is the source closest to such manufacturer or owner in the channel of commerce from which the product can be secured by American wholesalers.

(x) (y) (1) "Retailer" means a person who sells at retail, or offers for sale at retail, alcoholic liquors.

(2) "Retailer" does not include a microbrewery, microdistillery or a farm winery.

(y) (z) "Sale" means any transfer, exchange or barter in any manner or by any means whatsoever for a consideration and includes all sales made by any person, whether principal, proprietor, agent, servant or employee.

(z) (aa) "Salesperson" means any natural person who:

(1) Procures or seeks to procure an order, bargain, contract or agreement for the sale of alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage; or

(2) is engaged in promoting the sale of alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage, or in promoting the business of any person, firm or corporation engaged in the manufacturing and selling of alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage, whether the seller resides within the state of Kansas and sells to licensed buyers within the state of Kansas, or whether the seller resides without the state of Kansas and sells to licensed buyers within the state of Kansas.

(aa) (bb) "Secretary" means the secretary of revenue.

(bb)-(cc) (1) "Sell at retail" and "sale at retail" refer to and mean sales for use or

-11-

consumption and not for resale in any form and sales to clubs, licensed drinking establishments, licensed caterers or holders of temporary permits.

(2) "Sell at retail" and "sale at retail" do not refer to or mean sales by a distributor, a microbrewery, a farm winery, a licensed club, a licensed drinking establishment, a licensed caterer or a holder of a temporary permit.

(ee) (dd) "To sell" includes to solicit or receive an order for, to keep or expose for sale and to keep with intent to sell.

(dd) (ee) "Sleeve" means a package of two or more 50-milliliter (3.2-fluid-ounce) containers of spirits.

(ee) (ff) "Spirits" means any beverage which contains alcohol obtained by distillation, mixed with water or other substance in solution, and includes brandy, rum, whiskey, gin or other spirituous liquors, and such liquors when rectified, blended or otherwise mixed with alcohol or other substances.

(ff)-(gg) "Supplier" means a manufacturer of alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage or an agent of such manufacturer, other than a salesperson.

(gg) (hh) "Temporary permit" has the meaning provided by K.S.A. 41-2601, and amendments thereto.

(hh)—(ii) "Wine" means any alcoholic beverage obtained by the normal alcoholic fermentation of the juice of sound, ripe grapes, fruits, berries or other agricultural products, including such beverages containing added alcohol or spirits or containing sugar added for the purpose of correcting natural deficiencies. The term "wine" shall include hard cider and any other product that is commonly known as a subset of wine.

-12-

Sec. 4. From and after January 1, 2017, K.S.A. 2015 Supp. 41-308b, as amended by section 1 of this act, is hereby amended to read as follows: 41-308b. (a) A microbrewery license shall allow:

(1) The manufacture of not less than 100 nor more than 60,000 barrels of domestic beer during the calendar year and the storage thereof, if, however, the licensee holds a 10% or greater ownership interest in one or more entities that also hold a microbrewery license, then the aggregate number of barrels of domestic beer manufactured by all such-licenses licensees with such common ownership shall not exceed the 60,000 barrel limit;

(2) <u>the manufacture in the aggregate of not more than 100,000 gallons of hard cider</u> <u>during the calendar year and the storage thereof;</u>

(3) the sale to beer distributors of beer and the sale to wine distributors of hard cider, manufactured by the licensee;

(3) (4) the sale, on the licensed premises in the original unopened container to consumers for consumption off the licensed premises, of beer and hard cider manufactured by the licensee;

(4)\_(5) the serving free of charge on the licensed premises and at special events, monitored and regulated by the division of alcoholic beverage control, of samples of beer\_and <u>hard cider</u> manufactured by the licensee, if the premises are located in a county where the sale of alcoholic liquor is permitted by law in licensed drinking establishments;

(5) (6) if the premises is also licensed as a club or drinking establishment, the sale and transfer of domestic beer to such club or drinking establishment and the sale of domestic beer and other alcoholic liquor for consumption on the licensed premises as authorized by the club

-13-

and drinking establishment act;

(6) (7) if the premises is also licensed as a caterer, the sale of domestic beer and other alcoholic liquor for consumption on unlicensed premises as authorized by the club and drinking establishment act; and

(7) (8) if the licensee holds a 10% or greater ownership interest in one or more entities that also hold a microbrewery license, the domestic beer may be manufactured and transferred for sale or storage among such microbrewery licenses licensees with such common ownership.

