SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1713

A Resolution congratulating and commending the Kansas recipient of the 2014 Milken Educator Award.

WHEREAS, Amy Stanislowski, 3rd grade teacher at Dodge Literacy Magnet Elementary School, Wichita USD 259, has been selected as the Kansas recipient of the 2014 Milken Educator Award. She will receive an unrestricted award of \$25,000 plus recognition by her community, school and peers; and

WHEREAS, The Milken Educator Awards program was established by the Milken Family Foundation in 1985 and the first awards were presented in 1987; and

WHEREAS, The Milken Educator Awards program provides public recognition and financial awards to elementary and secondary school teachers, principals and other educational professionals who are furthering excellence in education. By honoring outstanding educators, the program strives to attract, retain and motivate talented people to the challenge and adventure of teaching; and

WHEREAS, The Milken Educator Awards are announced each year at a surprise notification held during an all-school assembly. Foundation representatives and the chief state school officer make the announcements. Amy Stanislowski was one of about 40 educators around the country recognized with the award this year. By publicizing these awards, our communities are reminded of the crucial, positive impact of educators. Furthermore, it is hoped these awards will attract the attention of those who might consider teaching as a rewarding career choice: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend Amy Stanislowski upon her selection as the Kansas recipient of the 2014 Milken Educator Award; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send an enrolled copy of this resolution to the Commissioner of Education for forwarding to the 2014 Milken Educator.

Senate Resolution No. 1713 was sponsored by Senator Steve E. Abrams.

hereby certify that the	above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that boo
	President of the Senate.
	Secretary of the Senate.