

Phone: (785) 296-2436 Fax: (785) 296-0231 shawn.sullivan@budget.ks.gov

Shawn Sullivan, Director of the Budget

Sam Brownback, Governor

January 26, 2016

The Honorable Steve Abrams, Chairperson Senate Committee on Education Statehouse, Room 224-E Topeka, Kansas 66612

Dear Senator Abrams:

SUBJECT: Fiscal Note for SB 358 by Senate Committee on Education

In accordance with KSA 75-3715a, the following fiscal note concerning SB 358 is respectfully submitted to your committee.

The Nurse Educator Service Scholarship Program Act grants scholarship funding to nursing students who attend a school of nursing within the State of Kansas that is approved by the State Board of Nursing to grant a Master of Science or Doctoral Degree in Nursing; and who also agree to be a nurse educator in Kansas. SB 358 would allow students attending an accredited independent institution to also receive the scholarship. The bill defines "accredited independent institution" as a not-for-profit institution of higher education which: (1) has its main campus or principal place of operation in Kansas; (2) is operated independently and not controlled or administered by the state or any agency or subdivision thereof; (3) maintains open enrollment; and (4) holds accreditation to grant a Master of Science or Doctoral Degree in Nursing from a national accrediting entity recognized by the United States Department of Education. The bill would provide that "open enrollment" means the policy of an institution of higher education which provides the opportunity of enrollment for any student who meets its academic and other reasonable enrollment requirements, without regard for race, gender, religion, creed or national origin.

The State Board of Regents indicates that if SB 358 were enacted, three private colleges in Kansas that offer graduate nursing programs would be eligible to receive the scholarship for those nursing students who agree to become a nurse educator. The Board estimates that existing appropriations would be sufficient to provide funding for scholarship awards to those three private colleges as well as the currently eligible institutions.

Sincerely,

Shawn Sullivan,

Director of the Budget