## **SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1716**

A Resolution congratulating the Kansas State University Crops Team on winning the Collegiate Crops Contest Championship.

WHEREAS, The Kansas State University Crops Team recently captured the title of national champion for the sixth year in a row. K-State teams have now won the Collegiate Crops Contest Championship in 13 of the past 16 years. The K-State team was coached by Dr. Kevin Donnelly, professor of agronomy. Official members of the team were: Sam Knauss, Paola; Tyler Herrs, Linn; and Ben Coomes, Girard – all juniors majoring in agronomy. Alternates for both contests were: Samantha L'Ecuyer, Morrowville, sophomore in agronomy, and Michaela Simmelink, Downs, senior in animal sciences and industry. Hayden Guetterman, Bucyrus, sophomore in agronomy, was also an alternate in Kansas City; and

WHEREAS, At Kansas City, the K-State team placed first in all three phases of the contest: plant and seed identification, grain grading, and seed analysis. At Chicago, they were first in identification and grain grading, and second in seed analysis. Individually, the three K-State team members placed first, second and third in Kansas City. All three were also in the top five in Chicago. Sam Knauss led the K-State team with a first place sweep in both Kansas City and Chicago. In doing so, he also placed first in all three components in both contests, a result that has never been accomplished in the 81-year history of both contests: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate the Kansas State University Crops Team on winning the Collegiate Crops Contest Championship for the sixth year in a row. These young people have displayed an exemplary work ethic that all Kansans can be proud of; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send an enrolled copy of this resolution to Senator Kerschen.

Senate Resolution No. 1716 was sponsored by Senators Kerschen, Abrams, Bowers, Francisco, Hawk, Powell, Tyson and Wilborn.

hereby certify that the above Resolution ori	ginated in the Senate, and was adopted by that bo
	President of the Senate.
	Secretary of the Senate.