## SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1747

A Resolution congratulating and commending the Kansas recipients of the 2015 Gates Millennium Scholarship.

WHEREAS, LaTara Demery from Sumner Academy of Arts & Science, Kansas City, Kansas; Hashaivione Edmundson from Topeka High School; Van Lian from Wyandotte High School, Kansas City, Kansas; Mario Ortega from Garden City Senior High School and Yazmin Sandoval from J.C. Harmon High School, Kansas City, Kansas have been selected as 2015 Gates Millennium Scholars; and

WHEREAS, The Gates Millennium Scholars Program was established in 1999 to promote academic excellence and to provide opportunities for outstanding minority students with significant financial need to reach their highest potential; and

WHEREAS, This prestigious program selects only 1,000 exceptional students per year nationwide to receive a full scholarship covering the cost of tuition, fees, books and living expenses at a college or university of the student's choice and offers students leadership development, mentoring and academic and social support; and

WHEREAS, To qualify for the program, each student has received endorsements from an educator and a community member, held a minimum grade point average of 3.3 and demonstrated leadership through community service or extracurricular or other activities: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend LaTara Demery, Hashaivione Edmundson, Van Lian, Mario Ortega and Yazmin Sandoval on being selected as 2015 Gates Millennium Scholars. These students exemplify academic excellence and leadership, and we wish them all the best for continued success in all future academic, personal and career challenges and opportunities; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send three enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Pettey, one enrolled copy to Senator Kelly and one enrolled copy to Senator Powell.

Senate Resolution No. 1747 was sponsored by Senators Pettey, Kelly and Powell.  I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body	
	President of the Senate.
	Secretary of the Senate