## **SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1704**

## A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the members of the 2015 Kansas Teacher of the Year team.

WHEREAS, The Kansas state department of education sponsors the Kansas Teacher of the Year program which identifies, recognizes and utilizes representatives of excellent teaching in the elementary and secondary classrooms of the state. The mission of the program is to build and utilize a network of exemplary teachers who are leaders in the improvement of schools, student performance and the teaching profession; and

WHEREAS, Two teachers – one elementary and one secondary – in each of the state's four United States congressional districts were selected as finalists for recognition as Kansas Teacher of the Year; the Kansas Teacher of the Year being chosen from among the eight finalists. The Kansas Teacher of the Year is awarded the Hubbard Foundation Kansas Teacher of the Year Ambassadorship, which enables the person selected to devote significant time during the second semester to activities to support the mission of the program. The 2015 Kansas Teacher of the Year and finalists were honored at an awards banquet on November 22, 2014. All members received a cash award as well as mementos of the events; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas Teacher of the Year is nominated to represent Kansas in the National Teacher of the Year program, a project of the Council of Chief State School Officers in partnership with the Voya Foundation and People to People Ambassador Programs; and

WHEREAS, The 2015 Kansas Teacher of the Year is Shannon Ralph, Dodge City USD 443, and the regional finalists are Beau T. Bragg, Bonner Springs-Edwardsville USD 204; Abby M. Hedrick, Paola USD 368; Jennifer Hofferber, Liberal USD 480; Lisa Holt, Winfield USD 465; Jamie McDaniel, Paola USD 368; Dennis Munk, Haysville USD 261; and Kimberly Nelson, Bonner Springs-Edwardsville USD 204: Now, therefore,

*Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas:* That we congratulate and commend the members of the 2015 Kansas Teacher of the Year team and wish Mrs. Ralph success in the national competition.

Senate Resolution No. 1704 was sponsored by Senators Steve Abrams and Tom Arpke.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.