(b) Not less than 30% of the products utilized in the manufacture of hard cider by a microbrewery shall be grown in Kansas except when a lesser proportion is authorized by the director based upon the director's findings and judgment. The production requirement of this subsection shall be determined based on the annual production of domestic hard cider.

(c) Upon application and payment of the fee prescribed by K.S.A. 41-310, and amendments thereto, by a microbrewery licensee, the director may issue not to exceed one microbrewery packaging and warehousing facility license to the microbrewery licensee. A microbrewery packaging and warehousing facility license shall allow:

(1) The transfer, from the licensed premises of the microbrewery to the licensed premises of the microbrewery packaging and warehousing facility, of beer<u>and hard cider</u> manufactured by the licensee, for the purpose of packaging or storage, or both; and

(2) the transfer, from the licensed premises of the microbrewery packaging and warehousing facility to the licensed premises of any microbrewery of such licensee, of beer manufactured by the licensee; or

(3) the removal from the licensed premises of the microbrewery packaging and

-14-

warehousing facility of beer manufactured by the licensee for the purpose of delivery to a licensed beer wholesaler; and

(4) the removal from the licensed premises of the microbrewery packaging and warehousing facility of hard cider manufactured by the licensee for the purpose of delivery to a licensed wine distributor.

(e) (d) A microbrewery may sell domestic beer in the original unopened container to consumers for consumption off the licensed premises at any time between 6 a.m. and 12 midnight on any day except Sunday and between 11 a.m. and 7 p.m. on Sunday. If authorized by subsection (a), a microbrewery may serve samples of domestic beer and serve and sell domestic beer and other alcoholic liquor for consumption on the licensed premises at any time when a club or drinking establishment is authorized to serve and sell alcoholic liquor.

(d)(e) The director may issue to the Kansas state fair or any bona fide group of brewers a permit to import into this state small quantities of beer. Such beer shall be used only for bona fide educational and scientific tasting programs and shall not be resold. Such beer shall not be subject to the tax imposed by K.S.A. 41-501, and amendments thereto. The permit shall identify specifically the brand and type of beer to be imported, the quantity to be imported, the tasting programs for which the beer is to be used and the times and locations of such programs. The secretary shall adopt rules and regulations governing the importation of beer pursuant to this subsection and the conduct of tasting programs for which such beer is imported.

(e) (f) A microbrewery license or microbrewery packaging and warehousing facility license shall apply only to the premises described in the application and in the license issued and only one location shall be described in the license.

(f) (g) No microbrewery shall:

(1) Employ any person under the age of 18 years in connection with the manufacture, sale or serving of any alcoholic liquor;

(2) permit any employee of the licensee who is under the age of 21 years to work on the licensed premises at any time when not under the on-premises supervision of either the licensee or an employee of the licensee who is 21 years of age or over;

(3) employ any person under 21 years of age in connection with mixing or dispensing alcoholic liquor; or

(4) employ any person in connection with the manufacture or sale of alcoholic liquor if the person has been convicted of a felony.

(g) (h) Whenever a microbrewery licensee is convicted of a violation of the Kansas liquor control act, the director may revoke the licensee's license and all fees paid for the license in accordance with the Kansas administrative procedure act.";

Also on page 3, in line 13, by striking "is" and inserting "and 41-311 are"; following line 13, by inserting:

"Sec. 6. From and after January 1, 2017, K.S.A. 2015 Supp. 41-102 and K.S.A. 2015 Supp. 41-308b, as amended by section 1 of this act, are hereby repealed.";

And by renumbering sections accordingly;

On page 1, in the title, in line 1, by striking all after the first semicolon; in line 2, after "Supp." by inserting "41-102,"; also in line 2, after "41-308b" by inserting ", 41-308b, as amended by section 1 of this act, and 41-311"; in line 3, by striking "section" and inserting "sections";

-16-

And your committee on conference recommends the adoption of this report.

Conferees on part of House

Conferees on part of Senate